KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ensighten

Is this your company?

Ensighten

Add a Review

Ensighten Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 100 reviews

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Ensighten Chief Executive Officer Marty Greenlow
Marty Greenlow
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "I genuinely loved working at Ensighten(in 19 reviews)

  • "They have the best work/life balance of any company I've ever been at(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Every company has cons but I really struggle to think of any when it comes to Ensighten(in 22 reviews)

  • "ensighten's(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    852

    313 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid company, great leadership, outstanding experience

      Oct 30, 2020 - Product Marketing in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best work/life balance I have ever experienced - certainly demanding of excellence but complete expectation that people's life is more important. One of the most generous benefits packages I have seen - full family health and dental, vision, insurance etc for a very small amount of employee contribution. Outstanding executive team - every single one of them will call you up, regularly, just to ask how you are doing, but more than that - they simply know their jobs and how to get them done - no silly expectations like doing 150% of revenue during the worst downturn in global history - instead "let's use the time to skill-up". If you want to work hard but still see your family, have a visible career progression path, be able to voice ideas and actually see them become reality and go to sleep knowing the company is solid then this company is for you.

      Cons

      Every company has cons but I really struggle to think of any when it comes to Ensighten. Maybe with them being small then your role is much more than your role - you are expected to be involved in other things too - but honestly, this is probably a positive to many people - it is to me.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very happy in my time here

      Apr 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Ensighten for over 3 years and have greatly enjoyed my time here. The work life balance is fantastic and there are a lot of wonderful people who work here. Many of the old regime from some of the previous comments have moved on and there is a lot of excitement for the COO/New CRO initiatives. There are also a lot of excitement for new features on the product roadmap. Overall, I would recommend Ensighten.

      Cons

      I wouldn't necessarily express this as an outward con but Ensighten is a small organization so if quick career growth is your desired outcome, they take a bit of time but they do happen to well deserved employees!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall great company, with one caveat

      Jul 24, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I genuinely loved working at Ensighten. They have the best work/life balance of any company I've ever been at. If you have appointments or a schedule that requires you to be away at times during the day Ensighten can usually accommodate that. As long as your work gets done they're very flexible. The engineers you'll work with there are top notch. They have very smart people doing complex work. Ensighten's products all have a high degree of customization and as a result of that you have to learn a lot to build out the structure and features to accommodate that. They're friendly, fun people to work with too. I still keep in touch with several friends from the company. It might seem like a small detail but Ensighten's internal systems and equipment are really good as well. Your email and work chat are always going to work, and you'll have sufficiently powered hardware to work with that you can use as you see fit to get the job done. Not a lot of over-the-shoulder monitoring. The top management of the company is really good too. That wasn't always the case but the current c-level execs have all been in their positions several years now and they've got the company on a good course. The CTO is very busy but will gladly have a meeting with you if you request one, and will take any feedback you give seriously. The CEO I haven't interacted with a lot but each time he remembered my name and made sure to greet me. Really I feel like Ensighten is a good place to work and I'd recommend it to pretty much anyone. There is one slight caveat to that, which I'll spell out in the cons section.

      Cons

      Most of the cons with Ensighten are pretty minor, but I do have one big con that I'll put at the end. The Tech Ops team that makes software choices for the rest of the company sometimes need to be pushed on to get the full answers or help with their projects. They never turn people away, but unless you set up meetings with them you're likely to get partial answers. It gives the impression that they don't feel other teams concerns are worth their time. That said they're a busy group and and they still try to help so I consider it pretty minor. Ensighten tries to say it's a startup, but in my opinion the company isn't really a startup anymore. They have the enthusiasm of a startup, but the projects and products there have been around for some time and there really isn't the opportunity to make major changes or pivot the way a startup would. Ensighten has established themselves, and that's not a bad thing. Unfortunately, I do have to list one major con. One of Ensighten's products is called "Manage" and I have to advise anyone reading this to avoid that team unless they can confirm a change in management sometime after this review. My coworkers on that team were some of the best people I ever worked with. However a new manager was brought on to the team and he is very toxic. Playing favorites with employees, lying about performance, and airing personal criticisms during standup were just a few ways he would cause trouble on the team. It got so bad that I filed an HR complaint and asked to switch teams. The HR complaint included incidents covering a 5 month time span and included chat links to show what was actually said. Even though it was just 5 months, the complaint was 16 pages long. After filing it, if this manager caused another incident he'd then go through chat and delete messages in the hope of avoiding future HR reports. He was a real piece of work. Ensighten was very responsive about the issues and moved me to another team. But the damage had been done and I felt I had to leave the company because of that manager. I was not the only employee that had a hard time with him so my expectation would be if he continues to treat others so poorly that he'd be moved into a different role in the company. To be plain, if you're looking to work at Ensighten I must advise avoiding the Manage team. The rest of the company really is great to work for though and I'd have no issue recommending any other position there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Current employee (less than a year)

