Emerald Technology Recruitment Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Emerald Technology Recruitment Consultant Reviews

Updated 24 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Emerald Technology Recruitment CEO Mike Jones (no image)
Mike Jones
7 Ratings
  1. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great team environment, working with fantastic clients in tech space

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of

    Emerald Technology Recruitment2019-07-21
  2. "No integrity from the Top down coupled with a bullying culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At the very beginning - the training was good and you will get chance to work with good Tech Companies.

    Cons

    If your thinking about joining this company "Then Don't" - The senior management have zero integrity, coupled with a huge favouritism problem which runs deep throughout the business, as well as the international offices. I have spent well over three years with this organisation and witnessed first hand bullying on a staggering scale, and some management even encouraging the culture of making others feel very uncomfortable in the work place. Emerald expects you to be working every hour of the day, mapping in your own time and then will verbally whip you to be on the phone all day like an animal. You will quickly find out that the "few favourites" in the office will be award all the best an most engaged search projects to work, while others who are not part of the "click" will be handed dreadful and heavily contingent projects which have very little chance of placing, they will then follow this up with very aggressive performance management techniques to either make you leave or fire you - They will also then keep your commission after this process - I have witnessed many people be fired in a 3 year period - Emerald is the definition of a sack happy company - My advice before joining this organisation is to find people who have previously worked there and they will open your eyes just how bad the place really is. Emerald Consistently force people to fill out employee surveys which everyone is terrified to say how they really feel, so just say what senior management want to hear for an easier life - Seriously don't go join here.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2019-07-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Deep lack of trust and belief in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company says the right things in regards to change and improving the business, the office is convenient and you get to work with some good brands.

    Cons

    As listed in my title, the senior leadership team talk a great talk, but when it comes down to the bare bones of it all they struggle to truly empower employees to achieve and grow. They moan that everyone acts like kids, but equally, they talk to you like you're 8 years old and then they are confused as to why there is very little respect for them. You must work there way or no way... They forget that people have their own strengths and achieve results in lots of different ways, it screams of a factory line, don't think just look where we point and do. Favouritism is rife within the business, they will, of course, deny this. But if they like you they will give you "Golden Tickets" to help you succeed, if they don't like you they will give you jobs that 4 other people have failed on and watch you struggle. They will do this until they can fire you. They have a misplaced arrogance about being the "best search company in the market" but realistically a 5-minute google search will show you there are a lot of better search companies who have been around half the time. You must be doing something wrong if in 5/6/7 years they have achieved what you haven't in 19.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2019-01-22

    Emerald Technology Recruitment Response

    March 11, 2019Operations Manager

    Thank you for your review - Its a real shame that should you still be working in our Birmingham office that you felt you couldn't talk to me about these rather than turning to glass door. I'm keen to address a few points - Emerald are embarking on an exciting change I feel watching our consultants start to embrace a 360 recruitment model means they have more autonomy than ever and the stage to show their potential. We are in the rare position where our consultant get lots of projects passed to them from Directors and our BD team - with these come delivery deadlines and with the senior nature of what we do our clients have a " high bar " for talent. 2018 saw our best year ever, my engagement survey records some great results as below: - 93% of our people feel they can learn and develop at emerald - 98% feel someone encourages their development - 93% feel their manager cares about them - our work force feel they have a good work-life balance - 89% of our people feel truly valued at work - 89% would refer someone to work here. While we are still focused on improving the above - I'm confident this shows we are moving in a positive direction. As I say... a real shame that you feel you can't turn to me, your manager or a colleague. I'm sorry you feel this way and hope some of the statistics above reassure you that most of our people are happy and valued. I would be great to have the opportunity to help you feel this way too. Life is too short to be this unhappy at your place of work Thanks Stew Wilson - L&D manager

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work - Great Training, Support, Customers and Earning Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Emerald Technology for over 3 years and everything that was discussed with me at interview has been delivered. I have been able to build my technical knowledge, a customer base across multiple sectors, as well as have opportunity to progress in my career and increase my earning potential. I have received huge support from Directors, Managers and Team Leaders on projects which has included guidance on executive search and developing best practice as well as support on closing out difficult searches. The culture is fun and inclusive, with lots of incentives set to drive performance and rewards. Emerald has also allowed me to achieve a number of personal goals due to the support and earning potential on offer. I have seen first hand that this organisation is a leader in Executive Search. The feedback I have received face to face with customers has been incredible and we really do offer a process that works, regardless of role, country and technology sector. For individuals that are driven, passionate and willing to work hard this is a fantastic place to work where you get out of it what you put in.

