Emerald Publishing Reviews | Glassdoor

Emerald Publishing Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Emerald Publishing CEO Vicky Williams (no image)
Vicky Williams
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great benefits but they don’t make up for a dysfunctional workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits Flexible working Fair salaries On site amenities Good underlying values (if they were adhered to)

    Cons

    Chaotic & cliquey senior management Meeting heavy culture that achieves very little Leadership easily influenced

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-10-16

    Emerald Publishing Response

    October 25, 2019Head of People Operations

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are always looking for ways to improve and feedback is key! It’s great that you have mentioned the benefits we offer, we have worked hard to ensure we offer competitive benefits to reward and recognise our brilliant colleagues. We are particularly proud of the wellbeing initiatives we have introduced over the past few years, these include an onsite cafe, a free to use gym, free fruit for all and more recently a wellbeing room to give colleague the time and space to relax and unwind. We are also really pleased that we can support very flexible ways of working, investing in technology alongside supporting our employees to balance their personal and professional lives in a way that suits them as individuals. We have recognised that we have historically had a meeting heavy culture and have taken some bold steps to empower people to reduce the number of meetings they have. We are pleased to say we are already seeing positive results here. We appreciate your feedback on our leadership team, it is vitally important that our Leadership team are a strong and inspiring group and our Leaders invest regularly in self-refection and development. We encourage the group to work closely and collaboratively to drive delivery. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Struggles with IT leadership and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I T in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, casual environment, good collaboration spaces.

    Cons

    In the past 5-6 years, Emerald has gone through as many IT Directors and CTOs. We're left with a head that's a perfect example of the Dunning-Kruger effect. It doesn't help that the company has a habit of recruiting people into technical management roles who have either only ever worked at one other company all their life and don't have a range of experience or people who just happened to stumble into IT management after studying something completely irrelevant like History. We end up with career-manager with no relevant technical experience who never actually held a technical position and don't actually understand much but can string enough trendy buzzwords together to appear coherent. There have been far too many highly questionable decisions made on people, processes and technology that all respect has been lost by team members. But that's covered up by what's called "perception management" and "managing upwards". We've lost a lot of good people over the last 12 months as a direct result of bad management of the department and lack of empathy for employees. It's now effectively a kakistocracy. Fleeting gestures of support are empty and worthless. Strategic design elements have been outsourced because the senior incumbents are out of their depth and it's easier for them to get external parties to do it. This costs the company a hell of a lot more money and headaches further down the line. It does free them up though to write blog posts, present (badly) at conferences and focus on illusions dressed up as productivity and competence for board reports.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-07-02
  3. Helpful (5)

    "This IS a good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always been a good company to work for, that mostly tries to do the right thing. Generally nice, helpful people to work with. Have some really good people here, that are a pleasure, and do a good job. The company is always looking at making it an even better place to work and engage people. Addresses underperforming senior staff a lot quicker than under previous regimes. The company does reward the hard workers. You get what you give here. Good bonus scheme, based on performance.

    Cons

    Sometimes not as quick as it should be to address failing projects. Can appear to be over focussed on newness at the expense of everything else. Whoever is heading up a new initiative is ALWAYS right. Disagree at your own cost. Can be in a bit of a bubble, staff forget what a good company this is to work for. Still hierarchical. Some people treat the board like gods who should be perfect, rather than fallible human beings mostly trying to do the right thing. Some people appear to shoot up the company ladder without achieving much, by being right place, right time, rather than earning it. Then people are shocked when this doesn’t work out.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-04-05
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office is nice and a lot of effort is put into culture, values and social responsibility.

    Cons

    I have worked at Emerald for a few years but over the past year the IT department is being completely run down. Real problems are ignored because it's easier for senior management to ignore them and focus on their own profiles without thinking of and supporting people. The people actually doing the work and highlighting issues are blamed when things aren't delivered. Progress is stifled by ineffective and inefficient processes. Projects which started off well start to fail due to a lack of talent in senior management. They read a few books and blog posts so they can talk a good talk but can't actually walk the walk so others pick up the pieces and the bad rep.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Unpleasant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Ver few pro's - flexible working is probably the only one. The board has a very loose grasp on what anyone is doing.

    Cons

    A really unpleasant place to work. The relatively new CEO surrounds herself with people who say what she wants to hear. Absolutely no grasp on what is going on in academia. The board is weak and in place because they were willing to move north and were unlikely to get a similar role within established publishers. Not a bad thing in itself but have displayed a complete incompetence in leadership despite the amount of training that goes on. Massive turnover at senior management level which speaks to board incompetence. Huge amount of stress leave due to unpleasant culture of blame within the company. The board is obsessed by Glass door and actively encourages very stressed members of staff to write good reviews but word of mouth speaks for itself and also speaks to the calibre of people they have been able to hire lately (not good).

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-04-04
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Sooo frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    All the fluffy stuff around the edges is great - gym, fruit, facilities, flexible working

    Cons

    All the important stuff about clarity of strategy, good delivery, strong leadership and good people management is sorely lacking. the turnover at manager and senior manager level is stunningly high. The turnover at Board level is stunningly low - most of the Directors are on a northern publishing island and seem to be waiting to retire. There also seems to be a bit of astroturfing going on in these reviews!

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2019-03-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    - Emerald always look to promote internally - Really good development opportunities - Small enough company so that voices are heard - Fantastic work life balance!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Emerald Publishing2019-01-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great team and heavy on workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Editor in Bingley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of content editors who are very supportive Good helpful managers flexible working conditions good career prospects

    Cons

    heavy workload, not for the faint hearted

    Emerald Publishing2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Bingley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you put a lot into Emerald, you'll get a lot back from the business. People are rewarded for hard work. Forward thinking and impact focused. A lot of incredible staff dedicated to their craft. Left-leaning in it's company ethos. Our chosen Charity this year is the Social Mobility Foundation. Flexible working time, but in this case, they actually do it. They recognise everyone is different. At my induction I was encouraged to make use of the day a week to work from home and to take time away from my desk at lunch. The People Team are constantly putting on in-house events and courses and encouraging learning and development. They recognise that happier staff are more productive staff. They talk and more doing. If we have an idea, and we think it will work, management are supportive and help make it happen. I've never been this happy to arrive at work on a Monday.

    Cons

    Have a bit of a tendency to bite off more than they can chew. A lot of big changes can happen at the drop of a hat (but, otherwise, when would it get done?). Not many other cons to be honest.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2018-10-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Onsite gym is awesome addition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing

    Pros

    Investing in people good to see

    Cons

    Impatient - tried to do too much at once, and then surprised when all the things don’t land

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2018-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews