Emerson Reviews | Glassdoor

Emerson Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Emerson CEO David N. Farr
David N. Farr
942 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No Work life balance for Mid Level Professionals(in 57 reviews)

  • "No Cons, it is the best place to work(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "I plan to make this company my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cost Controls in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When Emerson says that one of its core values is "Support our people" - They mean it. Its not just some PR checkbox. They are willing to invest in you and in your ideas. The ethic standards are also unmatched. Given the right opportunities, I plan on staying here the rest of my career and the size of the company allows me to do that.

    Cons

    Sometimes Emerson seems slow to grow vertically - so some lateral movements are necessary before a promotion

    Emerson2019-10-14
  2. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Emerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, good work

    Cons

    Could get better cafeteria c

    Emerson2019-10-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Love my job, company culture=Right wing conservative men 45-65 who think they know everything."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Engineer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great products, top of the line. Very reasonable sales plans

    Cons

    If you can get past the male dominated misogynistic Culture you can succeed. It’s just thrown in your face daily if you’re a woman.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the men in management. Hire some Smart ladies! Middle management, too, not just upper.

    Emerson2019-10-31
  4. "Great place to work, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Emerson

    Pros

    Great benefits Great coworkers Great hours during high season

    Cons

    Bad management 30 to 0 hours through slow season

    Emerson2019-10-22
  5. "Opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer II in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and enables tools/ training for growth

    Cons

    Okay is on the low side

    Advice to Management

    Pay what the position is worth when employees grow and when the company invest a lot if time in developing someone for that position. I have seen people do a great job in their duties but end up leaving due to low pay

    Emerson2019-10-13
  6. "Trust People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are good people working here

    Cons

    upper management does not trust the workers

    Emerson2019-10-25
  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a great place to work.

    Cons

    It’s okay, but no movement as your stuck in a job.

    Emerson2019-10-26
  8. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good profit - Friendly environment

    Cons

    - Don't really have any cons.

    Emerson2019-10-07
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Emerson full-time

    Pros

    Career opportunity, global organization, management support

    Cons

    Organization at times reluctance to change

    Emerson2019-10-02
  10. "Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 

    I have been working at Emerson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, nice environment

    Cons

    Old company, slow pace, don't innovate much in processes and improvements.

    Emerson2019-10-15
Found 2771 reviews