Elysium Health Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Mission-driven, people-centric organization

    Nov 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of good things happening for a fairly new company. It’s the people and the mission that makes this a great place to work. Light and casual work atmosphere. People are generally friendly and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Growing pains – sometimes it can be challenging to keep up with the changes.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Long Hours Become Intolerable

    May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked the mission of the company.

    Cons

    The key reason I quit was the long hours. Both, the management, and the team were overeager. I didn't sign up for so much work. I looked for another job and thankfully got one. You should avoid it if you can.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fantastic opportunity to grow and make an outsized impact

    Jul 16, 2020 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learning and growth: Management allows you to take on as much responsibility and new projects as you desire. Elysium is a tight-knit team with so much opportunity to grow / expand. I have witnessed colleagues across all levels of the organization propose initiatives and drive the execution, resulting in tremendous impact for the company as well as their personal careers. **This is especially rewarding given the level of science and innovation behind Elysium’s products and our immense opportunity to improve consumers’ lives.** It’s an exciting, fast-paced environment!. Those who are proactive are recognized for their contributions.

    Cons

    While start-ups are incredibly interesting, they also require a lot of work and collaboration in order to bring the vision to market. As others have mentioned, the team had pockets of poor communication during expansion. However management has focused attention on improving communication through: 1) increased frequency of town halls, 2) the company hosts weekly performance meetings followed by a virtual “happy hour”, and 3) all team members are active on slack and email - which has made the current shift to working from home relatively seamless.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A company that knows how to take care of its employees

    Oct 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting place filled with talented and dedicated professionals. Lots of interesting and meaningful projects that will challenge you to learn and grow. Great core values. The company promotes respect, transparency, and collaboration to make this a productive and healthy workplace. Elysium gives you the entire package. We know how to work hard but play hard too. The company offers comprehensive health benefits, paid training, and several perks (free lunches, reimbursement for wellness-related costs). Overall, a great company to work for. Highly recommended!

    Cons

    The company is experiencing growing pains. Although there has been much improvement in terms of how we do things, some work still needs to be done to address all these concerns.

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Startup challenges make everything worse

    Feb 21, 2021 - Customer Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission of the company was something I could relate to

    Cons

    The main issue of this workplace was long hours that most employees put in. Added to that, the challenges faced by a typical startup made everything worse. I will not recommend this employer to anyone!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Truly mission-driven!

    Jul 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I searched for a company like Elysium for years - the company's mission closely matches my personal mission to improve the quality of life for people so having the opportunity to do a job every day that aligns with my values and purpose in life is a privilege. Additionally, employees at Elysium have an unparalleled opportunity to work with the best scientists and institutions to improve human health. The company's commitment to scientific research and quality also means that you can trust that the products are effective and safe - my entire family takes Basis and will soon take Matter. When I meet new people and I tell them about the work that I do, they're always incredibly impressed with how fulfilling and exciting my job is and, very likely, jealous.

    Cons

    As with any startup, establishing a work-life balance can be hard. This is especially true at Elysium because the mission is so important and every employee has a unique opportunity and responsibility to meet the goal of helping people lead healthier lives.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Tremendously Toxic Work Environment - Do What You Can To Never Work Here

    Jul 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Learned a lot... about what I do not want in a workplace - Grateful to the office snake plants and emotional support dogs - Work could be rewarding at times

    Cons

    At first you'll most certainly be reeled in by the mission, but within weeks of working here the toxic culture becomes glaringly evident. Just a few examples: - Wave goodbye to your work/life balance. You'll be expected to arrive early and stay super late to say nothing of whether you're actually meaningfully working. - Wave hello to nepotism. Questionable roster of VPs overtly lacking in proven leadership savvy and experience, at least one of which was hired without undergoing the interview process. - Teetotalers and lightweights need not apply. Heavy alcohol drinking is on the menu and very much encouraged. Mustn't say "no" to the shot. - Start, stop, repeat. Too many failed projects to name, despite countless meetings plus hours and dollars spent. Projects frequently halted with little or no clear explanation much less a "thank you for your hard work." - About that work/life balance again. Employees are allowed THREE wfh days per calendar year. - High school all over again. Complete with exclusive cliques, gossiping, rude insults, and openly dismissing other employee's opinions and ideas - all from the top down. - In this episode of Fear Tactics: Leadership known to coerce employees into writing positive Glassdoor reviews PLUS employees routinely fired without a blip on the radar or so much as a "sorry everyone we had to let [name] go." - Beaucoup legal woes. Google it.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    None of us are robots

    Jan 26, 2021 - Customer Experience Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and a lot more perks including bringing your pet in the office.

    Cons

    The pressure on the job is extremely high , you are expected to perform and be your best all the time, in every working day of your life. There's no excuse not to or it will cost you your job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Treat your employees with the respect they deserve

    Nov 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -As mentioned previously, there are some great people here -When in the office, there are granola bars -"Unlimited" vacation policy where they actually tell you to shoot for 3 weeks off

    Cons

    - Employees' time and thoughts are not respected. - The company uses a "mission" of selling expensive supplements to rich people to make them feel better about themselves - Politics about salaries - Management only cares about optics, rather than real work output - Different teams are held to wildly different standards - Some members of upper management are consistently rude and condescending - Many employees have left this year

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Nightmare. Worst management ever.

    Mar 7, 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The snacks & the seltzer water.

    Cons

    Everything. Management is a nightmare.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

Popular Careers with Elysium Health Job Seekers

Staff Scientist
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Bioinformatics Data Engineer
Learn About the Job
Director, Customer Experience
Learn About the Job
Retention Marketing Associate
Learn About the Job
Customer Experience Associate
Learn About the Job

Work at Elysium Health? Share Your Experiences

Elysium Health logo
or