Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pamela Dunley
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful hospital with clean environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Elmhurst Hospital is full of great people who really care about what they do(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay with minimal room for growth(in 4 reviews)

  • "Too many changes because of upper management who dictate how the office is run even tho they do not actually observe what works and does not(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Chaplain Resident"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare

    Pros

    Wonderful environment to be part of.

    Cons

    Long hours to work each week.

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2019-01-08
  2. "Beautiful facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehabilitation Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    The facility is very new and a nice place to work with modern equipment. People are nice to work with mostly. The organization is be proactive about it’s financial responsibilities while balancing ethics this is critical.

    Cons

    Some flavor of the month management schemes are trying to make some departments an assembly line to increase turn over and revenue. We are only motivated by excellent patient care and work life balance and most of our clients agree. Provide for fair benefits, pay and support and we will produce great results.

    Advice to Management

    Do not follow the unethical practices of some of our competitors for a race to the bottom. We are better than that we are not the Walmart of Healthcare like Advocate and we should take care to not make the same mistakes they do. CEO’s marketing over 12 million a year in a non for profit hospital, that is a national disgrace and Advocate should be ashamed. Keep in mind the clinicians who provide the hands on care are...

    Show More
    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2019-05-15
  3. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The people who work there all very nice and hardworking

    Cons

    Too many changes because of upper management who dictate how the office is run even tho they do not actually observe what works and does not

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff and not just do what you think works best

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2019-05-11
  4. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with. It's a great place to start if you want to get into healthcare field.

    Cons

    Work hours vary. As a part time, you only know your work schedule a week before.

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2019-02-21
  5. "Emergency room"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Registrar in Elmhurst, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and meet new people

    Cons

    Under staffed, over worked. Hated some of the senior management

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-11-09
  6. "Good hospital."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Tech in Elmhurst, IL

    I worked at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation. Management were great.

    Cons

    Lots of changes. Many people were let go due to the Edward-Elmhurst merge.

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-10-18
  7. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Elmhurst, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very supportive management, beautiful facility, positive work environment

    Cons

    Understaffed (patient to nurse ratios), pay is not competitive

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees to keep your current employees healthier/happier and decrease turnover

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-09-21
  8. "CMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CMA in Sycamore, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Clinical staff and clerical staff are really nice and friendly!

    Cons

    Management is terrible, very unorganized, don’t support employees to further education. They won’t work with a school schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Let your employee’s have a voice.

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-09-05
  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare

    Pros

    Coworkers People Environment Benefits Education opportunities for certain needed certificates was offered

    Cons

    Management Reorganization Low pay Not willing to work with hours

    Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-07-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Standard hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare part-time

      Pros

      Several nursing departments have a very "team first" mentality.

      Cons

      Other nursing departments that aren't team friendly are usually very toxic. Need to pick and choose your departments carefully.

      Elmhurst Memorial Healthcare2018-06-21
    Found 72 reviews