English Heritage Reviews | Glassdoor

English Heritage Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
English Heritage CEO Kate Mavor
Kate Mavor
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work at a beautiful heritage site; free entry to other EH sites; laid-back and not intensive(in 9 reviews)

  • "Some lovely colleagues and a supportive team and a very flexible working environment with a good work life balance(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours through summer months, no time for breaks on small sites, lots of work at home to keep up to date with emails, poor pay(in 8 reviews)

  • "The are a lot of restraints and no support from managers(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at English Heritage

    Pros

    This is really a fantastic place to work...I cannot imagine better... I have really enjoyed the people and the atmosphere.

    Cons

    There really are no down sides for me at this company......I have enjoyed every minute of my employment here.

    English Heritage2013-12-30
  2. "Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at English Heritage

      Pros

      A great company to work for. They believe in what they do and it shows in the way they treat their employees.

      Cons

      The structure of the company was not always cohesive.

      English Heritage2014-04-09
    • "Visitor service assistant/supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Visitor Services Assistant in Orpington, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at English Heritage part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with, beautiful location, opportunities to expand skills.

      Cons

      Not full-time work and limited hours during the winter months

      Advice to Management

      More funding for resources i.e events and IT equipment

      English Heritage2019-05-21
    • "Pure drudgery"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Historic Property Steward 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at English Heritage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Access to English Heritage sites for free.

      Cons

      - Poor pay. - Long slow working days stood up without breaks. - Patronising micromanagement. - Forced to be a double glazing style salesperson. Forcing visitors to buy jams, wine and yearly memberships using the hard sell. Therefore spoiling the visit for the customer. - No job security, almost zero hour contracts all year around. No certainty of hours each week. - Managers pit staff against each other with...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get real. We are minimum wage workers. Do not expect use to be sales people and hit targets when we are not paid as sales people. Pay us what we are worth. Change the job tile of historic property steward to Jam/Wine and membership sales person. Get rid of the clueless micro managers who are so patronising. I really hope English Heritage offloads some of the moronic management, god knows it needs to.

      English Heritage2019-05-15
    • "Former Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at English Heritage full-time

      Pros

      Excellent pension scheme- even on small salaries, the chance to build a pension quickly is there. There is also a large staff discount in the shop.

      Cons

      Very poor communication. Ability for line managers to rule fiefdoms over the people they are supposed to look after. Huge amounts of money wasted, other areas starved of resources

      Advice to Management

      Let your paid employees act on their enthusiasm, so they aren't simly jam and fruit wine salesmen. Alter corporate guidelines for selling three jars of jam and getting a free jute bag- it insults the customers more often than not.

      English Heritage2019-03-11
    • "Events coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at English Heritage full-time

      Pros

      None at all. I did not like working here

      Cons

      The are a lot of restraints and no support from managers. long working hours required

      English Heritage2019-02-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Catering directive for site cafes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at English Heritage full-time

        Pros

        Well established organisation serving a crucial purpose. Work within beautiful surroundings serving that purpose.

        Cons

        Misguided catering operation; trying too hard to be a brand such as Costa whilst also like your local farm shop cafe. Doesn't work.

        Advice to Management

        Allow the historical environments to define the catering needs, without the rigid structures and templates imposed in a bid to strive for McDonalds like consistency and ease of function. As a membership based operation, variance with a less corporate feel would be embraced. Historic Property Stewards should not be relied upon to cook and run the kitchen.

        English Heritage2018-12-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Historic Property Steward"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at English Heritage part-time

        Pros

        Working at beautiful sites Flexible

        Cons

        Bullying culture - especially management No career progression No support

        English Heritage2018-11-26
      • "Good beginnings"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at English Heritage part-time

        Pros

        - Great place to gain experience in the historic/tourism sector - Fantastic locations to work - Highly recognisable brand - Great value of skills gained by being in such a diverse work space

        Cons

        - Limited opportunity for growth - Limited monetary satifaction

        Advice to Management

        More opportunities of progression for everyone. Utilise staff properly and properties Keep historical value at the forefront of all decisions rather than publicity and money

        English Heritage2018-09-29
      • Helpful (4)

        "Toxic management and environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at English Heritage full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        - I made some great friends - Interesting sites

        Cons

        - Toxic 'management is always right' culture - Heavy handed and unconstructive management approach - No progression by talent, you'll only progress if your manager leaves This was probably the most toxic moment of my career. The work is slow, they do not take well to any kind of constructive improvement and management take all of the perks, all of the glory, and suck all of the joy out of the place. Avoid if you...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You hire staff for a reason, use them and listen to them. Stop treating your staff like they should be lucky to work for you, you'll lose them all to better places.

        English Heritage2018-10-29
      Found 71 reviews