Encompass Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Encompass Health Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 259 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Encompass Health CEO Mark Tarr
Mark Tarr
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great benefits; constant focus on improving the things most important to our patients(in 12 reviews)

  • "Empower PT's to be an active part of the plan of care, collaborative work environment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "frequent turnover in upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Constant need to build census causes burnout due to understaffing(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health RN Case Manager in Westport, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team approach Welcoming staff Better utilization of nursing skills Management support Company cares for employees

    Cons

    I Haven’t found one yet

    Encompass Health2019-07-13
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work and life balance

    Cons

    changing management, health care reimbursement changes

    Encompass Health2019-08-11
  3. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encompass Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a nice hospital to work at you feel like hime your coworkers are like family always there to help you to get the job done

    Cons

    Benefits are not so good

    Encompass Health2019-08-15
  4. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehab Nurse Tech in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encompass Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent standard pay with plenty of bonus opportunities. Caring staff. Family like environment. Worked with school schedules.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. Work could be distributed more evenly among nursing staff.

    Encompass Health2019-08-15
  5. "We got a pay cut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Home Care Aide 

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Life insurance, free. Company car xxxxxxx dddddd

    Cons

    Low pay. I worked with Ala are, for 16 years, and they sold out time Encompass. With Alacare, we were getting paid per visit. That changed with Encompass. They cut my pay, from $14.45 per patient, to $12.65, hourly

    Advice to Management

    The way you guys cut our pay, was absolutely wrong. When we have worked with a company for 16 years, and you guys buy us out, and lower our pay. It doesnt average out. From what I understand, the only disciplines, whose pay was cut, was the aides. I also understand, that a lot of aides, in different branches are quitting, if the pay is not bumped back up.

    Encompass Health2019-08-19
  6. "Corporate-centered vs. patient-centered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Therapist in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great educational opportunities are offered.

    Cons

    Gross corporate micromanagement without listening to feedback from the employees re: the effectiveness of policies implemented. Patient-centered care gets lost in the process and modifications are not made when brought to their attention.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employee feedback and collaborate with them re: new policies.

    Encompass Health2019-08-19
  7. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When your own hours, choose you own cases, great people in the office

    Cons

    Job can become boring for someone who's really motivated

    Advice to Management

    Give more trading to be nurses.

    Encompass Health2019-08-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Woburn, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health

    Pros

    I love this place because of the management, most especially with the recruitment team who has been very supportive and process things fast. They follow up on their new employees and making sure everything is alright. The workplace is the best I have ever been since the nurse manager and co-workers are very supportive and work as a team!

    Cons

    Maybe to make sure to have enough nursing aides at PM shift since patients tend to need more help in the middle of the night.

    Encompass Health2019-07-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company/Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Department 

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time

    Pros

    Encompass Health Home Health and Hospice is a great company to work for, they really strive to live their mission, "A Better Way to Care". I see this company making great strides in the industry and excelling.

    Cons

    Some of the supervisors are lacking in professionalism and leading a team with a positive attitude and miss opportunities for teaching instead of fault-finding. Micro-managing is very apparent. If you make a mistake, it's rubbed in your face over and over. Supervisors are incapable of giving a compliment or encouraging their employees when they have done something well.

    Advice to Management

    Take a management course and learn to be compassionate with your employees. I guarantee that you aren't perfect and make mistakes as well. Stop belittling people, learn to build people up instead of tearing them down.

    Encompass Health2019-08-04
  10. "Great Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Liaison in Pearland, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good support for your job, level of autonomy, large national company with patient outcomes to back them up

    Cons

    High stress, work balance can be difficult, not stop hustling to meet numbers monthly

    Encompass Health2019-07-24
Found 259 reviews