Embrace Home Loans Reviews | Glassdoor

Embrace Home Loans Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Dennis Hardiman
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team based environment, a strong emphasis on giving back to the community and those in need

    Cons

    lots of hours, CEO who micromanages, incompetent team leaders, zero emphasis on work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2016-02-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans

    Pros

    They have great benefits and location

    Cons

    Management is contemptuous of its sales force

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-12-29
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans

    Pros

    Friendly working environment and management values workers' efforts

    Cons

    might not be very rewarding for your future career development

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-11-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Does not set you up to succeed!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will meet some people that are great to work with, but obviously in our business everyone needs to be on the same page and everyone's voice needs to be heard

    Cons

    Training is not set up well at all. You start off with a presentation geared for Loan Officers and has nothing for processors. They are not specific as to whats needed to sub to UW for each program and i had to work closely with an UW to get the correct guidance. When things didnt work out, i was told I was going to start from step 1 again as all the learning i needed to do on my own as well as LO's that held my other work back, I was never given that opportunity to regroup.

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-10-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Loan Officer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Embrace Home Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, benefits, and the management really wants to help you do well. Also very willing to teach new hires and provide opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Continent on housing market, meaning your bonuses are up to how well your LO(s) are performing, which as an LOA you don't have control over.

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-09-14
  6. "Positive Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Embrace Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Good corporate culture, family oriented company, great benefits package

    Cons

    Not much room for growth

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-09-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Live up to your mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Embrace Home Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and people that are willing to help you. Caring management that is willing to invest in you and allow you to reach towards your full potential. Excellent pay if you are a Top Performer and you are willing to sacrifice hours to achieve company objectives. Clear desire to improve and make things more efficient, their technology is top in the industry

    Cons

    Long working hours and a lot of pressure to perform on a very time sensitive environment. Company has a long standing history of being one of the best places to work for, but it all depends on the leadership that is behind you and helping you, which sometimes can be inconsistent.

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-08-25
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Glorified Loan Officer Babysitter - No thanks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting in Newport, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Embrace had some great benefits. Healthcare package was better before ACA went into effect, but I don't blame the company for that. Nice cafeteria, awesome (albeit small) fitness space, with ongoing programs to encourage fitness (such as classes offered on lunchbreak). Support staff was always readily available and very helpful. Management is approachable, even if they aren't always open to trying new ideas, they will listen to what you have to say. Generally a pleasant environment to work in and company was flexible, allowing me non-traditional working hours.

    Cons

    Loan officers: the almighty con. Yes, it is a company that thrives on sales, and therefore its sales force is put on a pedestal. I have never in my life had to deal with such bratty individuals. Many of them were eager to the point of being careless to get their loans approved - this is true for the industry, on the whole - and have since become irritable that there are new rules to follow. It got so bad that Embrace had to reprimand repeat offenders of certain behaviors by fining them. Yet the loan officers act as though they were treated like pack mules, and dragged through the dirt. Still, they receive annual commissions many times the amount that other employees receive in salary... and they continue to complain. So ungrateful, and the company continues to spoil them with bonus incentives and special trips for the highest producers. I left because I felt that my job - as an underwriter - had become little more than babysitting loan officers. And I was tired of having fresh-faced, 20-somethings yelling at me for flagging errors in their files. The loan officers at newer branches were the worst - many of them did not feel at all compelled to follow company policies, in large part because they were bought out (and so the branches themselves had once existed as stand-alone companies, with different policies). Having a retail division may have worked well when the company was fledgling in the 90s, but adopting many smaller retail branches was a terrible move for the company to make when it did. I also hate the new company name - I understand the motivation behind the change, but it was confusing for customers, a hard adjustment to make for employees, and the new name just sounds silly (just my opinion).

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-04-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, tough job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Embrace Home Loans

    Pros

    abillity to make good to great money, decent benefits, company cares about employees

    Cons

    sales job relies on commission, a couple bad months and you're on the chopping block, relies on market that could change quickly

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-03-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control Specialist in Newport, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Embrace Home Loans

    Pros

    Embrace Home Loans has been listed as one of the top companies to work for, both in Rhode Island and in the United States. Management is extremely caring and is very generous to its employees.

    Cons

    The mortgage industry has been through trying times over the past several years. Embrace has successfully weathered the storm.

    Continue reading
    Embrace Home Loans2015-01-05
Found 60 reviews