Enaxis Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

Enaxis Consulting Reviews

43 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dhiren Shethia and Jonas Georgsson
24 Ratings

43 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (11)

    "Extremely disappointed that representations upfront were wildly inaccurate--Be Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Only a few employees have to travel for business
    Work week for most junior employees averages only 50 hours per week
    Office facility in Houston is spacious and well located for many

    Cons

    Mostly I.T. staff augmentation work at a very small number of clients, not "management consulting"
    Compensation low and bonuses are seldom what is promised (many "discretionary" factors that are used against you)
    High turnover so constant change of colleagues
    Currently focused on oil & gas clients but no industry-specific expertise or training; mostly work in generic I.T. infrastructure areas
    Employees are all levels are subject to angry emotional tirades if they don't agree with a decision
    [the more negative reviews below are still accurate; positive current reviews are directed by the firm]

    Advice to Management

    Present an honest, balance view to perspective employees and clients

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Apr 25, 2014 – Talent Director

    We would like to take the time to address this review since we find it to be overtly counter to what we deem as true. The work we do is true Management Consulting around IT, you can read white... More


  2. Helpful (11)

    "Very Deceitful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Minimal travel, some decent coworkers, latest technology

    Cons

    Horrible management, fake reviews on this site (yes, the marketing guy wrote most of them), low pay, no ethics, not growing

    Advice to Management

    Change the management - need people that can actually grow a company

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Dec 8, 2014 – Talent Director

    Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear this. We have grown about 25 - 30% for almost 4 years in a row, so we believe the management team is doing a great job of growing the company and... More

  3. Helpful (9)

    "Still the same ego-driven place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Low travel for most
    Can work in I.T. without deep technical skills
    Largest client (half their business) is a great credential

    Cons

    Benefits were very minimal though I hear they now have a 401K match.
    Profit sharing payments at the end of one year can be deducted from your bonus the next year; only a small number of "favorites" are paid decently, and if they don't like you, watch your bonus disappear
    Social events were used to judge how into the firm you were
    Watch out for the "culture": I was looking over the reviews and spoke to some former colleagues that are still there and it sounds like it's still the same old place. From the 4/16/11 review to the 2/15/13 review to the new 4/16/14 review, there has been no evolution of a self-centered group of owners that run the firm according to their egos and are not concerned about insulting and belittling those below them.

    Advice to Management

    Realize the disconnect between your actions and your words and stop using the firm as a vehicle for your egos

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Dec 8, 2014 – Talent Director

    We realize that there will be some unhappy folks who are no longer with us, but we hope readers will take the time to learn more about us and decide for themselves.


  4. Helpful (11)

    "Do Your Homework and Talk to Former Employees for Honest Reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They pay for expensive office space to have social Fridays and as a base for social (drinking) events
    Definitely a place if you like to attend every drinking event they put on
    Great place to get staffed in project mgmt. in I.T. at Chevron

    Cons

    Owners do not apply their "core values" to themselves--they love employees to call them "brilliant" and support their ego--quick to threaten if you don't line up with their views
    They pressure employees to provide favorable reviews on the firm (many current employees, including myself, don't feel comfortable providing an honest view of the firm to candidates)
    Most of the profits go to the owners and their few favorites

    Advice to Management

    Provide an ability for staff to judge the owners according to the core values
    Allow dissent
    Broaden the client base and get clients to stick with the firm


  5. Helpful (12)

    "Staffing (not Consulting) Firm That Doesn't Have the Expertise They Claim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to get hired
    Location is outside of downtown with good parking and many nearby restaurants
    A few colleagues are very nice and helpful

    Cons

    Presents itself as way more than it is--most of what they have done and do is very basic I.T. staffing
    No real Oil & Gas experience--Owner insisted a pumpjack was really a derrick and couldn't believe he was wrong
    Training, development, benefits are marginal compared to the major consulting firms

    Advice to Management

    Honestly describe the work that they may do to applicants
    Tone down the owners' egos and start listening to the staff


  6. Helpful (17)

    "Culture of Mediocrity and Egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Firm is more of an IT staffing than a consulting firm so the hours are not as long as at the big consulting firms (but the pay and career opportunities are way lower also)
    Titles are inflated so if you were a sr. consultant at a big firm, you can easily get a manager title here (though Managers don't "manage" projects, they just have a higher bill rate)
    Firm likes to have people in the office on Fridays

