KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Enviva

Is this your company?

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 of over 128 reviews

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fast growing company, and growing industry(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unrealistic expectations make work life balance a challenge(in 22 reviews)

  • "No respect from upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Growth Company Getting Better

      Sep 20, 2021 - IT Manager, Infrastructure and Security Operations in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People Benefits Opportunity for growth Ability to create what doesn't already exist Ability to reform what already does exist Started in May 2019... changes in leadership, Specifically IT leadership have put this company on a better path

      Cons

      Not suited for those who want to coast Learning who does what

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company!

      Aug 12, 2021 - Accountant in Garysburg, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bright future and growing company! Really modernizing their IT systems.

      Cons

      Still refining their internal processes and developing their best practices.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad job, repetitive but it’s stable and bring home decent money for the area

      Jul 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work and life balance. Decent pay

      Cons

      Communication among managers isn’t great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jul 6, 2021 - Utility Operator I in Lucedale, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family like atmosphere with good benefits

      Cons

      A lot of management eyes looking for someone to do the wrong thing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best company I ever worked for

      May 26, 2021 - Manager in Hamlet, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits, making a product that truly benefits the world!

      Cons

      Hot in the summer time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place To Grow Your Career

      Apr 22, 2021 - Middle Manager in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enviva is a fast growing company with lots of opportunity to grow within the company. It's a hard working and disciplined team. You will learn how to execute and how to get things done. Management is intense and usually data driven. They have established a great market position in a growing market and usually make good decisions that lead to growth. You will learn how to stretch yourself and sometimes to do more with less than what you need.

      Cons

      The above could be a pro or a con. Over the years, I've told a lot of candidates to check out the negative reviews of this place before you join. It's not for everyone. If the above pros doesn't appeal to you, don't join. You will not like it and you will burn out. For me, it was great. But it's not for everyone. You need to be internally driven with thick skin and a strong work ethic to get the most out of your time at Enviva.

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Apr 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-driven and dedicated colleagues, clear accountability for results. Renewable energy company working hard to solve the climate crisis.

      Cons

      Rapidly growing company with the standard growing pains (around process and etc.) typically associated with scaling very quickly.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 9, 2021 - Heavy Equipment Operator in Cottondale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great money and atmosphere at home

      Cons

      A lot of hours but deal with it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Motivating Culture and Pay for Performance

      Oct 13, 2020 - Executive Assistant in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have never worked for a company that holds so true to it's values. Keeping promises, determined to make a difference, acting with integrity, and openness/respect. Although we've been around for over a decade, you never hear people say 'this is how we've always done it', it truly feels like working for a multi million dollar startup. Always growing, always changing, but still the work life balance I've found here has been far better than the past three large global brands I've worked for in my career. Most employees have families, and are passionate about climate change, which both add to a positive work environment in my opinion. With that said, I am definitely a go-getter and appreciate our pay for performance structure. There is always more to be done and I appreciate the ability to move up in the organization. From what I've seen, we seem to promote from within often and that is encouraging.

      Cons

      The biomass market is a very specific industry and the HQ is based in Bethesda MD. I happen to love Bethesda and enjoy our line of work, but the only con I can see of working here would be the niche industry if it's not your cup of tea.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company with exciting environment and outlook

      Dec 31, 2019 - Director in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm writing this because after reading the reviews I do not feel that people are getting an accurate balanced overview of what it's like to work at Enviva. Great mission. Leadership that truly wants to make a difference. Nice culture - strong team atmosphere. Really enjoy my colleagues. Leadership and peers that push to make me better. Freedom to try new tactics without fear of failure. Constantly growing. Longterm growth of the company is incredible. Fun domestic and international projects. I actually enjoy coming to work each and every day. Culture that makes me want to give it my best -- pushes me to try harder and execute. My colleagues are nearly all high achievers and it's nice to be in an environment where everyone is really good at what they do. Fast paced environment. Good opportunities for training and advancement. Empathetic colleagues. Great PTO policy. Snacks and free lunch Fridays. Nice location in central Bethesda close to shops and metro and beltway (no DC traffic!). From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board. A management team that is approachable.

      Cons

      Like all growing companies there are hiccups along the way. With growth comes growing pains. Could improve "back office" functions and processes. We have lots of great people but to often it takes an endless email chain for someone to make a decision. Getting approvals at times can be cumbersome. Coordination and communication between teams is often lacking but this is not unusual in a large rapidly growing company. Often we are moving so fast we forget to recognize success and achievements.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

    Enviva logo
    or