KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Encompass Health

Engaged Employer

Encompass Health

Add a Review

Encompass Health Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Encompass Health President and CEO Mark Tarr
Mark Tarr
303 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and student loan reimbursement(in 56 reviews)

  • "Wonderful team, great benefits, lots of time off that you can use for sick or vacation(you choose)(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Frequent flexing due to low census(in 44 reviews)

  • "No support from upper management(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of Encompass Health

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Encompass Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Loved working here

      Oct 15, 2020 - Registered Nurse Assistant in Sunrise, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I learned a lot the pay was also good. Management always looked out

      Cons

      There is no con I would recommend to all my friends and family.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Encompass Health Response

      Recruitment Strategy Consultant

      We are so glad to hear about your positive experience!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jun 9, 2021 - Division Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive leadership/ competitive pay/ paid time off

      Cons

      Staffing. Branch doesn’t always support sales

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      High Employee Morale

      May 4, 2021 - PRN Dietitian in Anderson, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This employer fosters a high employee morale and promotes teamwork as well as a healthy working environment. Clinical and management personnel are organized and very approachable. There is a lot of interdisciplinary interaction and support. Response to the pandemic requirements has been highly efficient and effective. Structures were erected promptly and protocols were implemented immediately as the necessary demands required. When last minute provisions were needed, they were met without hesitation. Food service staff is exceptional. They are reliable and receptive to the needs of staff members as well as patients. The turnover rate appears to be low, although at times clinical/nursing departments have been critically understaffed. There are various bonus opportunities offered to all employees who take part. Ongoing training programs are placed and encouraged. The working environment is very uplifting, user-friendly and generally a wonderful atmosphere. The caliber of medical staff and professionalism is top notch. Overall this is a great working environment. I enthusiastically recommend this employer.

      Cons

      While there are bonus opportunities and a desirable benefits package for full and part time employees, the pay rate is not very competitive. The hourly compensation is on the lower end of the average pay scale. Also there have been long stretch periods of understaffing, which may likely be due to the pandemic. This facility is not a convenient (and possibly not feasible) drive if you reside in the higher populated upstate area.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Average for a huge corporation

      Apr 11, 2021 - Physical Therapy in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My co-workers are great! There is a strong referral program (bonuses for referring your friends for open positions) which helps build a better culture within your hospital. As long as your location is meeting the productivity expectations the management can run things how they see fit, which means a lot of flexibility and not all hospitals are exactly the same - this can also be a con depending on the choices your leadership makes. One on one hour long treats at my location.

      Cons

      Since the onset of COVID the appropriateness of patients has taken a significant dive. We are getting patients with much higher acuity and patients with a long history of being dependent and bed bound then being expected to meet high standards for GG gain when our patients don't have much capacity for progression. Just this week we were told that we were now expected to add an additional 30 minutes of patient treatment time to our shift with no compensation - we originally had 1 hour of documentation time built into our schedule which has now been cut in half. We are expected to come in 30 minutes early (unpaid time) to complete chart review for the patients on our schedule. Ever changing policy on how to handle employees who are exposed to COVID at work. Workers comp is used which does not provide you with even 66% of your pay because we "make too much money" and would exceed the cap for workers comp pay out. Insufficient PPE - holes in gowns, no shoe covers, back and head/neck all exposed and then you are expected to doff your PPE and go treat other non-covid but immunocompromised patients.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Encompass Health Response

      Recruitment Strategy Consultant

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Las Vegas, NV hospital. We appreciate your feedback and we encourage you to send additional details to feedback@encompasshealth.com.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Caring Company

      Jun 8, 2021 - Student Nurse Extern in Maricopa, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO Friendly environment Free lunch on holidays Supportive team Incentive for staying within the company Room to grow and promote

      Cons

      Long work days Cafeteria doesn't sell / provide employee meals

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. Encompass Health - Home Health & Hospice | Division of Encompass Health
      1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The company has changed

      Jun 7, 2021 - Occupational Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer a generous PDO accrual

      Cons

      Branch satisfaction strongly depends on local leadership. My area had a shift in leadership and it impacted employee satisfaction. Supervisors send passive aggressive emails, roll eyes in meetings when clinicians speak and often preach that “the grass isn’t greener on the other side”. Turnover rate has been extremely high. Roughly 55-60%. However, leadership makes excuses for the mass exodus and do not take any accountability for the downfall of the branch. Unethical behavior. Continuing with accepting referrals knowing there are no staff to see patients. Corporate needs to pay attention to branches with large turnover rates.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company for New Grads

      Jun 7, 2021 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Tustin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly Coworkers and Staff Good Benefits

      Cons

      Old Building with loud call light system

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Too many chiefs

      May 31, 2021 - Community Team LVN 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility,computer system makes it efficient to complete paperwork

      Cons

      Hired as community nurse,was only in communities 30% of time,saw patients in both home setting and communities Favoritism shown to certain employees,always recognition given to same people over and over when other employees were praised by patients as well but never recognized for good work Management members are “besties” and very apparent biases are demonstrated

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Encompass Health Response

      Director, Talent Operations Strategy

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we encourage you to send us additional details to feedback@encompasshealth.com so we can learn more.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Occupational Therapist in Sarasota, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great PTO benefits which goes up the longer you work there. Our DTO is very easy to work with, understanding and nice. It truly can feel like a work family there. Mostly 1:1 treatment

      Cons

      EH really has that big business feel. Most of the therapist, nurses and case managers really care about the pts but when working with upper management you really get the feeling it's all about the money. You work most holidays, including a random draw for Christmas / Thanksgiving if someone doesnt volunteer. However you can never work those major holidays 2 yrs in a row. You do get time and a half for holidays you work A lot of PTO is a plus but it can be very difficult scheduling your time off due to coverage. If you dont schedule your vacations 4-6 months in advance you can pretty much forget about it or be really stressed hoping you'll be approved the week before if they just so happen to find coverage. Makes spontaneity a challenge and difficult planning vacations with other family and friends.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. Encompass Health - Home Health & Hospice | Division of Encompass Health
      1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Most unprofessional place you'll find for healthcare in the area

      Mar 2, 2021 - Administrative in Littleton, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small facility, clean, well kept

      Cons

      I can say that every bad review on here makes total sense to me after working for this company and then some. The management at this hospital will not treat you the same once you begin questioning them on anything. If you are going to work for this company document EVERYTHING. It's taken me a year to get things lined up to show how atrocious some of the practices are here, to include doctors and clerical staff bashing patients and their families behind closed doors, favoritism, retaliatory behavior when management is questioned and discriminatory treatment of different employees based on what they have going on in their personal lives despite those circumstances being disclosed at hire and accepted as a contingency of hire. The worst part is that you'd think you could go to HR for support but HR is just as illegitimate. When I showed other professionals the emails and the demands that this company unjustly forced into my life and schedule they were appalled and noticed a lot of shady practices that are common pattern. There is a reason there is high turnover rate at this place. I work at a different hospital now that was not surprised by how I was treated or the questionable practices. Imagine that... They'll reply to this like any other, with an automated message thanking for feedback etc which is exactly how they treat employees, just a service ticket. If you make them productive great, if not you're out the door .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Encompass Health Response

      Recruitment Strategy Consultant

      Thank you for providing a review about our Littleton, CO hospital. We appreciate this feedback and we highly encourage you to send us additional details to feedback@encompasshealth.com so we can explore this situation further.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,590 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Encompass Health Job Seekers

    Rehab Liaison
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Physical Therapist Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Encompass Health? Share Your Experiences

    or