Envato Reviews | Glassdoor

Envato Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Collis Ta’eed
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "For me personally there are no cons(in 5 reviews)

  • "The HR department is so ineffective and self preservationist that you can just about see the owners hands working them like puppets(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Design and Technically driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Development in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Envato for more than 3 years

    Pros

    consistent and artistically driven with a multitude of talent

    Cons

    vast amount of info to cover in one look

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Envato2018-01-06
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Big hearted founders, C grade senior and middle management, glacial rate of product development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Envato

    Pros

    Unlimited work from home. Nice office. Zero schedule pressure.

    Cons

    Envato has become an expensive crèche for its engineers and a recycling facility for average managers and ideas.

    Envato2018-04-29
  3. "Great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Envato

    Pros

    Fantastic coworker who were very motivated and cared about fun.

    Cons

    Project management was not fantastic

    Envato2018-04-11
  4. "A Flexible and Caring Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Envato part-time

    Pros

    Flexible - They care about the results and getting work done, rather than forcing you to conform to a bunch of process that may not be needed. They also have great policies around remote work. Caring Management - It is 100% clear that management (all the way up to the CEO) cares about the people who work at the company. They really do want to make Envato a great place to work, and they do their best to make that happen.

    Cons

    Sometimes their focus on results over process can leave you feeling a little bit unclear about how exactly you should go about getting things done. I would say that's the exception rather than the rule though. Overall it was great to know that you could take many paths to get to your needed results.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you so much for being a company that cares about your employees. Please keep that up as you grow!

    Envato2018-01-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at Envato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work hours, and level of freedom

    Cons

    not the best rates, can be tedious

    Envato2016-10-19
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freelance Writer in Gaithersburg, MD

    I worked at Envato for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid work experience, managers knew what they were doing and they used modern tools to keep the workflow smooth. Communication was good between editors and writers and there was a good backlog of interesting topics to write about if you couldn't think of something on your own.

    Cons

    Payments occasionally took awhile to come through. I never had a missed payment but it would've been nice if some payments were processed faster. We had to submit an invoice documenting what I had written, which is a bit strange considering they obviously have a record of what was publicly posted and how much was to be paid.

    Envato2015-10-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good Company, Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Envato

    Pros

    Very positive experience with both management, co-workers, and community.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about my experiences here.

    Envato2014-12-24
  8. "Great committed and passionate teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Specialist in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Envato full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great committed and passionate teams No forced leave over Christmas break

    Cons

    Lack of leadership Unfair practices for women coming back from maternity leave

    Advice to Management

    More female leaders

    Envato2019-08-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Comfortable and frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Development Team Lead 

    I have been working at Envato full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work Friendly atmosphere Smart people to learn from

    Cons

    A lack of direction caused by the leadership vacuum makes for a demotivating environment. So much time is wasted spinning wheels. Management seems to think the lack of direction will be solved by more and more reporting from the bottom up, when what’s required is clearer articulation from the top. Many new hires don’t understand the Envato environment, and seem determined to fix things that don’t need fixing while...

    Show More
    Envato2019-07-22
  10. "No customer support from staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ahmedabad
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Envato full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    no pros, it is poor market

    Cons

    don't sell or buy from envato, their staff not support from last 7 months

    Envato2019-08-09
Found 69 reviews