    Cons

    Very little deep I.T. or industry expertise in the firm--no one to learn new skills from if you already have a strong background
    Selling mostly "bodies" and not "projects" to clients
    No path to being a "true" partner, i.e. no one can advance to the level of ownership and control of the 2 founders unlike in a management consulting firm; lots of backbiting and talking about each other at the senior levels--hierarchical, not collegial
    Watch out on Glassdoor, seems like they let the companies pick which reviews are shown first as "popular"

    Advice to Management

    Stop "strongly encouraging" employees to talk up the company and make only positive comments about the firm; accept criticism

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Apr 23, 2015 – Talent Director

    Thank you for your input, our expertise and business model is demonstrated by our growth and client list.


  7. Helpful (10)

    "Be very careful and do a lot of homework before considering this firm (not recommended)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Not bad place for a career transition, especially from the high travel life of management consulting firms
    If you're a "rah rah" for the firm type, you will get better reviews
    Expect only a 45-50 hour work week (40 for the client and 5-10 for the firm) but expect more work if you take vacations to make up for the time off (hours often limited since most clients don't allow billing over 40 hrs per week)
    Very few people have to travel
    If you have a role where you can bill beyond 40 hrs/week, you're a hero
    Some enjoyable happy hours and social events

    Cons

    Management not looking for feedback on anything of significance (all real decisions made by top two people behind closed doors)
    Perks and bonuses are minimal compared to larger firms
    Very few roles where you can demonstration what you can do--most client work is staffing positions where you are doing change mgmt. (presentations) or project management directly working for client personnel and evaluations are based on keeping the client person happy and hours billed
    No one wants to hear any real feedback from the staff
    Partners will not protect staff from abusive behavior by clients
    Very, very few (2?) repeat clients
    Training materials are poor and there are not individual training plans for everyone
    Senior managers and partners are always talking about each other behind their backs

    Advice to Management

    Make it a policy that it will no longer be tolerated for manager, partners, and clients to yell at staff
    Stop trying to "spin" to employees and present honestly about the challenges the firm faces in finding sustainable growth

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great place if you want to work hard to make someone else rich (staff you at many times what you'll be paid)
    (Only) one of the partners had senior experience at another firm and had something to teach others

    Cons

    Hypocritical--say the right things but really don't care how you are treated by managers, partners, and clients
    Effort to move to practices won't work because there's no real depth to the firm's knowledge
    Awful low-resolution laptops--tough on the eyes if you need to use them for a long time

    Advice to Management

    Read your own list of values and start following them and you'll get the loyalty you keep demanding
    Improve pay to be competitive with real consulting firms and you'll get better people

    Enaxis Consulting Response

    Apr 23, 2015 – Talent Director

    Thank you for your input, since you have been at Enaxis for 8 years, what has kept you here (since you have nothing good to say)? :)


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Bottom of the Consulting World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very few people do any travel
    Fridays in the office are common
    Keep oil company hours for the most part

    Cons

    Very little real "consulting" being done--mostly just placement, i.e. throw resumes at clients to see what sticks
    Turnover is awful and business outlook is very uncertain given the small client base and the Houston/energy focus
    No empowerment, even many Manager and Partners say they have nothing to do with the decisions being made

    Advice to Management

    Stop sitting in your office and just going to lunches and really focus on the business
    Involve the employees in meaningful ways to set the direction of the firm, not just in meaningless areas like planning the next social event


  10. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enaxis Consulting full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some really nice co-workers
    A few people say they have really good clients personnel that they work for

    Cons

    Pay practices are a mystery--focus of owners seems to be pay as little as possible to get people (so the new hires aren't very strong unless they are dropping out of larger firms because of travel) and then only pay what they have to to keep people who are on current contract with clients; no one can really explain what is the pay range and what was the range for bonuses or increases
    Overall, the pay seems way below industry standard
    Anyone with better options seems to leave over time though there are veiled threats if you say you want to join a client or another consulting firm
    Don't expect to be able to have any major impact--the management overstates and inflates everything so they don't acknowledge the reality of the place
    Everyone is afraid of one of the owners and no one wants to make him mad

    Advice to Management

    Read this review and look to the practices and culture of other firms where people stay for careers instead of trying to tell employees that Enaxis is the best at everything


Showing 43 of 43 reviews
Reset Filters