Emerald Publishing Reviews | Glassdoor

Emerald Publishing Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Emerald Publishing CEO Vicky Williams (no image)
Vicky Williams
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Real impact from this northern powerhouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly, ambitious, committed, and forward-looking publishing organisation looking to make real change in their areas of interest, but also to academic publishing as a while. Very invigorating place to work due to their vision backed by investment and committment.

    Cons

    Sometimes try to do too many things.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2018-06-29
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and environment. The office is always being improved for all staff members, e.g free electric charging for cars. Supportive policies e.g for flexible working Lots of opportunities to progress or move around within the company Genuine commitment to corporate social responsibility and charity work

    Cons

    Lots of stagnation at middle management which seem to look busy but don’t really achieve a lot Opportunities to progress but only so far and can be difficult to achieve recognition Some teams seem to be run ragged due to poor prioritisation of upper management

    Emerald Publishing2018-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great business to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Emerald for over 10 years and in my opinion it is a great business to be part of. It’s a medium sized, family business and in my experience if you work hard, are prepared to make decisions, and focus on doing what is right for the business - you’ll generally do pretty well! The reward systems are good - I’d said pay is fair, and the additional benefits like free parking, enhanced maternity and flexible working are very good indeed. All in all I would say if you want to work for a friendly, family business that really cares about its staff and customers then you can go a lot worse than Emerald!

    Cons

    Emerald has its foibles - it can sometimes be a little obsessed with management theories and some people can be a bit too political - but the key is just to focus on the job in hand!

    Emerald Publishing2018-02-25
  4. "Fantastic opportunities for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent career development opportunities, inclusive culture with opportunities to get involved beyond your role, great levels of flexibility and trust, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Decision making can sometimes take too long, but this is improving with increasing levels of empowerment

    Emerald Publishing2018-02-06
  5. Helpful (9)

    "What ? Seriously ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    You'll have a field day here with the unsupervised "flexible working" (or not working) if you're that way inclined. Good luck - Emerald won't do anything to stop you abusing the system and you can laugh all the way to the bank.

    Cons

    Back stabbing and undermining bosses and managers. I got out as I valued loyal and supportive colleagues. Team working does not exist - it's every man for himself - believe the team building nonsense if you want to.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2018-02-14

    Emerald Publishing Response

    February 21, 2018PR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are really proud of our commitment to promoting flexible working throughout our business and to supporting our employees to manage their work life balance. This commitment is in line with our values around trusting our employees and ensuring they are empowered to work in a way that suits their individual circumstances and needs. We also endeavour to create an open, collaborative and supportive culture of teamwork at Emerald. We are somewhat surprised - but, above all, sorry - to learn that you weren’t able to enjoy that experience. We regularly welcome and encourage honest feedback within our business and remain committed to continually investing in ensuring Emerald is a great place to work. We wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  6. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Work - Life balance is something that really matters and the Directors are incredibly down to earth and genuinely care about staff. Staff are rewarded both financially and with career progression.

    Cons

    I genuinely don't have anything negative to say about this employer.

    Emerald Publishing2017-11-27
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good have been great, became terrible, got worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Such little direction that I was able to define what my 'job' was. I had the freedom to do anything and everything. Cash rich business as a result of high subscription rates.

    Cons

    Company strategy changed on a daily basis. One day a business case was backed and agreed, the next day you were made a pariah for even supporting it.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2017-11-28
  8. Helpful (11)

    "going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, lots of people on reduced hours or long days to do the week in 4 days. Most people really nice Some really talented people. Lots of exciting change coming

    Cons

    Brown-nosing people get listened to and are liked by some of the directors. Several employees put upon by managers to do the work and then the managers take the glory Several Senior Managers play at being important and get away with it, several like their egos stroked all the time to get on their good side. The talent people with voices are not liked by some senior managers because they show them up. Does too much, don't seem to be able to say no to the "new thing" before finishing the last thing.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2017-03-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Product. Inculcating Trust."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    Good Product and Good People

    Cons

    No connect between the Top Brass and the Employees on Ground

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2016-11-02
  10. Helpful (8)

    "OK, but pay and politics needs addressing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Emerald Publishing full-time

    Pros

    - Pleasant location. - Good work-life balance. - Level 1 and 2 staff are mostly a joy to work with. - Good opportunities for cross functional working and training.

    Cons

    - Top heavy with management. - Too many ‘career politicians’ at senior management level. - Favouritism. - Loud people who are good at self-promotion and brown-nosing get noticed while quiet, hard working types who invariably deliver most of the actual value and are relied on because they actually know how things work are perpetually overlooked. - Company has ‘fallen asleep’ where wages are concerned - You can spend years developing the experience, skill set and role remit of a senior practitioner of your discipline but you’re still paid like a junior one. - Awful air conditioning system which either freezes you or boils you and, either way, provides no fresh air whatsoever so you feel increasingly groggy and suffocated as the day progresses. You’re not allowed to open windows because, apparently, this will “stop the air con working properly”. Newsflash! It doesn’t work properly anyway!!

    Continue reading
    Emerald Publishing2016-09-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews