Englishunt Reviews

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 24 reviews

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great support, friendly management, flexible schedule, guarantees hours, the students are great to work with.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Decent pay.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Business English Instructor

    Mar 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Built long lasting relationships with the great people of South Korea, as well as coworkers.

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to report.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Stay-At-Home-Job for anyone who loves teaching

    May 25, 2017 - ESL Teacher in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible to your teaching style, professional development needs, and hours. Very helpful and positive counterparts. Always eligible for raises or alternative projects for extra pay. Excellent employment choice in so many ways. I have a disability that required long-term rehabilitation. Sometimes I couldn't even walk. I wanted to continue working and love teaching adults English. Englishhunt provided me with an amazing opportunity to teach from home full-time, stay in the work force, develop professionally, gain exposure to a new culture from clientele, and complete my rehabilitation. An incredible opportunity.

    Cons

    Emergencies such as power outage or technical difficulties were often delayed due to slow response. Requested days off were not handled until the day before, even if you requested within the required notice period. Sometimes there was confusion about time off and/or I was asked to work hours on my requested days off because there was no replacement: "everyone was busy." The platforms used had frequent issues. Find a different platform or just use Skype.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice management/students

    Sep 25, 2019 - ESL Teacher in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very nice and supportive Management

    Cons

    I think the hours are pretty bad

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best of both worlds!

    Jul 1, 2013 - Online ESL Instructor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My family has moved a lot due to my husband's job - which makes it impossible for me to keep a traditional teaching job in the long term. I've tried being strictly a stay-at-home mom, but always missed teaching after only a short time being out of the classroom. I'm so happy to have found Englishunt, which allows me to work part-time from my own home! For the first time in years, I'm not at all concerned about an upcoming move - my job will move with me! I really enjoy working in the early mornings (typical to my specific Englishunt program). I start my day working with students who are almost invariably excited to learn, and then can live the rest of my day as a stay-at-home mom.

    Cons

    The pay is a lower than you would find in a traditional school, and there is no benefits package. Having said that, I love that I don't have to leave my house to work! I know I'm saving money on gas and dry-cleaning.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    English Hunt offers stability, flexibility, and great pay all while you work from home!

    Jul 2, 2013 - English Tutor in Bangor, ME
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work days run Monday through Friday so you always have the weekend off! Hourly pay is good. It's an excellent opportunity to meet students and learn their lifestyles from across the world. English Hunt Inc. is flexible and does paid training. The Korean and American staff are pleasant and proactive; such great people to work with!

    Cons

    Hours are very early morning or very late night. MUST have extremely fast internet speeds. When students vacation, so don't you (with no pay).

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent opportunity for those seeking to work from home

    Jul 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Here you work from the comfort of your own home. Keep your teaching skills current. I am able to adapt their lesson plans to teach them my own way without anyone demanding me to be scripted. There are multiple programs, so more hours can be had. Excellent work/life balance. Both US and Korean management teams are very supportive but not overbearing.

    Cons

    Very late/early start. Limited career advancement opportunities. Getting paid once a month does call for a more stringent budget, but getting the pay directly deposited is great.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent work-at-home opportunity for Certified Teachers

    Jul 2, 2013 - Englishunt Video Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *I like having a "regular" day to do chores, errands, visit people etc and then I work late at night when I'm "more alert" (for my time zone) but they have shifts at different times of the day or night. *All of the managers/Korean staff are very polite and quickly return emails etc. *I like teaching online for a change of pace and learning about the Korean culture (types of food or holidays) and sharing about the United States/local city etc *Everyone is usually excited to learn!

    Cons

    *Sometimes the schedule changes either adding or subtracting classes the day of. However, if a class is canceled after a certain time, you still get paid. *There are several classes you are assigned to -while I like that I also don't know many of the student's names which makes it less personal unless they have a name tag.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    English Teacher

    Sep 7, 2017 - English Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Provides so much flexibility in your day time schedule due to working at night.

    Cons

    No pay increase that I have experienced over the 3 seasons with them.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Contract work

    Oct 5, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady work when they have school contracts. Decent pay. When they have contracts with school districts etc, the work can be interesting. Classes cover all ages, business professionals, military personnel and master teachers.

    Cons

    Very long breaks between school contracts. Work dries up during Korean school breaks. US managers play favorites and some are very unprofessional, even crude , in how they interact with teachers. No advancement and no promises of work no matter what you do or how good a teacher you are.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Englishunt / Great work at home opportunity!

    Jul 7, 2016 - Director of Virtual Education Programs in Lansing, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, diverse, enjoyable colleagues and students.

    Cons

    Programs do take unpaid breaks for about 6 weeks each summer and winter.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Englishunt Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Englishunt? Share Your Experiences

Englishunt logo
or