Enviva Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great company with exciting environment and outlook"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enviva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm writing this because after reading the reviews I do not feel that people are getting an accurate balanced overview of what it's like to work at Enviva. Great mission. Leadership that truly wants to make a difference. Nice culture - strong team atmosphere. Really enjoy my colleagues. Leadership and peers that push to make me better. Freedom to try new tactics without fear of failure. Constantly growing. Longterm growth of the company is incredible. Fun domestic and international projects. I actually enjoy coming to work each and every day. Culture that makes me want to give it my best -- pushes me to try harder and execute. My colleagues are nearly all high achievers and it's nice to be in an environment where everyone is really good at what they do. Fast paced environment. Good opportunities for training and advancement. Empathetic colleagues. Great PTO policy. Snacks and free lunch Fridays. Nice location in central Bethesda close to shops and metro and beltway (no DC traffic!). From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board. A management team that is approachable.

    Cons

    Like all growing companies there are hiccups along the way. With growth comes growing pains. Could improve "back office" functions and processes. We have lots of great people but to often it takes an endless email chain for someone to make a decision. Getting approvals at times can be cumbersome. Coordination and communication between teams is often lacking but this is not unusual in a large rapidly growing company. Often we are moving so fast we forget to recognize success and achievements.

    Continue reading
    Enviva2019-12-31
  2. "."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Faison, NC

    I have been working at Enviva full-time

    Pros

    good money and lots of over time

    Cons

    long hours and lots of plant issues

    Enviva2020-04-24
  3. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Enviva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging Work. Growing Company. Good Benefits

    Cons

    Typical Growing pains associated with company in new industry

    Continue reading
    Enviva2020-03-06
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Company in disarray"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Finance Director in Cottondale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enviva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Local people were great Travel Benefits were good

    Cons

    Executives do not embrace "people are our number one asset" Cold hearted Too much turnover People do not matter Too much top down control - trying to run a medium size company like a mom & pop

    Continue reading
    Enviva2020-01-04
  5. "Great place to work!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Faison, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enviva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing company, great pay, care about their employees. Always looking for talented people.

    Cons

    Sometimes to much overtime!! Shift work!

    Enviva2019-12-04
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Stay far away from Enviva!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enviva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good sales potential Free Snacks Good rank and file colleagues

    Cons

    Very unprofessional upper management. Witnessed peers being cursed, threatened, intimidated, and work/life balance is non-existant. I have never worked at such a place or even heard of anyone else who worked at such a horrible place. It is an embarrassment for an American company to treat it's employees so poorly. It is a TOXIC environment and this is proven out by the very high employee turnover rate. Also, for accounting, there is a very insufficient and poor ERP system which means you are asked to maintain hundreds of Excel spreadsheets and for them to be perfect. If you accept a job with them you WILL regret it. No one is happy there.

    Continue reading
    Enviva2019-12-12
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic work culture with unlimited potential"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Enviva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has relatively good pay and benefits. Business and growth outlook is fantastic. In the main and regional offices plenty of perks including fully loaded (&free) breakrooms. Company also pretty good regarding approving expenses and offering development opportunities. There are also a lot of very talented people there. Most in junior positions looking for their opportunity to advance. Would recommend Enviva only a few select types of people 1) if you are located very close to one of the operating plants and you want to find a job in that rural community AND 2) you do not have a family with children and are able to come into work at the drop of a hat (this applies to pretty much everyone in the company) or 3) you just need to have a job while you look for another job.

    Cons

    Extremely toxic work environment which generally stems from incompetent upper management. Great people are generally marginalized or let go while incompetent favorites quickly advance. While this is somewhat an issue in most companies- I have never seen it to the vast extremes that are present at Enviva. There is very high turnover. Extreme micromanagement coming from the highest levels. Constant phone calls and expectations to work on the weekends and at all hours of the day (and night). Your career path will Enviva not be based upon your hard work, dedication or intelligence but rather if you can avoid being blamed. Everyone who can leave does leave unless their compensation is so high it can’t be matched in the current job market. Can be long commutes based upon work location.

    Continue reading
    Enviva2019-10-03
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Another Company Failure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Panama City, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Enviva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at the project and plant level are great

    Cons

    This is a classic example of the modern failure of companies. Management has empowered a bunch of inexperienced MBA finance people to run their projects in upper management Because they have been empowered by title and position, they are being told they know more than the people at the project level They don’t

    Continue reading
    Enviva2019-10-31
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Chaotic managenent"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Enviva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, snacks, free lunches.

    Cons

    Management is a disaster. No respect from upper management

    Enviva2019-08-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Major Growth Ahead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Enviva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opinions are valued -Strong drive towards a sustainable future -Mission driven -Stable future

    Cons

    -Growth comes with a lot of change -Systems are not up to date

    Enviva2019-08-15
Found 84 reviews