Environmental Law and Policy Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Environmental Law and Policy Center Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Environmental Law and Policy Center CEO Howard A. Learner (no image)
Howard A. Learner
6 Ratings
  1. "Great summer internship, you won't be bored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Policy Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Frequent assignments to keep busy but not overly stressful Adds on extra work for interns during the summer, so you won't be running for coffee or looking for work Fantastic staff, lovely people who are happy to offer advice and guidance

    Cons

    Internship pay is low, aim to have another job or an outside scholarship

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2019-09-29
  2. "Excellent work environment to gain experience in environmental fields"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center for less than a year

    Pros

    - Almost all staff members were welcoming, approachable, and valued the contributions of the interns - Although we had to do some repetitive internship tasks, we also got to work on projects related to our specific fields and interests - Gained a broad overview of the different environmental issues the ELPC work on and the different angles of approaching environmental advocacy - The internship included networking... and professional growth events

    Show More

    Cons

    - Day-to-day tasks could become slightly repetitive

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2019-09-24
  3. "Policy Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Policy Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good exposure to a wide variety of fields and projects in environmental policy sector - Great team - Allows you to work on multiple projects and feel like a real contributor

    Cons

    - I had a pretty positive experience, however the pay for interns is really quite sad.

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2018-11-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, I found that you are going to dive into many different topics (all environmentally-related). This will allow you to learn about a variety of projects they are working on, which is what you want as an intern. I learned a lot about state governance and politics, which was great because of how important local politics is. The people who work there are always willing to help and talk about whatever... issue they are working on, which allows you to learn a lot. Most of the people who work there are very friendly making coming into work an enjoyable experience. The kitchen always had snacks that anyone can take - great for college students and interns who aren't paid.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the work will seem pretty menial - spent a lot of time just calling people to ask the same questions and add to an ever-growing excel sheet. However, I did not mind this too much because I was always comforted by knowing that the information I gathered would be put to good use. May sometimes feel like what you are doing doesn't matter. You rarely see the positives of what your work will do. Though, I had... fantastic supervisors who gave a lot of positive reinforcement and helped to motivate me to keep working.

    Show More
    Environmental Law and Policy Center2018-04-05
  5. "Great place, great people, critical issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Law and Policy Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ELPC's staff members are almost without exception brilliant, incredibly dedicated to their work, and compassionate on a personal level.

    Cons

    Improving public policy is never easy, and the Trump Administration is doing everything they can to thwart our work.

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2017-12-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Energy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Environmental Law and Policy Center

    Pros

    Nice people, helpful and supportive environment.

    Cons

    So far there have not been any cons to this job! Perhaps the office could use a few upgrades but not so important...

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2016-12-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Prefer not to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brilliant, dedicated people work there. Nice office. Good benefits. Interesting work.

    Cons

    Executive Director is the one and only con, and he's a very big con. He attempts to manage every aspect of every one of the ~40 employees work, which simply doesn't work logistically. The sheer quantity of people and projects makes it impossible for him to do anything but breeze in and out, leaving no room to properly understand complex matters before he inevitably dictates actions with zero room for discussion.... He does not welcome discussion of any kind, seeing any question or input as a threat to his absolute authority. Any idea that's not his is immediately rejected. Anyone who pushes back is mocked. He creates a hostile work environment for women, young people, people of color, and people without law degrees by belittling their opinions, mocking their ideas, ignoring their presence, forgetting their names, and denying them access to opportunities. He refuses to acknowledge an incredibly high turn-over rate and a unforgivable lack of diversity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Board needs to step in and address the long-standing issues that the executive director causes.

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2016-11-21
  8. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center

    Pros

    The atmosphere at the ELPC made it a fantastic place for an internship. It was relatively relaxed while also providing me with plenty of work. It also introduced me to the broad range of environmental topics.

    Cons

    The internship "types" (i.e. legal, marketing, etc.) were fairly compartmentalized. It would have been nice to learn more about what the other practices work on.

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2016-11-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well-respected attorneys. Working as an attorney at ELPC is a great door-opener.

    Cons

    Somewhat organized. No neutral body (human resources) for complaints or grievances.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more freedom to your attorneys and staff and believe that they are competent and intelligent enough to do their jobs well.

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2016-01-06
  10. "Great internship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Environmental Law and Policy Center

    Pros

    Interns get to do interesting work and work directly with some of the higher up staff. Everyone is very smart and friendly. The office itself is also great.

    Cons

    Interns are not paid, which can be a problem for many. However, the experience is valuable. Otherwise, none really.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Environmental Law and Policy Center2015-07-12
Found 15 reviews