KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Enviva

Is this your company?

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 of over 119 reviews

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fast growing company, and growing industry(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unrealistic expectations make work life balance a challenge(in 22 reviews)

  • "No respect from upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad job, repetitive but it’s stable and bring home decent money for the area

      Jul 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work and life balance. Decent pay

      Cons

      Communication among managers isn’t great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst Company in the World

      Jul 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are pretty decent. There are options for many different family situations.

      Cons

      This company cares nothing about the employees. I don't make that comment lightly. I am a 20 year veteran in the industrial field and I can without a shadow of a doubt say that this company should be shut down based on employee relations. They make promises they never keep, they rip people off on owed bonuses and never give the raises they were obligated to give. Their turnover rate at one point was in the 40s and the next year they were highlighting and celebrating an improvement down to like 38 percent. I'm pretty sure the next year they were in the high 40s. That alone is enough said. They just pop up one day and let someone go for no reason. I have seen this on probably 15 occasions. There is no job security at all. I hired in with 32 people, I was there almost 2 years, and by the time they laid me off, there was only 6 people left that I hired in with. Everyone else had been laid off or fired for something stupid. I think only 2 remain now.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work, but things need improving upon at the plant level.

      Jun 16, 2021 - Area Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice place to work at, at the plant level. Team work is awesome, and if you land a job within a plant you will be quickly accepted as part of the team.

      Cons

      Upper management doesn't trust the plant enough to let it make decisions. Work life balance for managers is non existent, I'm attached to my phone on nights, weekends, and holidays even after putting in 55+ hours a week. Hard to move up it seems like. I've been in the same management roll for quite a number of years now, and have felt stuck.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place To Grow Your Career

      Apr 22, 2021 - Middle Manager in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enviva is a fast growing company with lots of opportunity to grow within the company. It's a hard working and disciplined team. You will learn how to execute and how to get things done. Management is intense and usually data driven. They have established a great market position in a growing market and usually make good decisions that lead to growth. You will learn how to stretch yourself and sometimes to do more with less than what you need.

      Cons

      The above could be a pro or a con. Over the years, I've told a lot of candidates to check out the negative reviews of this place before you join. It's not for everyone. If the above pros doesn't appeal to you, don't join. You will not like it and you will burn out. For me, it was great. But it's not for everyone. You need to be internally driven with thick skin and a strong work ethic to get the most out of your time at Enviva.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jul 6, 2021 - Utility Operator I in Lucedale, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family like atmosphere with good benefits

      Cons

      A lot of management eyes looking for someone to do the wrong thing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Look elsewhere

      Jul 12, 2021 - Full Time Employee in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office location, fully stocked kitchens, exposure to global industry

      Cons

      firm's infrastructure not at the level needed for recent growth, management pursues own objectives even if it is at the expense of the greater good for the company

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management and unachievable expectations

      May 31, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company missions in the green industry, lots of growth ahead.

      Cons

      Poor management, unkept promises from management with regards to pay and bonuses.. No work life balance, it’s all about the company, it’s image and making pellets. No mentorship or growth opportunities, horrendous percsonnel turnover.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company I ever worked for

      May 26, 2021 - Manager in Hamlet, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits, making a product that truly benefits the world!

      Cons

      Hot in the summer time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      There is no soul

      Jun 15, 2021 - Manager in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product Co-workers (except most are now leaving) New office building with nice perks (work space leaves a lot to be desired)

      Cons

      It has been said before: No work/life balance. You are expected to be available 24/7 Toxic culture Upper management cares only about themselves No recognition for projects successfully completed

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Challenge and Growth

      Apr 29, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing company, Fast paced, Many opportunities to advance your career

      Cons

      Operations can be disjointed and the culture leans towards an iron fist approach stemming from leadership level and flows throughout individual facilities. Not always a negative, just go in with eyes open.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 115 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

    Enviva logo
    or