Encana Reviews | Glassdoor

Encana Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 227 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Encana CEO Doug Suttles
Doug Suttles
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "High level of bureaucracy for a mid sized oil and gas company(in 11 reviews)

  • "reality, work life balance can get a little mixed up(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Micromanager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gas Controller in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Manager micromanaged employees to the point of babysitting

    Encana2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent environment, too many Managers, lay offs occur often"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Denver, CO
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    980 schedule, salary, benefits (especially 401k)

    Cons

    Layoffs every 1.5 years, Very difficult to move up in career. Too many Managers. Mgmt clinging to Canadian assets that will never have Free Cash Flow, Risk averse, lack of innovation. Mgmt by intimidation. Stale culture. People hide in their offices and don't communicate (Denver Office)

    Encana2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "An honest opinion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Completions Coordinator in Eagle Ford, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation. Good company to work for if you want to work for three years to become vested in long term incentive program and then cruise to retirement affecting absolutely no change whatsoever. Doug Suttles is an extremely good CEO, he values his field personnel. I don't however believe Senior Management in US Operations passes on all information to him.

    Cons

    Management is hesitant to actually deal with real issues. Work/Life balance atmosphere only applies to Denver staff...the actual employees doing the work in the field are far from balanced. Mid-level management has lack of ethics and investigations are "swept under the rug." If you want to work somewhere where you can affect change, this is not the place for you. Prepare to be buried in meetings about the next meeting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about the people that actually perform the work. We may not all be Engineers but should be valued just the same. Take the complaints about ethics seriously. There are mid-level managers working for Encana that still cross the boundaries.

    Encana2019-05-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Problems with Bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Encana full-time

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are great

    Cons

    Internal processes are more important than the real word

    Encana2019-04-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and time off.

    Cons

    Volatility of oil and gas.

    Encana2019-03-22
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bonus, challenging work, 9/80 schedule, vacation was generous

    Cons

    Too many managers, can’t figure out direction of company, lay offs every 2 years consistently

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers that don’t CO tribute

    Encana2019-03-15
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid well, enjoyed my time there

    Cons

    Must be willing to move

    Encana2019-02-15
  8. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Encana full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, professional, international, medium sized

    Cons

    average, too nice at times, too much management

    Encana2018-11-26
  9. "Accounting Assis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Encana full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and excellent benefits

    Cons

    Horrible, uncooperative middle management

    Encana2018-11-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not much room for upward movement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encana full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Great benefits Leadership has followed through with their long term plan

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for upward movement in the middle ranks. Managers are moved around to different groups as they are needed. This seems to create a road block for anyone trying to move up within their group. The Denver office is not in the best location. A lot of folks wonder why we are still here when all of our US assets are in Texas.

    Encana2018-09-04
Found 227 reviews