Emap Reviews | Glassdoor

Emap Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Emap CEO Robert Marr (no image)
Robert Marr
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing people and great understanding of need for good work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "many good people, office in a nice locaiton (at the moment)(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, great progression. Loved working there

    Cons

    some politics to avoid- but not enough to put me off.

    Emap2019-08-29
  2. "company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Shoreditch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Career progression. Great location.

    Cons

    Overall there are no major cons.

    Advice to Management

    ...

    Emap2019-07-05
  3. "Great place to kick start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Executive in Old Street, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to work with different departments and people as much is kept in-house You can tap in to various training You can learn a lot in a short space of time Once you're in and you build relationships you can move around or get involved in other projects if you show initiative Great social side

    Cons

    You won't always be recognised for your work unless you make someone see. You must sell yourself. It's a sales culture. People are very busy. You may end up reacting rather than planning as the workload can at times, be immense A lot of time is spent reporting which takes time away from creating campaigns Leadership for the department was not consistent

    Advice to Management

    Focus on consistent leadership Mentoring will enable your staff to grow and create amazing campaigns Focus on marketing just as much as you focus on sales. The two are not one and the same.

    Emap2019-06-25
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Editor 

    I worked at Emap full-time

    Pros

    Good content and friendly reams

    Cons

    sometimes limited progression and opportunities

    Emap2019-05-23
  5. "Worst management I've ever worked with - apply somewhere else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time

    Pros

    Editorial and designers very helpful and collaborative

    Cons

    New senior management with little experience. Unable to guide staff or articulate whats needed. Management will not provide you with training (even though you request it) but will criticise you and not support staff. Tense atmosphere and I've never experienced unprofessionalism like this before. Senior management lash out and seek to point fingers for their mistakes, looking to blame others. Regretted joining... this company and glad I left. Also have long notice periods and pay is below average.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employ managers who are experienced and knowledgable about marketing rather than irrational, inexperienced and incompetent who cost the business money.

    Emap2019-05-30
  6. "ok but too focused on short term gains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very sales focused - if you work on the right product with the right accounts you'll be fine

    Cons

    'how can we rinse the clients.' heard this on too many occasions and not from junior teams members either

    Advice to Management

    put the client experience at the heart of your offering

    Emap2019-04-01
  7. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable salary, nice office, some great people

    Cons

    high staff turn over and constantly implementing new changes which were the same as it was several years before.

    Emap2019-01-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If your face fits you will do well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Croydon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices are quite nice !

    Cons

    Beware HR are for management not the employee

    Emap2019-02-06
  9. "love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really, really great team. Fantastic work-life balance.

    Cons

    Difficult market, hard work to hit targets

    Emap2018-11-14
  10. "Really great team but very few long-term incentives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Emap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really interesting client base working with some really well-known brands. A really good place to develop skills and network with some really knowledgeable people

    Cons

    Capped commission means that you lose your incentive to work once you hit target, didn’t used to be like that. Staff retention is a problem largely because the best salespeople can make more elsewhere. Offices are also a bit grey.

    Advice to Management

    Incentives for staff work, stop limiting the earning potential if you want staff retention to improve

    Emap2018-09-30
Found 67 reviews
</>Embed