Elsevier "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Elsevier Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Elsevier CEO Kumsal Bayazit
Kumsal Bayazit
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 123 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance and flexible work environments are hard to beat(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Stable Company with a lot of talent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Acquisitions Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable company that pays attention to its expenses and income. Constantly looking at the future and how to adapt content. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Very large size makes company impersonal at times. Upper management is disconnected from the day-to-day operations. Too many meetings.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2018-01-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Benefits, but doesn't value people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent when compared with other companies. Time off was generous.

    Cons

    Poor communication from upper management to middle management. Continual bickering within product teams. Company says they want to value the people, but they show everyday they don't by their actions and turning away when any type of conflict arise.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Miserable work, great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are great. There are activities sometimes, and food. There's a Foosball table to distract people.

    Cons

    Poor upper management decisions from Amsterdam. Regular breakdown in communication between departments. No recognition or appreciation for huge workload. Little to no training across at least two separate systems. Inefficient workflow, communication, and cooperation between departments. Unreasonable expectations from sales, who have no idea how any processes actually work, and always get their way. The job's only saving grace were the fellow sufferers on the account support team because the pay wasn't worth it.

    Elsevier2019-04-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "For the detailed oriented person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Support Coordinator in New York, NY
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Vacation time and great people

    Cons

    Huge disconnect between upper management and those with boots on the ground.

    Elsevier2019-02-10
  5. "Marketing at Elsevier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance - flexibility to work from home, flexible working hours Good 401K Lateral movements are easier to come by and encouraged (though, see cons for upward movement)

    Cons

    Upper Management does not take career development or professional growth seriously - upward movement basically happens by luck.

    Elsevier2018-07-27

    Elsevier Response

    August 1, 2018Elsevier Rep

    Thank you for your review. As an organization, we constantly strive to provide innovative learning and development opportunities for our employees. We also work with them to create an inclusive culture that enables a high-performing and engaged workforce. You must have noticed that we are currently rolling out various initiatives to further help develop our workforce. We encourage our employees globally to use various channels, tools and learning resources we made available to them to drive ongoing career development discussions with their managers and upskill for the future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Regional Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    Quarterly bonus, insurance, vacation, great smart co-workers

    Cons

    Terrible upper management , clueless in leadership, unrealistic goals, outdated software

    Elsevier2017-12-01
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Exceptional Content with Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent content, trusted brand, and experienced editorial staff.

    Cons

    Much of Upper Management is out of touch with their employees, and customer markets. They want to apply business rules from their MBAs, without deep knowledge of variances need: i.e. access models, pricing, and contracts, to all of the global customer markets. In final few years, I saw incompetence and underperformance, as well as disrespect, tolerated. Customer experience and satisfaction are no longer high priority.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2017-08-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "This is not the same company it was 5 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, friendly people, good culture, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Management, turnover, horrible talent at VP level and above, good ol' boy network in advancement, bean counting and cost cutting instead of innovation, no advancement opportunities unless you have buddies in upper management, no morale left after recent lay offs

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2017-04-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, bad lower level managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elsevier full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, holidays, PTO, home office options. New higher management seems good in recent reorg. However sales management is not good and continues to hang on due to lots of upper mgmt reorg.

    Cons

    Lack of investment in current products and support. Constant upper management changes vs removing the lower sales management causing majority of issues. Surveying employees on how to improve but then little to no change occurs.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2017-01-07
  10. "Technical Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elsevier full-time

    Pros

    If you get hired instead of remaining a contractor for years you some personal time and a few vacation days

    Cons

    Upper Management has no idea what is going on with their customer base or how to win customer loyalty, their profits are falling at an unbelievable rate because of this.

    Continue reading
    Elsevier2016-06-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews