Englishunt Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Business English Instructor"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI

    I worked at Englishunt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Built long lasting relationships with the great people of South Korea, as well as coworkers.

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to report.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2018-03-28
  2. "Nice management/students"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Lansing, MI

    I have been working at Englishunt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very nice and supportive Management

    Cons

    I think the hours are pretty bad

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good educational program"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Englishunt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fixed hours and regular students; however attendance is very variable and adult students often come late to class.

    Cons

    - Management is abusive. When I called in sick for two days, my position felt threatened. They said: Will you be able to resume your "duties" on such and such a day? - Management did not think it was their job and thought it was taxing to call me at the correct phone number, even after I told them the number twice. - The job description states "No preparation needed." This is untrue. The curriculum provided does not cover the whole time period and students complain about the material because it is not challenging. The children and youth material is not engaging, in part, because the platform is outdated. - Management style is to micromangage. Sessions are monitored daily and they nitpick during the session and make comments to the teacher, which is very distracting, instead of letting the teacher teach and attend to students. - My first paycheck was $20 short. When I communicated this issue, they said that they did not pay for all the breaks and that they were transparent about the pay. This was never communicated to me until just now. In addition, the so-called break is really partially spent on uploading curriculum into the system, which most modern systems do automatically. - Because the download of the courseware program has bugs and does not work right, they have to remote in on your computer to install the software program, which is very awkward. Directions are not given on how to do this, and with the bugs, the process probably would not work anyways by one's self. What a violation of privacy. When the process did not work with management, they did not know why and basically, it was kind of a hit or miss process.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2019-09-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "English Teacher"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Englishunt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provides so much flexibility in your day time schedule due to working at night.

    Cons

    No pay increase that I have experienced over the 3 seasons with them.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2017-09-07
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Great Stay-At-Home-Job for anyone who loves teaching"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Englishunt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible to your teaching style, professional development needs, and hours. Very helpful and positive counterparts. Always eligible for raises or alternative projects for extra pay. Excellent employment choice in so many ways. I have a disability that required long-term rehabilitation. Sometimes I couldn't even walk. I wanted to continue working and love teaching adults English. Englishhunt provided me with an amazing opportunity to teach from home full-time, stay in the work force, develop professionally, gain exposure to a new culture from clientele, and complete my rehabilitation. An incredible opportunity.

    Cons

    Emergencies such as power outage or technical difficulties were often delayed due to slow response. Requested days off were not handled until the day before, even if you requested within the required notice period. Sometimes there was confusion about time off and/or I was asked to work hours on my requested days off because there was no replacement: "everyone was busy." The platforms used had frequent issues. Find a different platform or just use Skype.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2017-05-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "This is a great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Englishunt

    Pros

    Convenience of working from home; great management; fun lessons; you get to meet many awesome kids from Korea and Japan.

    Cons

    Time difference; about a two month break in the winter

    Englishunt2016-08-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Englishunt / Great work at home opportunity!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Virtual Education Programs in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Englishunt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible, diverse, enjoyable colleagues and students.

    Cons

    Programs do take unpaid breaks for about 6 weeks each summer and winter.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2016-07-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Online English Teacher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Englishunt

    Pros

    Supervisors are very helpful and flexible.

    Cons

    Hours aren't very consistent. Programs come and go.

    Englishunt2016-03-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Contract work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Englishunt

    Pros

    Steady work when they have school contracts. Decent pay. When they have contracts with school districts etc, the work can be interesting. Classes cover all ages, business professionals, military personnel and master teachers.

    Cons

    Very long breaks between school contracts. Work dries up during Korean school breaks. US managers play favorites and some are very unprofessional, even crude , in how they interact with teachers. No advancement and no promises of work no matter what you do or how good a teacher you are.

    Continue reading
    Englishunt2015-10-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work after graduation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Englishunt full-time

    Pros

    Lots of initiatives and project opportunities

    Cons

    Company's goals may be ambiguous at times

    Englishunt2015-06-15
Found 18 reviews