EllisDon "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor

EllisDon Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
EllisDon CEO Geoff Smith (no image)
Geoff Smith
101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No flex time you work long hours, leadership promotes who the like not based on core competencies(in 17 reviews)

  • "Overworked can happen making it hard for work life balance(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to learn, grow, make connections and build the skills necessary for a great career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EllisDon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture exceptional leader ship interesting and exciting projects

    Cons

    Progress is competitive but this should be expected

    Advice to Management

    With so many new hires ensure culture is consistent and employee development is emphasized

    EllisDon2019-09-27
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Talent Acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EllisDon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company work culture, excellent benefits.

    Cons

    No flex time you work long hours, leadership promotes who the like not based on core competencies.

    EllisDon2019-03-17
  3. "Senior project coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EllisDon full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work on, work culture, excellent be and very professionals

    Cons

    A bit slow career development

    Advice to Management

    Better 360 deg communications to provide long term picture in terms of job development

    EllisDon2019-02-26
  4. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EllisDon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very good place to work at . Great company to learn and grow as an engineer and a person

    Cons

    very selective and competitive when it comes to hiring people.

    EllisDon2018-08-30
  5. "Safety Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health and Safety Coordinator in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EllisDon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great team atmosphere - Will pay and provide all training required - Overall great company to work for.

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth is limited due to department size.

    EllisDon2018-08-20
  6. "Superintendent - EllisDon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at EllisDon full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture. Competitive pay.

    Cons

    None when compared to the rest of the industry

    EllisDon2018-03-19
  7. "PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at EllisDon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked at EllisDon for over 10 years. It's a great company with a great culture. Great Benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours and can be difficult to attain work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep employees on projects close to their homes because commutes are brutal in The GTA.

    EllisDon2017-12-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Safety coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Safety, Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EllisDon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company with benefits, profit sharing, and career advancement opportunities. - - Great culture promotes team work

    Cons

    - Some old supervisors are stuck in there old ways and don't want to change.

    Advice to Management

    More visibility and recognition on sites from senior management

    EllisDon2017-05-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A fulling experience where they supported me in my education."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Coordinator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EllisDon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, and willing to promote within. 3 weeks vacation to start. Decent salary and benefits are great. Company holds team building events.

    Cons

    Tough to get messages across to upper management. Pay isn't as good compared to other companies. Some of the long time superintendents aren't willing to teach newer ones.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the new employees rather then long term ones that may have become complacent.

    EllisDon2017-01-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Environmental Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at EllisDon

    Pros

    Great company to work for, benefits and salary were good and although I was part of a larger project that EllisDon was a part of, I always felt that I knew what was going on with the company due to the newsletters and update emails that were sent. Good management and good people to work with.

    Cons

    Generally a good place to work. Cons for some people may include long hours at times but generally I expected this from my position and was aware of that when I took the job,

    EllisDon2016-11-02
Found 14 reviews