Environmental Science Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Environmental Science Associates Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Environmental Science Associates CEO Leslie Moulton-Post
Leslie Moulton-Post
3 Ratings
  1. "Terrific Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates

    Pros

    Team-oriented and sound management. Very transparent.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Environmental Science Associates2018-10-09
  2. "Associate Level III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, employee owned, flexible schedules, diversity of projects.

    Cons

    Limited career growth within certain departments, and limited training for emerging leaders within the company

    Advice to Management

    Develop talent from within, and promote a culture of growth and development for junior staff.

    Environmental Science Associates2018-08-27
  3. "Flexible, Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time

    Pros

    This is a great place to get your start in CEQA and environmental consulting. This company is very employee forward, looking to help develop your career.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve for entry positions. And some project managers are not always willing to help teach or mentor the new employees. However, there are enough that are willing to teach that it isn't really a con.

    Environmental Science Associates2018-07-23
  4. "Great company. Very loyal and willing to mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are awesome, family friendly, and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Need to meet utilization goals

    Environmental Science Associates2017-09-22
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, I actually enjoy coming to work.

    Cons

    Mentoring could be a little better.

    Environmental Science Associates2017-08-18
  6. "Awesome Place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate II 

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates

    Pros

    Family Like atmosphere. Free food! Happy hour. Fulfilling work.:D

    Cons

    Nothing I could think of.

    Environmental Science Associates2016-10-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work schedule is flexible, and good location

    Cons

    management changes within the last 7 months

    Environmental Science Associates2016-05-12
  8. "Busy, interesting, innovative, unique, and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates

    Pros

    Interesting projects, good community, opportunities to collaborate with wide range of disciplines

    Cons

    High targets, large management structure, somewhat political

    Advice to Management

    Doing a good job, but sometimes do a poor job of communicating

    Environmental Science Associates2015-04-01
  9. "Very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance and opportunity to work with smart individuals who know the industry.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of my job, the long hours can be hard at times.

    Advice to Management

    Taking more time to sit down one-on-one with your staff to find out what they are interested in pursuing and not necessarily during review time.

    Environmental Science Associates2014-09-18
  10. "Great benefits and pay, tough day to day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Managing Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Environmental Science Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good Pay is better than other places and more equitable Really try to value diversity Amazing project management training Lots of great coworkers Employee owned Willingness to take some risks in hiring people

    Cons

    Surprisingly enough... not a lot of industry recognition Bureaucratic Silo’d work Unhealthy working styles are encouraged (procrastination, overloading jr staff, checking in on vacation) Too much turnover and not enough being done to address Lots of negative talk about ex-employees and talking behind others’ backs. Hiring of people without having the workload right away makes some people spend months trying... to fill time until workload shows up

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less emphasis on utilization and more on workload and backlog.

    Environmental Science Associates2019-08-19
Found 46 reviews