Entertainment Earth Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Entertainment Earth Chief Executive Officer Aaron Labowitz (no image)
Aaron Labowitz
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Jan 19, 2021 - Human Resources in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Entertainment Earth truly cares about it's employees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Receiving

    Jan 25, 2021 - Receiving Clerk in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool products, and cool co-workers. Every other week for one day, they would have free lunch for all the workers.

    Cons

    They treat employees like they are so disposable. When I worked there, I always saw people leave or get fired left and right for the dumbest reasons. Most of the managers will pretend to be nice to you but are really just searching for reasons to fire you if you aren’t absolutely perfect.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people and internal systems that are without peer in the industry

    Nov 12, 2019 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros are a great overall environment. Really enjoyed the people I worked with. Internal systems are second to none. If you go anywhere else be prepared for how well thought out the management systems are compared to the industry norms. Logistic, customer management, and ordering systems are absolutely amazing! Perks like lunches, movies, and collectibles in addition to travel to some great events.

    Cons

    Like any company things ebb and flow. You'll have a few slow months mid-summer, but that will rebound as you get to the holidays. Can be stressful at times, but overall work life balance is very good.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun Company, Cool Products, Great People

    Feb 27, 2019 - Marketing Manager in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The biggest pro - I get to talk about Star Wars and Marvel as part of my job! The environment is collaborative, and fun. The owners truly care about each aspect of the business, and it's great to get 1:1 time with them. My co-workers are cool, and I actually enjoy their company! Comic-Con is huge, and it's fun to be part of the buzz. Every day is different, yet fun. Did I mention I get to talk about Star Wars and Marvel everyday?! Perks: - Affordable health and dental insurance - Laundry service - Soda and coffee machines - Snacks - Company sponsored outings (including Comic-Con!) - Free and discounted collectibles

    Cons

    Most work areas are bull pen style, which can be problematic for someone who prefers a quiet environment. I personally thrive in it, and love how it fosters growth and idea sharing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Own your Career

    Aug 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Entertainment Earth IS a fun place to work! The company culture is very much family oriented and growing exponentially. My coworkers and I are a tight knit group, pop culture geeks? Call us whatever you would like to call us. It's' always a challenge to work with people, thankfully we have lunch together, conjure up ideas and talk about our world. The CEO has personally asked me several times how I'm doing, and I've never experienced that at any other company. You're not just a number here, it's about what you contribute and are you engaged. Although the company is experiencing "growing pains", the landscape here is ever growing. From new employees (including more diversity) to a fresh perspective on social media, a new website coming soon, systems, programs, and software which is really exciting. I can't speak for other departments, but I can say I see management adding structure and direction in a place that had very minimal, I prefer it, and it is vital to any company. Some employees were doing things "their way" which isn't necessarily the "right way". As we grow, it is obvious management isn't looking to transition to a "Corporate" environment, more so position itself to become much stronger than ever before with experienced people and with employees who are willing to grow. And with that, comes change. Fair warning you will be challenged. Don't bring an idea to the table without a plan. You will be questioned, if you have an issue, bring a solution. If you don't ask questions, you won't grow. You definitely own your career here.

    Cons

    Benefits could be more competitive and in need of a cafeteria remodel.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it here!

    Jul 7, 2018 - Marketing Specialist in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great company! Plenty of parking, fun social days like Hawaiian Shirt Day and Pajama Day, free fruit (good bananas, not just bs fruit that no one eats), competitive pay, product discount, laundry service(yes, someone will wash your dirty laundry and return it to you in a small cube), amazing people in every department, a lot of donuts, lounge with video games, darts, and a foosball table. It varies by department but overall everyone here is fun, nice, and is passionate about collectibles. I can't say enough great things about this company and the people that work here; I enjoy every day and that does not happen at most jobs.

    Cons

    Every company has some, there is no holy grail of a job: communication and indecisiveness are the 2 main issues that stick out. Sometimes people don't really know what they want or they change their minds, this happens everywhere. The communication issues are easily solved by speaking up, asking questions, and triple checking your work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    "Have fun, be fun, be cool"

    Jan 28, 2016 -  in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is first and foremost at Entertainment Earth, which could be the reason why they’ve become one of the leading toy distributors in the nation. Establishing a “have fun, be fun, be cool” environment where you’re surrounded by toys all day long, is no easy task. Senior Management leaders express and encourage the fun and cool attitudes from their employees as they walk through the floors daily. Our CEO and President, stop and take pictures for social media postings, they eat with everyone at our company lunches, they’re not stuck to their offices – instead they’re visible throughout the day in the warehouse, on the sales floor, or even at your desk. Entry-Level positions are filled on personality and fit, which allows for each employee’s unique skills and inspiration to shine through, making their career opportunities endless. This 20-year-strong company continues to grow stronger each day with the fun and skilled employees it has. Entertainment Earth provide perks throughout the entire year, always improving on employee benefits, and having company-sponsored events like movie viewings. Don’t miss out on working here.

    Cons

    Currently located only in Ventura County, California

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Look somewhere else

    May 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good first job experience for a 20 something. Friendly coworkers. Fun product. Great way to make contacts with other companies in the entertainment industry. Network all you can, this will help you out later when you realize that you can be happier working somewhere else. Every few months they line you up in the warehouse and you get to take a few broken toys that otherwise can't be sold.

    Cons

    Sales are way down. The bottom line is that this company wants to pay you as little as possible and cut corners whenever they can. There is a reason anyone with ambition leaves this company. The meager wages provided may be passable if you are young and live with your parents, but they are impossible to survive on otherwise. My first warning sign should have been the condition of the vehicles in the parking lot or when I noticed how many employees get dropped off or walk to work because they can't afford a car. Department managers must do as they are told or face the wrath of the owners. They rarely last for more than a year before being fired. I hoped things would get better as time went on, but sadly, they only got worse. The company website is over 10 years old and looks like a mess. See for yourself. Read all the reviews on here. Most of the positive reviews are obviously written by HR or upper management, and look like they copied the words verbatim from the company handbook.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to Work For

    Feb 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for. The employee perks are on par if not better than most large companies I have worked for - including free (company paid) laundry service, fruit, soda, gym memberships, team building events and more. There is a great focus on work/life balance and making sure everyone is as productive as possible and always looking for areas and ways to improve. From a leadership perspective, I have been very impressed with how open and transparent the leadership team is. They truly care about each employee and strive to strike a good balance between juggling individual needs with the overall goals and what is best for the entire organization.

    Cons

    None really that I can think of. The company is experiencing major growth each year, so there are naturally some growing pains, but the management team is very aware and working proactively to address.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't do it

    Feb 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun environment to work in

    Cons

    owners are too into themselves to care about their employees

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Entertainment Earth Job Seekers

Marketing Coordinator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Entertainment Earth? Share Your Experiences

Entertainment Earth logo
or