Environmental Defense Fund Reviews | Glassdoor

Environmental Defense Fund Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Environmental Defense Fund CEO Fred Krupp
Fred Krupp
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "EDF is well resourced and laser focused on delivering results(in 28 reviews)

  • "The 35-hour work week makes for a great work-life balance(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "EDF is top heavy with more at leadership position than other places(in 20 reviews)

  • "May not lead directly to full time jobs at the host firm or EDF, but they can help you make connections(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organization with brilliant staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA

    I worked at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work with the most brilliant people in their respective fields.

    Cons

    Top heavy, terrible HR department

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-04-25

    Environmental Defense Fund Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns and we are sorry that you have had a negative experience with our HR department. We are committed to continuous improvement in how we support our EDF family and we will use your feedback to ensure that we are consistently exceeding staff expectations.

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Depends which department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Defense Fund

    Pros

    Beautiful offices, ability to work from home, amazing week long company retreat. Salary is good for non-profit.

    Cons

    Shared services departments are neglected and are rife with dirty politics, broken policies and certain people stepping on and destroying the reputations of others to get ahead due to lack of structured advancement opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Create a system that clearly lays out how to get promotions within the organization. If numerous staff complain about a manager, don't keep them. EDF can afford to pay severance packages to destructive managers.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredibly caring and passionate employees Very good benefits

    Cons

    Overall work/life is not balanced- everyone cares so much that work above and beyond normal business hours Limited pathways for professional growth

    Advice to Management

    Human Resources team struggles to enact the corporate values and the leadership team is unaware of how employees feel, even though we are relatively small.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A farce of environmental advocacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Analyst in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staffers are mostly well-intentioned; work largely focuses on macro-scale policy issues; the work environment was easy, despite the fact many staffers believe it to be a high-pressure workplace.

    Cons

    EDF is mostly play-acting at doing real environmental work. They view themselves as rainmakers, when, in reality, they're mostly just standing outside the halls of power shouting inanely. I worked on several efforts to challenge permits issued by USACE and state agencies with delegated EPA authority. Staff scurried around busily for weeks in prep for trial, thinking they were on the cusp of victory over the evil... agencies. After our counsel got crushed in court by the agency SMEs, they consoled themselves by reassuring us all that we were fighting nobly against evil polluters, even though the agency folks were at least as committed to environmental quality as anyone on our staff. EDF staff often loses in fights against government entities because they're blinded by their own arrogance. They think because they have a law degree or a bachelor's from Brown that the state is going to forfeit their position out of fear. In reality, we usually went to trial against SMEs who were at least as educated as our staff, and certainly more steeped in policy, given that they wrote it. And there was scant little effort to engage agency staff in discussion as people. I pushed for this, knowing that having some friendly contacts in government would have helped us immensely to understand policy and the soft spots in it. Moreover, I knew we needed to recruit some agency folks to come work on our side and bring their insider's knowledge with them. Nothing would have helped us more. As it was, management seemed content to lose case after case in the district and administrative law courts. What EDF amounted to, then, was a convoluted means of spending the donations of their wealthy benefactors with nothing substantive to show for it, a farce of environmental advocacy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Adopt a more pragmatic outlook; recruit agency staffers; work harder at influencing policy at the local level; stop leaning so heavily on the power of litigation; realize that EDF staff are not special just because they had a high undergrad GPA; get some real knowledge of the inner workings of critical agencies.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-06-30
  5. "No upward mobility for lower to middle management positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great mission and a CEO who is well respected everywhere - Great for work life balance with generous vacation and sick leave and 35 hr work weeks. - Really, really smart colleagues all over the country and world and an invigorating work atmosphere - a lot of conference and meeting opportunities for those who like to travel and network - Benefits are much better than anywhere else I have worked

    Cons

    - EDF is top heavy with more at leadership position than other places - Seems like people in higher positions get promoted more than those in lower and middle positions - Pay is ok for an NGO but big disparity from top to bottom

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-05-02
  6. "Great organization with passionate people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Vice President in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Integrity and commitment to science and realistic policies that work. Great culture with passionate and devoted staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes a little too serious and rational.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-04-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The smartest team you'll ever work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    EDF is well resourced and laser focused on delivering results. My coworkers were some of the smartest and most dedicated people I've ever met. Their commitment to win-win solutions and science-based methods is really inspiring.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to see an actual career path there. In part, this is because people stay there for decades, which is really a compliment. At the same time, many people have to leave the organization for a while and return at a higher position.

    Advice to Management

    Diversity, equity, and inclusion need to take a more central role in hiring, outreach, and overall strategy.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-04-16
  8. "Great company with friendly culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good facilities, culture, and after-work opportunities

    Cons

    some disorganization, similar ideology among employees

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-02-25
  9. "Extremely top heavy hierarchical organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New York Office in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great central location, newly renovated office space. Some genuine colleagues that care about the environment. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Very high turnover from the Executive team on down. Prominent nepotism, cliquish & uninviting work environment, lack opportunities for professional development within the org.

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-02-27
  10. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Defense Fund full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inspiring mission and dedicated colleagues

    Cons

    With organizational growth comes some growing pains

    Environmental Defense Fund2019-02-10
Found 109 reviews