Elkay Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Elkay Manufacturing Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Timothy J. (Tim) Jahnke
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Family owned for almost 100 years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, amazing supervisors flexible schedule and pretty easy work(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Whether they are accurate or not is irrelevant, upper management has no idea(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management needs to take more accountability for failures(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Elkay is a family-owned and operated company that appreciates their employees. There are always opportunities for individuals who are willing to work hard and help the company succeed. In my tenure at Elkay, there have been numerous occasions where I have seen first hand how much Elkay values their workforce and goes the extra mile to make sure they are happy and safe.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are conflicting priorities, but normal in a company this size.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Elkay Manufacturing2018-07-25

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    August 1, 2018Corp Comm

    Thank you for your feedback. Yes -- Employee safety and wellness are huge priorities for us here at Elkay. We are continually working to identify ways to enhance our performance in these critical areas.

  2. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Buyer in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented culture Flexibility - summer hours and flex time Fun and friendly atmosphere Great office location with proximity to Chicago Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-13
  3. "Great Culture - Exciting Product Plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People at Elkay are friendly and collaborative. The company is investing in growth which creates an opportunity for personal growth and satisfaction with each new product launch.

    Cons

    The company wants to grow which drives some tension in the organization, but this is a lot better than a stagnant or declining operation.

    Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-23
  4. "Elkay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Productio 

      I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits plans, pay was good for the area

      Cons

      over time could be an issue at times

      Advice to Management

      work on schedule regulation in the future

      Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-21
    • "Incredible Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Offices in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      People are extremely friendly. It is a pleasure to interact with these great co-workers! This culture is also big on development programs - we now have a formal mentor program, and a wide variety of leadership skill development programs. It is also very entrepreneurial - you can really get stuff done without a lot of bureaucracy. You are encouraged to try out new ideas/think creatively and innovate. And the leadership...

      Show More

      Cons

      Working on strengthening collaboration across functions. Not a big problem, but something to continue to improve on.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to foster this great culture - don't lose it as you grow!

      Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-13
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Demand Planner in Downers Grove, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Elkay is very people oriented. They invest their people! Also they have great benefits such as work life balance, 401k matching, etc.

      Cons

      Sometimes I feel like we are more reactive and less proactive. At times, we don't give ourselves the time to be ready for potential headwinds.

      Advice to Management

      Elkay is growing fast, which is great! We have many projects coming our way, but I feel like we don't prioritize correctly or understand our financial liabilities to make stronger decisions.

      Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-13
    • "A family-oriented company that values investment in employee growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Oak Brook, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The best thing about working for Elkay is the people. The culture is extremely friendly and engaging. I have also found many opportunities for learning and growth. Most of management has an invested interest in their reports, and constantly provides opportunities to explore new areas, learn and move up within the company.

      Cons

      An area of improvement I've experienced with my time at Elkay is its cross-functional collaboration.

      Advice to Management

      Be open and understanding about the role other departments have. Make an effort to understand how the business operates as a whole, and make decisions based on what's best for the company's growth. Be open to efficiencies.

      Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-13
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Lead Developer 

        I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        good company to work for, the management tries to take care of employees.

        Cons

        things may go very slow, a lot of people doesn't want to learn/adopt new technologies.

        Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-12
      • "manufacturing manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Many Good mentors willing to teach those who are willing to lean and be challenged.

        Cons

        The local Elkay presence is limited.

        Elkay Manufacturing2019-05-04
      • "Great Place for an Internship!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Intern in Downers Grove, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        They really care about their employees and it shows. They have many fun events that Employee Engagement puts on that makes coming to work fun! The new Downers Grove office is awesome. They also care a lot about their interns and the program was very enjoyable.

        Cons

        I prefer more of a structure on my day to day activities but the flexibility was nice.

        Elkay Manufacturing2019-04-16

        Elkay Manufacturing Response

        April 29, 2019Corp Comm

        Hi -- thanks for the great feedback on our internship program. We continue to put additional work into making this program stronger -- more aligned with the needs of our interns. Sounds like we are on the right track! That's really good to hear!

      Found 150 reviews