Emagine Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

Emagine Entertainment Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Emagine Entertainment Founder, Chairman, and CEO Paul Glantz (no image)
Paul Glantz
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free movies, popcorn, and drinks(in 54 reviews)

  • "Free movies, good people, Free popcorn and drinks(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "When minimum wage went up, past performance raises were removed(in 10 reviews)

  • "The movie theatre business is open every day of the year, so you do have to work holidays(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Magic of Movies and More!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Fun Atmosphere, Competitive Wages, Good Benefits Package, Great Bonus Potential, Free Movies, Free Popcorn & Drink, Free Shift Meals for Management

    Cons

    Working Nights, Weekends and Holidays are Required, Variable Operations Depending on the Season/Movies

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2020-03-25
  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Box Office Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emagine Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at frankfort Emagine, it was run smoothly and the management was nice.

    Cons

    There was a lot of employee turnover.

    Emagine Entertainment2020-03-09
  3. "Great Theater Questionable Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Saline, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working here for almost a year now.The free movies,concessions, and discount on food is all great ( even though the markups are still insanely high.) Some of the staff here are really cool and easy to get along with while some are hit or miss when it comes to getting along with them. Some of the more experienced staff are helpful which makes our lives a lot easier, while some of the newer staff are not. Kyle has done a great job and is a clear upgrade from some of our past management. He clearly cares about the theater and has made a lot of changes that have helped the staff here.

    Cons

    However, I cannot say the same about some of the new staff and some of the new department leads here. Some of the new staff and new department leads here are often lazy and fooling around here, busy talking and fraternizing with some of their friends instead of doing their jobs. Also, some of the new staff here are not trained properly, which makes it hard for us to help them when times get busy. While it has improved, Favoritism still exists within the theater. Hours are inconsistent. It was easier to get hours during the holiday season and when they required a lot of staff to work on New Years and Christmas, but its extremely hard to get hours here during slow seasons. Some of the gossip given out by Emagine Saline's newest department lead makes this a toxic environment sometimes

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2020-01-10
  4. "Rewarding job that will give you lots of experience with quality guest service!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Leader in Saline, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free movies, popcorn, and drinks. Half-off concessions items when working. Rewarding experiences. Lots of opportunities for extra hours. Lots of options for shifts: 9-5, 12-8, 5-1, etc. Easy to build great friendships with other employees. Many opportunities for cross-training: Concessions, Cashier, Usher, Box Office, Guest Services, Cook, Food Running, Birthday Party Hosting, Auditorium Monitoring, etc. We provide quality guest service. We are under new management which has brought a lot of good changes for the future of Emagine Saline.

    Cons

    Careless employees: lazy, don't show up to work, don't listen to simple tasks when prompted (that will be found in any job). There is a lot of inconsistent training which makes it difficult to tell employees they aren't completing their tasks if they didn't know what they were in the first place. Favoritism (this has gotten extremely better due to new management.)

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2020-01-09
  5. "Good for Short-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Canton, MI

    I worked at Emagine Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy hire, cross training, nice benefits when I was there, good hours, flexible schedule

    Cons

    lack of appreciation, favoritism, inconsistent expectations.

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2019-12-27

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    January 6, 2020Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Emagine and let us know your thoughts! We are committed to providing a fair and positive work environment for all of our employees. We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations here. We appreciate you letting us know about your experience, and would urge you to use our open-door policy in the future so we can help correct any problems as they arise. We sincerely value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts to us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Much better than other theatre chains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers care about each other, management cares about employees, building is updated. The CEO Paul Glantz will come in once in a while. Other chains' CEOs are too busy joking about their lavish lifestyles.

    Cons

    The movie theatre business is open every day of the year, so you do have to work holidays.

    Emagine Entertainment2019-12-06

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    January 6, 2020Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Emagine! We are committed to providing the best work environment for our employees, and we are so glad you have had a rewarding experience with us thus far. We appreciate you highlighting Emagine's leadership involvement and our belief that empathy is a must in every interaction. We truly believe how we take care of our people is what sets us apart from our competitors. We're looking forward to continuing to provide you with an outstanding work experience, and are grateful to have you on our team!

    Continue reading
  7. "Phenomenal Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Rochester Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Community Involvement, Ability to train and develop, great support structure. Ability to manage day to day operations as a business owner.

    Cons

    None that I have seen.

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2019-09-05

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    September 10, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review Emagine! We are committed to providing a positive work environment for our employees across all locations, and we are glad you have had a rewarding experience with us thus far. We appreciate you highlighting Emagine's community involvement and our approach of empowering our General Manager's to run the operations as if they were the owner of their building. We're looking forward to continuing to provide you with an outstanding work experience, and are grateful to have you on our team!

    Continue reading
  8. "Immature"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Worker in Canton, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In building benefits, easy to get hired, lots of hours.

    Cons

    Immature management, lack of communication between crew and management, lack of effort from other crew members, low pay.

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2019-04-17

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    April 17, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Emagine has an open door policy, and our organization thrives when every member of our team embraces transparency. I am sorry to hear you are experiencing issues within your theatre. We strive to provide a fun, and exciting work environment for all of our team members, and we certainly do not want anyone feeling unhappy with their work environment. Please talk with a member of the Management Team, or HR directly so we can resolve these issues. There is an HR contact sheet in every theatre breakroom with names and contact information for every member of Emagine's HR Team, and we are always available for our employees. Thank you again for writing a review, and we hope to hear from you soon!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Hartland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free popcorn free movies advancement opportunities friendly managers You are always learning new things Doing different jobs each shift Fast paced

    Cons

    During the slow season everyone’s hours slow down which is to be expected in the slow season

    Continue reading
    Emagine Entertainment2019-03-09

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    March 12, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate you highlighting our free movies, popcorn, incredible staff, and advancement opportunities. Emagine has worked hard to cultivate our unique company culture and enjoy hearing about how our team members care about their work and each other.

    Continue reading
  10. "Working at Emagine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Usher/Concessesions/Box Office 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emagine Entertainment part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can make a lot of friends Fairly easy Free movie perks

    Cons

    Corporate is a mixed bag Hourly pay can be low

    Emagine Entertainment2019-03-07

    Emagine Entertainment Response

    March 8, 2019Human Resources Coordinator

    Thank you for the review. We strive to provide a fun, positive work environment for our employees. Emagine's Motto is Work Hard, Have Fun, Make Money! We are glad to hear you have had a positive experience working at Emagine and have been able to make a lot of friends along the way. Thank you again for taking the time to review us!

    Continue reading
Found 97 reviews