Entertainment Earth Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Entertainment Earth Chief Executive Officer Aaron Labowitz (no image)
Aaron Labowitz
19 Ratings
  1. "Great people and internal systems that are without peer in the industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pros are a great overall environment. Really enjoyed the people I worked with. Internal systems are second to none. If you go anywhere else be prepared for how well thought out the management systems are compared to the industry norms. Logistic, customer management, and ordering systems are absolutely amazing! Perks like lunches, movies, and collectibles in addition to travel to some great events.

    Cons

    Like any company things ebb and flow. You'll have a few slow months mid-summer, but that will rebound as you get to the holidays. Can be stressful at times, but overall work life balance is very good.

    Entertainment Earth2019-11-13
  2. "Fun Company, Cool Products, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pro - I get to talk about Star Wars and Marvel as part of my job! The environment is collaborative, and fun. The owners truly care about each aspect of the business, and it's great to get 1:1 time with them. My co-workers are cool, and I actually enjoy their company! Comic-Con is huge, and it's fun to be part of the buzz. Every day is different, yet fun. Did I mention I get to talk about Star Wars and Marvel everyday?! Perks: - Affordable health and dental insurance - Laundry service - Soda and coffee machines - Snacks - Company sponsored outings (including Comic-Con!) - Free and discounted collectibles

    Cons

    Most work areas are bull pen style, which can be problematic for someone who prefers a quiet environment. I personally thrive in it, and love how it fosters growth and idea sharing.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2019-02-28
  3. "Don't do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fun environment to work in

    Cons

    owners are too into themselves to care about their employees

    Entertainment Earth2019-02-06
  4. "Love it here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Entertainment Earth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company! Plenty of parking, fun social days like Hawaiian Shirt Day and Pajama Day, free fruit (good bananas, not just bs fruit that no one eats), competitive pay, product discount, laundry service(yes, someone will wash your dirty laundry and return it to you in a small cube), amazing people in every department, a lot of donuts, lounge with video games, darts, and a foosball table. It varies by department but overall everyone here is fun, nice, and is passionate about collectibles. I can't say enough great things about this company and the people that work here; I enjoy every day and that does not happen at most jobs.

    Cons

    Every company has some, there is no holy grail of a job: communication and indecisiveness are the 2 main issues that stick out. Sometimes people don't really know what they want or they change their minds, this happens everywhere. The communication issues are easily solved by speaking up, asking questions, and triple checking your work.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2018-07-07
  5. "Fun Environment, Fun People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Entertainment Earth full-time

    Pros

    This is a great place to work if you love pop culture, toys/collectibles, and a fun work environment. There are great benefits and perks, such as company-wide movie outings and an employee discount on the products. Management is friendly and approachable, and often very involved in even minor projects.

    Cons

    I think it is department-specific, but I do not see many opportunities for upward growth. I want to hone my skills in my field, but I find myself working on many side-projects that distract from my personal goals.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2017-12-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place to work but, still figuring it out even after 20 years."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distribution in Simi Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, free broken toys & soda. Occasional movie nights & trips to Comic Con in San Diego. You can decorate your desk like a child's bedroom & nobody cares.

    Cons

    I worked in the wholesale department for several years. Between senior sales supervisors who tend to hoard key accounts after sales reps leave & an ever revolving door of sales directors, it's a wonder the department hasn't fell apart entirely. The owners are nice but mostly absent, leaving incompetent management to make the day to day decisions. High turnover in the sales department due to low commissions doesn't help either.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2017-09-02
  7. "A bunch of nice nerds :)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entertainment Earth was a awesome place to work. My co-workers were all great people and good friends. I enjoyed going into work everyday. The owners, Aaron and Jason, are passionate about the toy industry and you can see that in the way they run the company. It is definitely a work hard, play hard environment but if you care about the work and making good stuff than you will fit right in.

    Cons

    Near the end of my time with Entertainment Earth I was having trouble seeing my direction for upward growth. The projects I was working on were fulfilling and exciting but I wasn't seeing a clear, long-term path for what I could do next to advance my specific skill sets.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2017-06-06
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee perks, great management, fun environment, understanding and helpful employees/management.

    Cons

    Not many cons, the only bad thing is that it is located in Simi Valley

    Entertainment Earth2017-05-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Going Downhill Fast"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount on products is pretty great and there are some great people who you get to work with. If you're just starting out in your field this is an ok place to work. The perks are ok... you get laundry service up to $150, they have a soda fountain, coffee, and fruit.

    Cons

    When I started working there my manager was really great. She actively involved us in all the planning and was also actively involved in our work as well. She really fostered great teamwork and I felt as though she cared greatly about everyone on our team. Unfortunately soon after I started she was let go and replaced by someone from the in-house marketing team. The new management of my team was very toxic and really made my job feel unpleasant. The new management was very negative and had a very "know-it-all" attitude even when they made mistakes. They also would partake in a lot of gossip on the office floor where everyone can hear which made it very hard to respect my management. There were a lot of lies and very much a "throw anyone under the bus to survive" attitude which doesn't make for great leadership. A leader is only as good as their team and if they cannot respect their team neither the leader or their team will be successful. Numbers were fudged to make management look better and no one was checking their work. There was also very little followthrough with management. Things were promised and never delivered and it was very easy for management to let things fall to the wayside. While this bad behavior was not aimed toward me personally (until I gave my two weeks, that is) it made me very uncomfortable to work under said management and quickly led me to leave the company. It also really perplexed me as to why they would choose management from the in-house production team to take over all marketing for the entire company. The in-house team has never successfully marketed a product. Their stuff sells in wholesale but they never made any of their brands a household name and they never made a blip on the radar when it came to pop culture news sources. So I have to wonder why would you give them more responsibility?

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2017-06-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Acceptable Entry Level; No Options for Moving Up"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Entertainment Earth full-time

    Pros

    It's a sometimes fun work environment, and they do try to give some employee perks, like movie days and discounts on stock. Every now and then they give free damaged product away to employees.

    Cons

    Getting promoted or getting a raise is hard. Heavy workload expectation, with very little recognition of success, but harsh words if you make errors.

    Continue reading
    Entertainment Earth2017-04-27

    Entertainment Earth Response

    May 5, 2017Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for the feedback. We're committed to creating a fun working environment and are happy to hear you enjoyed a few of the company perks you mentioned. Receiving a promotion or raise is dependent upon an employee’s performance. For the purpose of positive reinforcement, we recently automated our quarterly progress meetings and yearly reviews so each employee can understand where they are in terms of performance, goals, and expectations. The expectation is for employees to achieve maximum performance based on their job description and to strive to accomplish their goals. We also recognize employees in various ways, whether it's our "spotlight award," anniversary recognition, promotion, or a merit increase. "Harsh words" don't fix mistakes or align with our core values. We believe everyone has room for improvement and should be given an opportunity to grow and develop. Employees are the heart of any business. We value all our employees, and new people joining the team can enjoy the fact that we pay well above minimum wage. As far as the website goes, we're in the beta phase as of 5/1/17. The launch has taken longer than expected, but the outcome is well worth the wait, and we look forward to rolling out the website to our clients and to the world! Thank you again for your feedback.

Found 24 reviews