Elkay Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Elkay Manufacturing Reviews

Updated July 14, 2017
96 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Timothy J. (Tim) Jahnke
52 Ratings

96 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work life balance is huge & culture is very important at Elkay (in 6 reviews)

  • Family owned, great people to work with (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • I did not have contact with many upper management personnel, so I can't speak to them (in 4 reviews)

  • HIgh turnover like all other companies in the area (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, growing company, good work/life balance

    Cons

    chaotic at times, sometimes lack of focus

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Jun 29, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for your input! We appreciate it. We will pass your comments along to Sr. Management. We have worked hard to make sure that we are managing major projects so that we are limiting the number of... More


  2. "Good for a new tig welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Few good welders apply so they appreciate a good one

    Cons

    low pay and outdated shop

  3. "Wood Products Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Privately held company that doesn't answer to Wall St.

    Cons

    Management is unfocused. This causes mistakes that affects employees negatively.

    Advice to Management

    Try setting realistic, achievable goals.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Jul 5, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Hi -- thanks for your feedback. As this post indicates that you are a current employee, any chance we can get you to share your specific concerns with someone in leadership? It doesn't have to be... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Elkay Manufacturing Waconia MN Plant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Waconia, MN
    Former Employee - Production in Waconia, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    There are opportunities for advancement and growth at this company. The people are nice and willing to help each other.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work schedule can be heavy

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    May 15, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review -- and for all the hard work! Your efforts up there in Waconia make a big difference!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Elkay - Savanna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Savanna, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Savanna, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working here is definitely challenging but with that comes pride in our hard work, quality product and continuous improvement.

    Cons

    Fast pace environment - can be a 'Con' for some people but others find it a welcomed challenge.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    May 15, 2017 – Corp Comm

    We feel blessed to have some of the hardest working people in America today! And that's no small thing! Thanks for going the extra mile and knocking it out of the ballpark up there in Savanna!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Elkay Culver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Culver, IN
    Current Employee - Management in Culver, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Searching for a job I looked for a company where I could make a difference. The benefits package is strong and the ability to work for a privately held company and eliminate the corporate paper pushing was important. The leader team has experienced some change and the new team is laser focused on improving the culture at the site.

    Cons

    HIgh turnover like all other companies in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward, treat employees with dignity and respect and when this culture turns positive the sky's the limit for this site

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    May 15, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Everybody definitely has a role to play in making a quality product we can all be proud of, that's for sure. And thanks for the words of wisdom. We are hearing the vibe out in Culver is definitely... More


  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Paid holidays, fast-paced, great start pay (not minimum wage), coworkers who help you learn how to do your job. They don't just show you once then expect you to know everything.

    Cons

    Longer working hours if you are pressed for time may be a concern, but that could be a good thing if that's what you're looking for.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Jul 24, 2017 – Corp Comm

    thanks for leaving this feedback! Some folks love the O.T. -- and some would rather have the time off. Depends on how you feel about overtime pay, I guess! :)

  8. "Elkay Plant in Waconia Mn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacuing in Waconia, MN
    Current Employee - Manufacuing in Waconia, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There is a lot of team work. The team works very hard to make a great product.

    Cons

    Not really any to add about this

    Advice to Management

    Continue the open communication with the employees.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    May 15, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Your efforts are really paying off! We know you've all been putting in a ton of extra effort to give our customers what they want. Keep up the good work!


  9. "great culture and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Love the family culture that empowers employees. The company is growing exponentially which makes me feel secure

    Cons

    nothing bad to say here!


  10. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Ogden, UT
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Elkay is a great company to work for , they are a family own Company and that makes a difference on the way we all get treated .We are in Business forever!!

    Cons

    everything has been good .

    Advice to Management

    great job!


Showing 96 of 102 reviews
Reset Filters