      Feb 28, 2018 - Customer Success Manager in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work life balance is great here. They understand that everyone has their own way of working and as long as you work efficiently, working from home or the office is your choice. - Reasonable goals, commission, and bonus structures. - Top management really cares about your personal growth as much the company's growth - Everyone in this company is willing and able to help. There hasn't been a time where someone said no when I reached out. - Work environment and practices are very transparent; a lot more than the companies I've worked for

      Cons

      No substantial cons so far. The tag management sector is becoming more diluted over time so it brings challenges

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great product/service/tech, disappointing leadership

      Dec 7, 2015 - Anonymous in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great resume-boost to focus on enterprise-level clients. What we offer as a product truly is top-of-the-line, and use cases from some of the largest companies in the world back that up. Work-life-balance is also highly respected, benefits are great, but above all our CEO and CTO created something magnificent.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the leadership gaps have become systemic, or at the very least that is the perception. It just feels that no one listens to each other, with deep-rooted problems ignored until disaster strikes, and every department seems disorganized. Overspending, lack of accountability and alignment, lack of executable strategy to achieve vision, all led to layoffs that have not solved the problems.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Liars

      May 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work/life balance and decent pay

      Cons

      Recently let me go saying it was due to a lack of work. I called my manager shortly after to see if there's anything I could have done differently, and he assured me that it wasn't due to anything I had done or could have done. They just didn't have budget to keep me employed. I later heard they told my old co-workers that I had just decided to leave on my own. Unfortunately, I just got a call from Unemployment Insurance today and apparently Ensighten HR decided to tell them that I was fired for not doing my job. No indicators on the job of that being the case, no complaints, and they told me it was a layoff... In my mind, that's pretty low. Are they lying to me? Why wasn't there any warning? Are the lying to UE to save a few bucks at my expense when I need it the most? Just sad.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Talent and Good Work/Life Balance

      Jan 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has extremely talented employees Top enterprise company clients Great work/life balance Challenging work Great products that drive the industry

      Cons

      Management could use some work More focus needs to be put on projects that can improve the products and products UI A lot of employees are egotistical Need to hold people/departments more accountable

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Jumpship!

      Mar 29, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team! Great benefits and promote work/life balance

      Cons

      Upper management should care about their employees.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor leadership

      Oct 4, 2017 - Channel Sales in Cupertino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good technology; good work life balance.

      Cons

      Poor leadership; place very little value in employees

      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ensighten is going downhill at some speed!

      Jan 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some great people there who are so helpful and friendly. - Work life balance is really good. Although being a US company expect to get some emails very late at night. - Get to travel to different places. - The services team is fantastic in the UK and really are the best part of the entire company.

      Cons

      - Very secretive and never really tell you what's happening in the company. - The entire company is focused on sales, therefore if you don't work in sales you're not valued in the slightest. - If you disagree with management (anyone in the c-level) expect to be reprimanded or fired. - Spend thousands on useless stuff and then refuse to discuss salary increases. - The office feels a little stuck in the past, the leadership are very conservative. - Certain members of staff get a free reign to do things, yet when you complain about unprofessionalism you are the one that gets told to change. - Basically, the leadership are looking to sell up and get out and it's a bit of a waste of time for anyone to join at this stage.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ensighten Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ensighten? Share Your Experiences

    or