Energy Future Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor

Energy Future Holdings Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Energy Future Holdings CEO John F. Young
John F. Young
30 Ratings
  1. "EFH (formerly TXU Corp)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings

    Pros

    Great community involvement; strong ethics; strong operations

    Cons

    Declining market; poor balance sheet; extended bankruptcy

    Energy Future Holdings2015-06-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "EFH Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Good health and 401k benefits; many open positions posted at one time; industry where you will continuously be learning new subject matters

    Cons

    Inability to advance career options within the current state of bankruptcy restructuring; many layers of management; career advancement commonly related to seniority

    Advice to Management

    Need to create career opportunities for those seeking to advance and are willing to put the time and effort in; need to create cross-functional training among departments

    Energy Future Holdings2015-06-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Fast Paced, Ideal for the politically savvy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings

    Pros

    Great Pay. Good exposure to various parts of the business. Utilities industry overall is great since it is a fixture in our lives. Good culture if you work direct for them.

    Cons

    Long hours, Political Land mines. Lack of Consideration for internal candidates . Need more leadership transparency and promote a culture of team work.

    Advice to Management

    Develop your own people instead of throwing money on outside consultants

    Energy Future Holdings2015-01-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Career opportunity, pay, benefits, work-life balance are all good. I enjoy working with the talented people in this organization.

    Cons

    Dysfunctional leadership - political positioning and self-focus is rampant in the senior leader ranks.

    Advice to Management

    It's not all about you. We have a business to run - focus on making the right decision, not the one that will best position you for your next role.

    Energy Future Holdings2014-10-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Long time north texas power company. Pretty stable with some good IT initiatives.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tough at times during project roll outs

    Energy Future Holdings2014-08-26
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Energy Future Holdings for more than 4 years

    Pros

    good work-life balance and training

    Cons

    good benefit and personal growth

    Energy Future Holdings2014-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sticking with it a while to see how it all plays out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for my position and good benefits plan.

    Cons

    No retirement paln, but hey, doe anyone have those anymore? Office politics is killer!

    Energy Future Holdings2014-07-13
  8. "The job was good but management sucked when I worked there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field IT Representative in Abilene, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The paychecks cleared...coworkers were good people. The IT crowd worked well together.Clients apreciated our help and where easy to work for/with.

    Cons

    No autonomy, limited growth potential, you were treated like a tool by upper management. I knew one manager that abused some employees and was never called on carpet.

    Advice to Management

    How is that union thing working out?

    Energy Future Holdings2014-07-12
  9. "Learned a lot but not it is time to definitely move on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The people are friendly there

    Cons

    The senior managemenet is horrible

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing games

    Energy Future Holdings2014-04-15
  10. "The Best Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Future Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They realy care about their employees

    Cons

    Could be a little more relaxed on quality

    Energy Future Holdings2014-03-11
Found 68 reviews