Cover image for Enviva
Logo

Enviva

Engaged Employer

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Director Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 16 of over 166 reviews
2.5
37% Recommend to a Friend
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
54% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 166 reviews

2.5
37%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Job With a Purpose

    Jun 10, 2022 - Director Operational Excellence in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rapidly growing business that is having a direct and positive impact on improving the environment. Many opportunities for career advancement. Great compensation package!

    Cons

    Rapid business growth and pressure to meet customer volume demand creates a demanding environment that requires workers to have high personal accountability traits and "grit". I honestly don't see this as a negative -- but it does increase the difficulty of sourcing great talent that can handle the day-to-day tasks while developing the systems and processes to continually improve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The worst company I have ever worked in!

    Oct 9, 2022 - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can’t name any pros for Enviva other than saying that they are making money and growing at the moment but the moment they start having competition in the wood pellet industry, the company is going to collapse or face extreme financial difficulties unless they start making serious changes, starting with firing the whole executive team (CEO, et all) and the two top layers of senior leadership below the executive team since they are the main source of Enviva’s problems.

    Cons

    - worst company culture I have ever witnessed - a culture of name calling on daily basis. some that I have personally witnessed, include: stupid, idiot, moron and much worse profanities that I cannot include here due to Glassdoor’s policy. You have to understand that I didn’t witness these disrespectful comments in a construction site, NO! These words were used in extremely Formal meetings with the CEO, COO, CFO, SVPs, VPs, directors and other senior leadership team of the company. - A culture of belittling employees by senior management - A culture of constant blaming the employees and finger pointing by senior management - In this company the senior management calls “name calling, disrespecting, blaming, belittling and - extremely Incompetent executive and senior leadership - absolutely no work/life balance - absolutely no respect for employees personal goals and interests - I can name many more cons, but I think I have made my point with the above …

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Enviva team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    STAY AWAY

    Aug 22, 2022 - Sr. accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing positive came from this employer

    Cons

    Poor management, no support, no work like balance. Nasty place to work, feces be on the work floor bugs crawling up wall in the office. Very racist towards black people.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Just not a great place to work

    Mar 1, 2022 - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    compensation is the only pro

    Cons

    daily expectation to work overtime leadership is rude to staff only give lip service to company values

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away from Enviva!

    Dec 24, 2021 - Controller 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good local people to work with.

    Cons

    Management for Enviva manages by fear, intimidation, threats and literally cursing people out especially those over production or those like maintenance who need to get something fixed and they are under the gun to get it done so production can resume. It was a few years ago I was there but still horrified by how they treat people. It is not like a normal American company and more like a third world country conpany that treats their employees like dogs and expect them to stay. Stay far away from Enviva. Horrible corp. culture and values.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Growth Company Getting Better

    Sep 20, 2021 - IT Manager, Infrastructure and Security Operations in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People Benefits Opportunity for growth Ability to create what doesn't already exist Ability to reform what already does exist Started in May 2019... changes in leadership, Specifically IT leadership have put this company on a better path

    Cons

    Not suited for those who want to coast Learning who does what

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company!

    Aug 12, 2021 - Accountant in Garysburg, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright future and growing company! Really modernizing their IT systems.

    Cons

    Still refining their internal processes and developing their best practices.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    growing fast and disorganized

    Mar 1, 2021 - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good compensation, benefits and growth opportunities

    Cons

    no work life balance; micro-managing executive team

    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Demanding

    Feb 8, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Greenwood, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in a diverse team

    Cons

    over worked, very demanding, little to no guidance on how to do processes until you screw up and are punished.

    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic Culture

    Jan 21, 2021 - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, interesting industry, growth

    Cons

    toxic culture (see all other negative reviews - all true); positive reviews likely posted by HR

    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

Enviva logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Enviva Photos

+ Add Photo
Enviva photo of: Enviva Cottondale
Enviva photo of: Associates at our Cottondale facility
Enviva photo of: Associates at our corporate headquarters
Enviva photo of: At Enviva, our people are our most valuable asset
Enviva photo of: Associates at our Hamlet facility
Enviva photo of: Enviva Hamlet
Enviva photo of: Enviva Headquarters
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Enviva Job Seekers Also Viewed

FM SYSTEMS Logo
FM SYSTEMS

2.0

6 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 166 Enviva reviews submitted anonymously by Enviva employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Enviva is right for you.