Ellwood Atfield Reviews | Glassdoor

Ellwood Atfield Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ellwood Atfield Managing Director Ben Atfield  (no image)
Ben Atfield
8 Ratings
  1. "A lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working in a niche market with many consultants coming from communications/advocacy, we have an excellent knowledge base and reputation within the industry. It is a very friendly and open environment - everyone gets on really well and will be there if you need help. Fun and social team with people going to the pub and for team evenings together often. We have a great client base, working with really exciting organisations. There are no strict KPIs as management trust you to manage your own time and processes.

    Show More

    Cons

    We constantly have snacks in the office which is great unless you're trying to keep healthy!

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to flexible working as other competitors have, as we risk falling behind and losing out on potential new talent.

    Ellwood Atfield2019-11-20
  2. "Supportive team and great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time

    Pros

    1) The team really makes the company a great place to work. You are surrounded by a team that is at the top of their game with an abundance of knowledge to tap into. They also really want to help you succeed. 2) You get to meet some great candidates and work with major named clients 3) Great location, right in the heart of the political bubble.

    Cons

    1) Office temperature - either too hot or too cold. 2) Protests - can be extremely loud.

    Ellwood Atfield2019-11-15
  3. "Supportive environment and hard work gets rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive team which will work together and help one another - The directors in the business give good, honest support and advice to help you grow your career - Autonomy over the projects you work on - Good support from management to help you with progressing in your career - Fantastic location allowing you to be in the middle of Westminster

    Cons

    - When there's protests in Westminster it can get very noisy in the office! - Old building so the office is usually either too hot or too cold

    Ellwood Atfield2019-11-11
  4. "Specialist Policy, Public Affairs and Communications Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Large enough business to fully cover the communications & advocacy arena, small enough that everybody understands each part of the business. - Collaborative, communicative team (no "land grabbing" or "top drawer-ing"). - Nearing 20 years of expertise in this space, the network that comes with that is unrivalled. - Senior colleagues who are as happy to be collaborative as anyone. - Offices in the heart of the "Westminster bubble" with fantastic events space.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Listed building - no air conditioning!

    Ellwood Atfield2019-11-08
  5. "Superb place to work with some of the best in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting mandates across every market and team Retained work the norm, remarkable year on year growth Longstanding client relationships No KPI culture - emphasis on quality and rigour Hugely supportive team, they will help you every step of the way and with really thoughtful candidate recommendations and client info Quite a lot of freedom and autonomy to do what you need Everyone has a good sense of humour Invest heavily in new recruits

    Show More

    Cons

    IT system and database aren't great but there are plans in the new year for things to change Huge internal transformation plan going through at the moment so there aren't really any cons that come to mind, potentially that you are expected to work hard and apply yourself but that's true of anywhere. If you are not a naturally sociable person, this is unlikely to suit you as a career or firm.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on!

    Ellwood Atfield2019-11-21
  6. "A fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in City of Westminster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - We host and get to attend a fantastic range of networking events - There is a great team ethos across the office - It is a very supportive environment that allows you to develop - We have amazing company events for the WHOLE company including trips to Paris - We have a fantastic reputation throughout the public affairs and communications sector

    Cons

    nothing comes to mind!

    Ellwood Atfield2019-10-25
  7. "Really wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The culture is something that is taken very seriously and a great deal of effort is put into ensuring every consultant feels as though they are treated like an adult and professional. This isn't a sausage factory recruitment firm it is a place where the quality of your service and expertise is prioritised above "how many calls have you made!"

    Cons

    Sometimes some of the decision making can be slower than it should be. Some internal communications lacks consistency

    Ellwood Atfield2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A place to be rewarded, stimulated and engaged..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a company where everyone is both interesting – with diverse experience, opinions and approaches – and genuinely interested in the work. You would think this was a given in a specialist recruitment firm but, having moved from one of our main competitors, I’ve been surprised and delighted by the amount of care and focus on quality that all my colleagues put into their work. The company’s founders are still completely engaged and active in the ‘day job’, whether it’s delivering on search remits, leading pitches for new business or networking in the Communications community – in fact Gavin Ellwood has just been elected Master of the Company of Public Relations Practitioners. This is a company on an upward trajectory. We know we can gain more market share and deliver excellent service to more clients, and there’s a strong sense of common purpose around that. Last but not least, the basic pay and commission structure are excellent, and annual targets are set at an achievable level, with the reward of ‘super commission’ for exceeding target.

    Show More

    Cons

    Recruitment can be an unpredictable and frustrating business wherever you work, and we’re not immune to the highs and lows at EA. This needs careful consideration if you’re thinking of starting a career in recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great people so we continue to delight our clients!

    Ellwood Atfield2018-11-14
  9. "An excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great office atmosphere, very friendly and collaborative, everyone has time to speak with each other, not very hierarchical - Good earning potential- if you work hard enough, you'll hit your annual target - Ellwood Atfield have an excellent reputation in the industry, with a genuinely exceptional knowledge base - Not a hardy sales environment - Hours are good (9-5.30) for a recruitment firm, they are also very accommodating if you have children - Encouraged to spend money on clients and have a good work phone - They only hire great people - Excellent basic salary

    Show More

    Cons

    - The work-style isnt 100% flexible yet, and as a result people tend to do 9-5.30. If they went fully flexible I think they'd get more work out of their employees - They feel slightly understaffed so whilst you are almost always busy recruiting, it deters away from building your own pipeline and business - The wall in between the two sides of the office actually does create a bit of a divide - Not everyone gets a work laptop, I probably would have done some work from home in the evenings if I did! - Not a great framework to allow people to grow - No receptionist

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more flexible working, provide an ambitious framework for people to grow

    Ellwood Atfield2018-09-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Highly supportive and ambitious for consultants to succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellwood Atfield full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great reputation in their sector; Brilliant thought leadership and other high-profile events for clients. The Political Cartoon Awards gets over 500 clients and candidates; Very focused on quality of service to clients and potential candidates; Smart, friendly, down-to-earth consultants - no office politics to speak of. Great regular benefits package and lots of fun random ad hoc ones too! Mature approach to flexible working and working from home.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that really come to mind

    Ellwood Atfield2018-07-23
Found 20 reviews