    Cons

    Whether you have or have not worked in recruitment previously the learning curve can be steep, therefore you must be willing to take on board information and put it into practice. The hours are long, especially at first as you need to embed yourself in the business and learn the internal processes, however this does get easier. If you are willing to put the work and the hours in, you will be successful.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2017-12-01
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) You will have access to some of the greatest technology companies in the world. The projects Emerald work are interesting, senior, insightful and actually make real impact for the companies themselves. 2) The company has good incentives, great team day outs and good commission multipliers. 3) Hard work is recognized, respected and appreciated. 4) You are in charge of your own career development and there is no ceiling. Plus you have the option to be a leader of people and/or a leader of accounts. Both are deemed as important as the other and so whatever your drivers are, there is a place for you. 5) The process of search that Emerald have created is second to none. Its highly effective and the kind training that can be used in other environments. 6) The management team is very open, honest, constructive, passionate and they will always be on hand to help you be successful.

    Cons

    1) The sales cycles in technology recruitment are typically longer than that of anywhere else. If you understand this and work with it then it won't be an issue. 2) It can be an intense place to work. Our clients expect the best and Emerald expects the best from its people. If you want to be successful, truly successful, then it won't come without hard work and there are probably easier places to work if you deem work as just a job.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2017-12-01
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Delivered on everything!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Search Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I joined Emerald 6 years ago and it amazes me how far the company has come in such a short period of time. Everything I wanted to achieve when asked in my interview has been delivered on. I have progressed my career and earnings exponentially since being a part of this amazing business. The company has a great culture, great business plan and a leader who is inspirational and highly competitive. The other two directors equally are driven to see this company grow and achieve greatness with their employees. I truly feel we are at the forefront of what a search consultancy should look like, and we are pioneering what an actual partnership of services should look like for our clients. The brands we work with are also game changers of the tech world, I find some of the reviews on here truly baffling. If you want to earn big and succeed you have to put it in. I know of no other sales business in the planet that operates in any other way. For those that want to have an amazing career path, ownership of a really progressive company and high earnings look no further. With the processes we have in place and our global reach this is an amazing opportunity if you really challenge yourself.

    Cons

    The learning curve is steep, you have to be highly committed to succeed, driven with a strong resilient core. The hours are tough to begin with but once you're career progresses and the earnings skyrocket it is all worth the journey.

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2017-09-09
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment

    Pros

    Great training offered from day 1. A growing organisation with lots of progression opportunities. Lots of individual, team and company incentives each week. Earning potential is high!

    Cons

    Working with people, whether it be the candidates or the clients can be frustrating, however equally rewarding!

    Emerald Technology Recruitment2016-07-21

    Emerald Technology Recruitment Response

    August 22, 2016Company Director

    Thank you for your review - we're so pleased to hear that you had a good experience with Emerald. We put a great deal of focus on offering progression opportunities and good incentives, as well as good earning potential for our staff. We wish you all the best for your future career.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Low Base salaries Over egged targets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Technology Recruitment

    Pros

    Have a really strong opinion of themselves - bordering on arrogance Have a good MD/CEO who is an excellent recruiter Comission Scheme was good

    Cons

    Large targets - not convinced on the realism of them No opportunity to work in big accounts as they are hogged Believe they are superior to other consultancies , but they offer just the same service Low base salary - not good payers at entry level

    Emerald Technology Recruitment2016-07-08

    Emerald Technology Recruitment Response

    July 13, 2016Company Director

    Thank you for your review – we’re pleased to hear that you approve of our MD as an excellent recruiter, and that your feelings on our commission scheme are positive. However, we must stand by our targets, which we believe are realistic and achievable. We also do our utmost to offer a unique, ‘niche’ service to our clients and customers.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Emerald Technology Recruitment

    Pros

    Great training delivered by the MD, great OTEs and the genuine chance to earn over £100k! The Directors are all promoted internally too.

    Cons

    As everyone is so committed to success, both the consultants and management, it can be long hours - though that is a small con as they don't really notice it!

    Continue reading
    Emerald Technology Recruitment2015-10-19

    Emerald Technology Recruitment Response

    June 13, 2016Company Director

    Thank you for your review – it’s great to hear your positive feedback on the training and monetary rewards that we offer. We endeavour to promote internally wherever we possibly can, so we’re glad that you recognise and appreciate this. We’ll utilise this feedback to continue to improve our business moving forward.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerald Technology Recruitment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training, regular salary increases if you hit target and a generous commission scheme (I believe one of the best in the recruitment market in Birmingham) and top days out. Business is growing, strong story and good reputation overall. Management team oozes passion, market knowledge and have a strong desire to succeed.

    Cons

    Can improve on work life balance, pressure can be high and communication could be better although this is probably standard for most recruitment companies.

    Emerald Technology Recruitment2015-09-23

    Emerald Technology Recruitment Response

    June 14, 2016Company Director

    Thank you for your review - we’re happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed the training you have received, and that you approve of the business’ direction. We do our best to reward our consistent performers, so it’s great that you have listed this as a benefit. However, we will certainly take on board your feedback about work-life balance, and continue to look at ways we can improve this for our employees.

    Continue reading
Found 11 reviews