Energy Transfer "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Energy Transfer Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Energy Transfer Chairman and CEO Kelcy L. Warren
Kelcy L. Warren
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance frequently skews towards work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Working long hours especially Fridays are common with deadlines to get the pipelines up and running before weekends(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great opportunity early in career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Significant autonomy given early in career. There's a wide array of projects to work on. Ability to work and manage large projects early in career.

    Cons

    Work/life balance frequently skews towards work.

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2019-07-23
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the benefits are great and there a lot of nice people working there

    Cons

    Training is only o.k and work life balance is not a priority

    Energy Transfer2019-09-16
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work / life balance. Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Could be stressful at times.

    Energy Transfer2019-02-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "This could be a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, decent pay, new equipment.

    Cons

    No work life balance, no on call schedule your on call all the time, high turnover rate in personal and takes forever to fill position, no path for progression, safety is a low priority.

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2019-02-14

    Energy Transfer Response

    April 11, 2019Sr. Manager - Talent

    Thanks for your feedback. There is a time based progression structure (promotions with higher pay which are automatic based on time worked) for time based progression jobs and overtime is offered of course for nonexempt employees. Safety is by far a top priority and the "Personnel team helped hire internally/externally nearly 2,000 people in 2018. We encourage a review of our 10-k and website for further information. Thank you, Energy Transfer LP

    Continue reading
  5. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, work life balance and location

    Cons

    Pay, Office relocating and benefits

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2018-03-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "We are the Borg, prepare to be assimilated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are awesome to work with, with really great ideas and the best of intentions

    Cons

    They are the Borg. They will buy your company, keep anything they find of value and dispose of the rest. That includes people, processes, facilities or morals. This company has some of the lowest set of character standards I have ever encountered. Cutthroats, liars, thieves and (character) assassins. Being a pirate on the high seas would probably be a more fulfilling role than working for this organization. You are constantly told to produce gold-standard work with a coal-standard budget and then reprimanded for not delivering on time or on budget. This is after the budget you created 18 months before the project was approved was cut to roughly 1/3rd of what was submitted. Work/Life balance does not exist. You are an ET employee 24/7/365. Guess who's on call? Everyone!

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2017-08-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good 'ol Boys ( & Girls) Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Energy Transfer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay was good, at first.

    Cons

    The company is full of "apple polishers". Those types of people spend all day chatting it up with management, and in the end, are the people who get promoted. My manager would spend all day away from his/her desk, only to leave early every week to either take his/her kids to classes, or just because. My manager even once scheduled an appointment for a massage at 10:30am?!? He/she habitually came in to work later than me, and left work earlier than me on most days. My manager got away with a lot because she was chummy with the Controller (or anyone else who might have benefited them.) My manager let me have a good work/life balance for a while. Working from home as needed, tending to appointments and what not, until I went to HR to complain of some issues with him/her. Then everything changed once I brought to light everything he/she was getting away with. Needless to say at this company, if you "go with the flow" when you're manager is getting away with murder, you'll be good. BUT go against your manager, and face the wrath. Company cares little about the worker bees, or how much overtime they work, or if the workload is overbearing. Zip your lips if the workload is too much, because that will surely be frowned upon once bonus/merit increases come around. There's little to no room for advancement. Bonuses and merit increases are a joke. Unless you part the red sea, your work is always considered mediocre.

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2017-06-28
  8. "Good Pipeline Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    No challenge. Management is threatened by new ideas or personal initiative. Show too much initiative and you buck the system, management thinks you're after their job, and you become their target. Don't do anything until your supervisor tells you, and you're good as gold.

    Energy Transfer2017-05-04
  9. "mediocre but positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Energy Transfer full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, easy and predictable schedule, casual office wear

    Cons

    no development program, no clear advancement structure, no financial incentives to work harder, ideal for complacent workers not wanting to move ahead in their career

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2017-03-06
  10. "Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Energy Transfer for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, Good and work-life balance. Decent vacation, sick leave and 401K for employees.

    Cons

    Mediocre pay and benefits. Parent company ETP is moving jobs to Texas.

    Continue reading
    Energy Transfer2017-01-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews