Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor

Ellucian Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 582 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
81 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of leadership changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team of consultants in my line of business...

    Cons

    A lot of former DataTel leadership still driving decision making and playing favorites to their peers for promotions when they aren't experienced to handle the teams they manage.

    Advice to Management

    Continue cleaning house in the services organization...

    Ellucian2019-03-09
  2. Helpful (11)

    "You can find better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, vacation time off, quick interviewing process

    Cons

    Too much work load on one employee to handle multiple responsibilities! They will bring you in for as cheap as possible and then they will let the contractors go, so that money can be saved. Then they will make you take up all the work and over burden you without little or no training. You will have to figure out everything on your own which wastes time and energy. Doesn’t make the work enjoyable even if you really try...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize talent and smart people. If you provide training and recognition, it will help you rather than wasting someone’s effort and time.

    Ellucian2019-02-26
  3. "Change Agents for Student Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have the opportunity to work with the best talent with deep institutional knowledge and experience in the industry. Our executive leadership bring their depth and breadth of experience in innovation from Silicon Valley. We are 100% dedicated to Higher Education and best equipped to address the fast changing world of the student-for-life, as they prepare for tomorrow's economy and required skills.

    Cons

    You must have the ability to work in white space, I understand this type of environment isn’t for everyone.

    Ellucian2019-02-15
  4. "Amazing Company with great values and great business sense!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Ellucian for less than 1 year. So far my journey has been really awesome. The workload is high but exciting and work life balance is really good as well. The company motivates their employees a lot and share ideas and vision with everyone on quarterly basis. Great company to work for!!

    Cons

    Benefits could be better (Health benefits) as well as vacation time

    Ellucian2019-02-15
  5. "Great place to work ... Higher Ed technology transformation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership and excitement around making transformative changes!

    Cons

    Slow pace of change / urgency ... gradually getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward!

    Ellucian2019-02-11
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Too much work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility to work remotely, decent benefits

    Cons

    Too much work where everything needs to be figured out by the individual. No training on internal products makes it even more difficult. Help is hard to find as managers are over whelmed with work load similarly. No work life balance.

    Ellucian2019-03-12
  7. "Team spirit, Great products, Cutting edge technology, Awesome President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love it here. Fun environment and room to grow your career.

    Cons

    My favorite stores are too close.

    Advice to Management

    Spiffs for all

    Ellucian2019-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with terrific people who support and seem to genuinely care about each another. I have not worked at a company where people are so willing to help each other. The mission of supporting higher education is personally gratifying and people have conviction in the good of what customers are doing which helps breed this culture. The company does a good job of supporting employees and creating an environment that...

    Show More

    Cons

    The industry (higher education) as a whole can tend to be late adopters, so the technology is not always on the cutting edge, although it is impactful. Because the industry is changing, Ellucian is having to adapt too, which sometimes leads to turnover of good people who have been at the company for a while. But it’s the right thing to do and management is doing well in managing through changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path – new management that has been brought in the past couple of year have been good additions. Now is the time to let consistency take hold so the company can stay focused a clear direction and execute.

    Ellucian2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "100% Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Short version: -Everyone is friendly & helpful and there is a great team mindset -the office is BEAUTIFUL. It is bright, modern, and has a ton of rooms along the perimeter that anyone can use at any time, whether it is for a video conference, phone call, or just to take a breather. -there is often free food -Benefits are awesome. My favorite would have to be the tuition reimbursement for courses taken while...

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't run into any downsides yet. So far so good.

    Ellucian2019-01-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Made the right choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is great and the team I am on is leading the way when it comes to positioning Eullcian in the marketplace. We offer great products that solve many of the issues higher ed faces today. It is great working for a company that is making a difference and helping make for a great student experience.

    Cons

    A lot of remote workers. We have a big office and only a few teams seem to come in daily. Some of the more tenured folks tend to fight change rather than embarrassing it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, we have been waiting for these changes. The outlook is good as we move into 2019.

    Ellucian2019-01-30
Found 582 reviews