Ellington Management Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Ellington Management Group Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Ellington Management Group Founder and Chief Executive Officer Michael W. Vranos (no image)
Michael W. Vranos
17 Ratings
  1. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ellington Management Group full-time

    Pros

    Cool place to start career.

    Cons

    The tech is not the latest.

    Ellington Management Group2018-07-25
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Not a place to grow but a nice place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellington Management Group

    Pros

    - Great selection of seamlessweb restaurants to pick from for lunch. Lunch paid by company. - Fully paid medical, dental and some petty amount employee has to pay for vision coverage - Hands-on seasoned managers, most are great to work with! - Great summer BBQ for the employees and their family - Great idea to give all employees a Christmas gift - IPads, Wireless Speakers, Amazon Echo, etc. - Very flat hierarchy with usually just a manager leading a team

    Cons

    - No opportunities to advance your career - No training classes provided or encouraged - This is a family run hedge fund so the only people that have advancement opportunities are members of the Vranos family and their friends - HR should stop posting to Glassdoor to skew the score

    Continue reading
    Ellington Management Group2018-05-01
  3. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ellington Management Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and casual environmnt

    Cons

    Not much potential for growth

    Continue reading
    Ellington Management Group2017-12-06
  4. "Motivating environment and smart and approachable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -nice lunch and great benefits -management are very approachable and are willing to coach -smart people and always have chances to learn

    Cons

    -no 401k matching -Although there is a lot of opportunities to learn on the job, there is no formal training programs

    Ellington Management Group2017-11-16
  5. "Ellington Management Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work Management are all smart and care about employees If work hard, room for advancement Benefits (specifically healthcare) are really good Direct access to executive management at every level

    Cons

    Sporadic long hours No 401k match

    Ellington Management Group2016-08-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ellington Management Group Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group

    Pros

    challenging and non-repetitive work, direct contact with senior management, relaxed work atmosphere, and GREAT food

    Cons

    there is absolutely nothing near the office building.

    Continue reading
    Ellington Management Group2016-07-20
  7. "Uplifting and motivating experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Intern in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group

    Pros

    Everyone is very knowledgeable and extremely qualified. Great team atmosphere that promotes hard work and people are always willing to answer questions. They make sure you feel comfortable in your role while also giving exposure to other sides of the business. Overall a great place to learn from bright people and enjoy yourself at the same time.

    Cons

    Some days can feel long and some tasks are challenging, but that comes with the territory of the industry.

    Continue reading
    Ellington Management Group2016-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group

    Pros

    The people that I have met and been able to work with at Ellington have all been helpful and friendly, the lunch is fantastic, and I am surrounded by smart people. While getting acclimated to the work and the different jobs I have been assigned, my manager(s) and surrounding co-workers have all made the work environment very comfortable.

    Cons

    It is hard for me to come up with any downsides. The days are sometimes long, but that comes with the business and is not unique to Ellington. Like I said, I am enjoying my time at Ellington.

    Ellington Management Group2016-07-11
  9. "Fantastic experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellington Management Group

    Pros

    The firm boast an exceptional collection of brilliant and highly-motived people; this creates a wonderful professional environment, and makes working at Ellington exciting. The firm constantly works on new and interesting project. This fosters camaraderie and allows people to explore and expand their intellectual curiosity.

    Cons

    Only con is location: Old Greenwich, CT

    Continue reading
    Ellington Management Group2016-06-30
  10. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern in Old Greenwich, CT
    Recommends

    I worked at Ellington Management Group for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free breakfast and lunch. -Smart People -Interesting investment strategies

    Cons

    -Ivy League interns received more responsibilities and more interesting work

    Ellington Management Group2016-06-21
Found 28 reviews