Empire Education Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Empire Education Group Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Franklin K. Schoeneman
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, lovely setting, nice location(in 8 reviews)

  • "Continuing Education for educators(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "amp; since home office or the higher ups always inform when they are coming everyone is always on their best when they're visitors(in 8 reviews)

  • "Most of the upper management have no clue about what it takes to actually be on ground zero(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I loved everyone there when I was there getting my educator license and then when I was working there as a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Moosic, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, A great program!

    Cons

    There was enough work for me

    Advice to Management

    I am a great teacher and I know the business and I am one of the best at doing hair styles cuts and color

    Empire Education Group2019-06-27
  2. "Career starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator in Arlington Heights, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coworkers work together to help students

    Cons

    Support for students and staff can be limited

    Advice to Management

    offer more employee incentives and raises

    Empire Education Group2019-07-19
  3. "Hard to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator in Chandler, AZ

    I worked at Empire Education Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are always a plus

    Cons

    Higher ups could be more involved

    Advice to Management

    Listen. Pay more

    Empire Education Group2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Has went down over the years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Empire Education Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love my co-workers and the students.

    Cons

    Management talks bad to workers, HR is not objective, insurance is horrible and there has not been raises in almost 4 years for some people.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your field people. Learn how to talk to people. Respect your employees. Give us raises.

    Empire Education Group2019-03-18
  5. "Empire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Empire Education Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great program and students are nice

    Cons

    Pay and sick time or pto

    Empire Education Group2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator in Paramus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Students & Some of the experience, since they put so much on the employee the experience is great and the knowledge.

    Cons

    The director is very lazy, he loves to tell you about how much he works, but every time you need him he's either "at the bank" aka home or he DOESN'T KNOW what to do. He gossips more then the staff itself, he likes to say he wants his team to get along and work together, when really he likes when everyone is fighting with one another. When no one is on the same page that leaves less of an opportunity for the staff to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    YOU SHOULD CREATE A POSITION OF "secret shoppers" they randomly go to schools, get services and/or enroll in school. They will see how things really are in the schools and they can report back to whom ever. Empire should also be more Student Centered rather then $$$$ worrying about how many students are enrolled. If you become student centered, the enrollments will come.

    Empire Education Group2019-03-04
  7. "Was a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good curriculum, was able to learn a lot when the company cared for you.

    Cons

    No pay increase for years, no vaule for employees, no room for advancement, expected to go above and beyond with no Aknowkegedment , owner no longer cares, each student is just a number!

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better, and value them! Make room for people to advance in the company. Don't treat employee's like animal's... actually apply core values!

    Empire Education Group2019-02-23
  8. "Career Planning Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Planning Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Empire Education Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone works hard to get the students completed with all document

    Cons

    No down time!!You are enrolling 3 starts at a time to make sure you on track with your goals.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Empire Education Group2018-11-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Company does completely opposite of what they promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in New England, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Use to be people oriented , not any more. Teachers are the backbone of the company.

    Cons

    You will not receive wage increases for years , last one at school level for employees were over 3 years ago. Upper management will self promote each other and hire outside person to run schools that have no idea of the industry. No 401k match that was taken away over 5 years ago. Teachers are not appreciated yet told over and over again it is all about education . Benefits are not worth premiums along with lower wages

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to the Directors in the schools and watch you metro directors and senior VP’s they don’t have the students best interest. It’s all about the bottom line, and how good they look.

    Empire Education Group2018-12-13
  10. "Nice in concept but no long term stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Empire Education Group full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, lovely setting, nice location

    Cons

    Poor management, way too stressful

    Advice to Management

    Show the employees some appreciation

    Empire Education Group2018-11-09
Found 127 reviews