Emmaus Homes, Inc. Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Emmaus Homes, Inc. President and CEO Cindy Clark
Cindy Clark
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone on the administrative team has an open door policy and are always willing to listen to ideas and interested in areas of improvement(in 4 reviews)

  • "Open door policy, I always feel like my concerns are heard(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Non profit organization's have higher than usual benefit costs(in 4 reviews)

  • "Need more employees for direct care(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Nov 28, 2020 - Direct Support Professional in Saint Charles, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, flexible hours and paid holidays

      Cons

      Pay is not the greatest

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I don’t recommend

      Mar 9, 2021 - Direct Support Professional 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is not a lot of pros for this company, they do not look or care about their staff

      Cons

      The cons outweigh the pros

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Some dishonest upper MGMT

      Jul 5, 2020 - CSM 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clients, relationships built with some staff

      Cons

      Low integrity, low value of appreciation from company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Emmaus Homes, Inc. Response

      Employment Branding Specialist

      As a faith based organization with a strong set of core values we believe that integrity and transparency are critical to maintaining a vibrant and thriving workforce. Your experience at Emmaus is not typical. In fact, most of our managers are engaged, enthusiastic and fully dedicated to our mission. Occasionally, like with every work place procedures and processes have slight variations depending on the team, location and client. However, for the most part the differences don’t cause the conflicts you describe. We are so sad that your experience with Emmaus left you feeling underappreciated. We have looked into your concerns and addressed them internally. We wish you all the very best in your future endeavors.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Former Employee

      Jan 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. Emmaus homes really cares about its employees.

      Cons

      Can’t think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jan 18, 2021 - Direct Support Professional (DSP) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work easy job decent pay

      Cons

      hours can be long and draining

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic work environment in corporate office

      Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The clients. The reason many stay for low pay and poor work life balance

      Cons

      The environment is extremely toxic. Management will micro-manage you. Some departments are better than others. Overall the direction of Emmaus is lost and needs some serious upper level management overhaul. Be cautious of positions in the corporate office.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Would recommend

      Oct 18, 2020 - Direct Support Professional (DSP) in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly staff and environment

      Cons

      Hours sometimes arent great for some people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Oct 9, 2020 - Direct Support Professional in Saint Charles, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime Laid back Benefits start from day one

      Cons

      Pay could be better only starting at 12.00

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Sep 29, 2020 - Direct Support Professional (DSP) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This job is the best!

      Cons

      No Cons in this job.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Initially felt cutting-edge but the longer I stay the more disconnection I feel from DSP positions to corporate.

      Jul 2, 2020 - Direct Support Professional in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual work environment . . .

      Cons

      Poor communication between shifts, management, and corporate. The pay and opportunity for advancement are really low (Covid-19 may be the cause, but it wasn't much better before the pandemic, no matter how well it was/is advertised), and the benefits are expensive compared to the competition. Management does not take a direct approach to conflict/failure resolution.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Emmaus Homes, Inc. Response

      Employment Branding Specialist

      Thanks for your feedback. At Emmaus we are committed to providing a transparent and collaborative environment for all our team members and even more so during COVID-19. Since March, our paired partner program has been supplying our direct support staff with the things they need to sustain the health and safety of the people we support. One of the ways we’re doing that is by limiting the amount of people in contact with each other. In doing so, we cannot appreciate our team members enough. They are real-life heroes that have been putting in a lot of work during the past 6 months. For the last 18+ months one of our executive team joins each annual training to solicit feedback on how to improve operations and communication. That feedback is used drive process improvement. We have heard that communication at every level needs improvement. As a result we are working hard to make sure that team members at all levels have a way to receive and send communication. We continue to work to improve communication and love to hear solutions from those who are working in the homes. Did you also know that six months is the same amount of time needed to take the next step on the Emmaus career ladder? One of the things we pride ourselves on is the career path we’ve created, and there is almost endless opportunity without a degree necessary. Having the best employees is crucial to our success and not everyone is the right fit for our culture. Thanks for your feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 90 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Emmaus Homes, Inc. Job Seekers

    Client Services Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Emmaus Homes, Inc.? Share Your Experiences

    Emmaus Homes, Inc. logo
    or