Ellucian Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian President and CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
175 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance has kept me here(in 77 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance with work from home options available(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps needing to be diligent to achieve work/life balance when working from home(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just HQ upper management doesnt know the importance of remote offices(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ellucian and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Mar 6, 2021 - Director in Malvern, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is awesome Great employee care

      Cons

      No stock available for the employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Ellucian is one of the best companies to work for that is IT and cloud focused.

      Apr 23, 2021 - Technical Support Specialist in Hackettstown, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential for 5 weeks of vacation earned through tenure. FLEX program which allows up to $350 reimbursement for living a helathy lifestyle. For fitness watches certificate fee payments or financial services plus much more.

      Cons

      Some legs of the company that do not work directly in the corporate offices can go unmonitored and do not get the benefits of company issued equipment (laptops, cell phones etc)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Average

      May 4, 2021 - Senior Oracle Dabase Administror 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Reputation. Pay good Good benefits Remote

      Cons

      Poor Leadership at Management level

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      My Experience

      Jan 10, 2021 - Senior Systems Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The medical/dental benefits are very good. Vacation days are good. Company appears to care about the person, but in truth it's all about bringing in more revenue and renewing the contract.

      Cons

      In Managed Services it become quickly apparent that the most important thing is keeping the customer happy. I understand this up to a point. I really wanted to like it here and since I have only been at one location I am not sure what other locations are like but I have heard of problems. Ellucian will take the customer over the employee every time. I know of one on-site location where in just a year they went through 7 applications directors. The directors were being selected and replaced by the campus CIO who used to work for Ellucian. Bad placement in the first place and then replacing them after a few weeks. There is no training at all that I have seen. Ellucian will promise the campus anything and everything and then tell the onsite staff to deliver no matter what. You can't reasonably expect people to work at an emergency pace all the time. They don't hire enough people for the job and in many instances they will reduce the cost of the contract while increasing the workload with fewer employees. Don't expect support from management. The president and the executive team seem nice and supportive but it isn't trickling down to the regional management levels.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      New teams not chosen well

      Apr 5, 2021 - Programmer Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Product development is excellent, CEO is driven and forward thinking

      Cons

      I was hired by a transition team when Ellucian was given a contract at a local institution. The transition team that hired me had very forward thinking ideas about what would happen at this location. However, when the permanent team was hired, their objectives were very different and I am not being utilized for what I was hired for. Most of the people on the permanent team worked at this institution before. Ellucian was contracted here because of years and years of poor IT systems and data. So the permanent team is part of the established problem, and they are having a hard time thinking of innovative solutions.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good experience for a large company

      Apr 16, 2021 - Account Executive in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work environment. Feels life family. Good pay and benefits.

      Cons

      Very little marketing and business development support.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Apr 19, 2021 - Systems Administrator in Worcester, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good culture, low stress, competent and responsive management

      Cons

      Lower pay than other places I've been.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tech Services

      Apr 17, 2021 - Desktop Engineer in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-Life balance. Work environment. Work pace. Office interior and location.

      Cons

      Less growth opportunities within one business unit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Review

      May 7, 2021 - Tech Support in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, managers try to be fair.

      Cons

      Very little training for the products we needed to support.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place to Learn & Develop

      Apr 9, 2021 - Accounting Manager in Malvern, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good benefits, and opportunities for personal and professional growth. Response to the pandemic was excellent in terms of equipping a fairly large workforce to remote work.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to navigate the seemingly ever-changing political environment with many leadership changes over the past 7 years. Personnel decisions are made seemingly arbitrarily with many new leaders, and the organization has shot itself in the foot by not working to maximum human capital and experience.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 786 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ellucian Job Seekers

    Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Technical Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Ellucian? Share Your Experiences

    or