Elkay Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Elkay Manufacturing Reviews

Updated November 8, 2017
107 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Timothy J. (Tim) Jahnke
60 Ratings

107 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Family owned, great people to work with (in 11 reviews)

  • Collaborative environment, growing company, good work/life balance (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • I did not have contact with many upper management personnel, so I can't speak to them (in 4 reviews)

  • HIgh turnover like all other companies in the area (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Great product, easy to rep

    Cons

    Management structure was a mess, terrible marketing, no shared goal.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 13, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to forward your thoughts to the appropriate leaders. Have a great day!


  2. "Office employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Employee in Savanna, IL
    Current Employee - Office Employee in Savanna, IL

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Fair Pay and over all good company

    Cons

    change management a lot. To many cooks in the kitchen

    Advice to Management

    None

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for your constructive feedback! We've sent your thoughts along to our local management team!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "The Elkay experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I love my job at Elkay. I started on the floor as the plant opened. and helped in setting things in place. I was promoted to a lead and after 2 1/2 years applied for an office position. I have been there ever since. I have the opportunity for overtime working on the floor. The pay and health insurance is good.

    Cons

    For the people on the floor there is too much over time. People need to stay and learn the job to help reduce overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the overtime so employees have time to spend with the family and weekend off.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for your post. We will pass your feedback along to the leaders in Culver. I know they are doing all that they can to train new people so that the workload is more evenly balanced, and less... More


  4. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Pays well on deserved certification

    Cons

    Short notice when you work overtime

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for your feedback, and congratulations on your certification!


  5. "Packaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Most are Good people you work with

    Cons

    Long hours ,bad management , treated like a low life, lied to all the time, discriminated, low pay, don't care about your family life ,won't tell you til Friday that it's mandatory work Saturday

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Corp Comm

    We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy during your time with us. If you log back in and edit your post to disclose your location, we can research your concerns, and make constructive use of your... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sprayer Specialist in Waconia, MN
    Former Employee - Sprayer Specialist in Waconia, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Benefit Package Holiday & Vacation pay and referring bonus

    Cons

    Repetitive work with a lot of standing! Attendance policy last minute overtime

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for your feedback! It's appreciated. I know most all of our plants offer cross-training. This might help make things feel less repetitive.


  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ringgold, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ringgold, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fair wages and generous benefit package. First shift only in the cabinet division which is becoming a rarity in these times. Great people with a relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Some poor decision making but that's probably to be expected anywhere. Influenced by the housing market therefore heavily affected by the economy.

    Advice to Management

    Make decisions for the long term instead of being short-sighted or making them with your emotional side.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for the feedback! These are great insights that we'll pass along to leadership.

  8. "A Company That Makes a Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler in Independence, OR
    Current Employee - Assembler in Independence, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They hire from within when they need a higher position filled. I have not always worked at companies that did that and I think that really shows they believe in their people. They also seem to put in a lot of good effort for their plant meetings. They let us know how our plant is doing and how the company is doing also. They also manage to keep us engaged through their 4U program and safety incentive program by focusing in on metrics for safety, quality, on time shipments, etc.,

    Cons

    Sometimes communication wires get crossed, but we seem to always work through it. This is usually between departments. Sometimes one department will go home earlier than another or later, but we are aware of this when we start working there. The only time it might be a problem is when you're catching a ride, but waiting a little for a ride home never hurt anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on communication between different departments. We have to work as a team and can't keep being divided. Good work in the plant meetings and don't stop doing what you're doing! We just got a payout because you didn't stop backing us up!

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Corp Comm

    We appreciate the time you took to provide us with these insights. We'll pass your commentary along to the leaders there in Independence.


  9. "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Sink Maker I in Lumberton, NC
    Former Employee - Sink Maker I in Lumberton, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, good pay and that's all

    Cons

    Attitudes of leadership is terrible

    Advice to Management

    Get some supervisors and shift leaders with some compassion and friendly attitudes. They're suppose to encourage, not discourage.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thanks for taking the time to write, and sorry to hear about your concerns. We've passed your insights along to the Operations leaders who manage your plant.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elkay Manufacturing full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good people, management is supportive and non-intrusive. Fair amount of autonomy to run your territory. Decent pay. Comfortable job and company to work for.

    Cons

    Poor executive leadership, production and logistics problems, manufacturing and Replacement products declining craftsmanship and timeliness. I was laid off and the product line, InnerMost brand cabinetry line sold to Home Depot, has been removed + entire team laid off. President is not fit to run the company, detrimental to its long term success.

    Advice to Management

    Follow patterns of top competitors for best practices, dramatic improvement of production.

    Elkay Manufacturing Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Corp Comm

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear that your experience on our sales team was a positive one. Unfortunately, the InnerMost product line was unprofitable since its inception – due in... More


Showing 107 of 117 reviews
Reset Filters