KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Enviva

Is this your company?

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Director Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 128 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Growth Company Getting Better

    Sep 20, 2021 - IT Manager, Infrastructure and Security Operations in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People Benefits Opportunity for growth Ability to create what doesn't already exist Ability to reform what already does exist Started in May 2019... changes in leadership, Specifically IT leadership have put this company on a better path

    Cons

    Not suited for those who want to coast Learning who does what

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company!

    Aug 12, 2021 - Accountant in Garysburg, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright future and growing company! Really modernizing their IT systems.

    Cons

    Still refining their internal processes and developing their best practices.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Accept Job with Caution

    Dec 15, 2020 - Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment and not micromanaged. Great benefits. Free lunch often.

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of communication with new policies and procedures, poor training for new hires, and disrespectful management. I originally thought the poor reviews were just angry employees, but they are true. The company is all over the place. Management is very unprofessional. A previous review mentioned management cursing at employees. This is a true statement, as it has been witnessed. Everything is in excel and the ERP system is not as user friendly as most. Controls and policies are not put in place, so tasks are not consistent. If they are put in place, they are not communicated to the team as needed. There is no work life balance. You are expected to work long hours and are made to feel guilty if you leave at a reasonable time.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    growing fast and disorganized

    Mar 1, 2021 - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good compensation, benefits and growth opportunities

    Cons

    no work life balance; micro-managing executive team

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Demanding

    Feb 8, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Greenwood, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in a diverse team

    Cons

    over worked, very demanding, little to no guidance on how to do processes until you screw up and are punished.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Toxic Culture

    Jan 21, 2021 - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, interesting industry, growth

    Cons

    toxic culture (see all other negative reviews - all true); positive reviews likely posted by HR

    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay far away from Enviva!

    Dec 11, 2019 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good sales potential Free Snacks Good rank and file colleagues

    Cons

    Very unprofessional upper management. Witnessed peers being cursed, threatened, intimidated, and work/life balance is non-existant. I have never worked at such a place or even heard of anyone else who worked at such a horrible place. It is an embarrassment for an American company to treat it's employees so poorly. It is a TOXIC environment and this is proven out by the very high employee turnover rate. Also, for accounting, there is a very insufficient and poor ERP system which means you are asked to maintain hundreds of Excel spreadsheets and for them to be perfect. If you accept a job with them you WILL regret it. No one is happy there.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with exciting environment and outlook

    Dec 31, 2019 - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm writing this because after reading the reviews I do not feel that people are getting an accurate balanced overview of what it's like to work at Enviva. Great mission. Leadership that truly wants to make a difference. Nice culture - strong team atmosphere. Really enjoy my colleagues. Leadership and peers that push to make me better. Freedom to try new tactics without fear of failure. Constantly growing. Longterm growth of the company is incredible. Fun domestic and international projects. I actually enjoy coming to work each and every day. Culture that makes me want to give it my best -- pushes me to try harder and execute. My colleagues are nearly all high achievers and it's nice to be in an environment where everyone is really good at what they do. Fast paced environment. Good opportunities for training and advancement. Empathetic colleagues. Great PTO policy. Snacks and free lunch Fridays. Nice location in central Bethesda close to shops and metro and beltway (no DC traffic!). From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board. A management team that is approachable.

    Cons

    Like all growing companies there are hiccups along the way. With growth comes growing pains. Could improve "back office" functions and processes. We have lots of great people but to often it takes an endless email chain for someone to make a decision. Getting approvals at times can be cumbersome. Coordination and communication between teams is often lacking but this is not unusual in a large rapidly growing company. Often we are moving so fast we forget to recognize success and achievements.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Company

    Mar 5, 2020 - Staff Accountant in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Challenging Work. Growing Company. Good Benefits

    Cons

    Typical Growing pains associated with company in new industry

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company in disarray

    Jan 4, 2020 - Regional Finance Director in Cottondale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Local people were great Travel Benefits were good

    Cons

    Executives do not embrace "people are our number one asset" Cold hearted Too much turnover People do not matter Too much top down control - trying to run a medium size company like a mom & pop

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

Enviva logo
or