KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Enviva

Is this your company?

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Employee Reviews about "growing company"

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 125 reviews

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fast growing company, and growing industry(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unrealistic expectations make work life balance a challenge(in 22 reviews)

  • "No respect from upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "growing company"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company with exciting environment and outlook

      Dec 31, 2019 - Director in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm writing this because after reading the reviews I do not feel that people are getting an accurate balanced overview of what it's like to work at Enviva. Great mission. Leadership that truly wants to make a difference. Nice culture - strong team atmosphere. Really enjoy my colleagues. Leadership and peers that push to make me better. Freedom to try new tactics without fear of failure. Constantly growing. Longterm growth of the company is incredible. Fun domestic and international projects. I actually enjoy coming to work each and every day. Culture that makes me want to give it my best -- pushes me to try harder and execute. My colleagues are nearly all high achievers and it's nice to be in an environment where everyone is really good at what they do. Fast paced environment. Good opportunities for training and advancement. Empathetic colleagues. Great PTO policy. Snacks and free lunch Fridays. Nice location in central Bethesda close to shops and metro and beltway (no DC traffic!). From what I can tell pretty good benefits across the board. A management team that is approachable.

      Cons

      Like all growing companies there are hiccups along the way. With growth comes growing pains. Could improve "back office" functions and processes. We have lots of great people but to often it takes an endless email chain for someone to make a decision. Getting approvals at times can be cumbersome. Coordination and communication between teams is often lacking but this is not unusual in a large rapidly growing company. Often we are moving so fast we forget to recognize success and achievements.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Mar 5, 2020 - Staff Accountant in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging Work. Growing Company. Good Benefits

      Cons

      Typical Growing pains associated with company in new industry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!!

      Dec 4, 2019 - Supervisor in Faison, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing company, great pay, care about their employees. Always looking for talented people.

      Cons

      Sometimes to much overtime!! Shift work!

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Working Environment

      Jun 22, 2019 - Financial Analyst in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast growing company, and growing industry. Very respectful and talented people,

      Cons

      Still adapting new technologies and systems, transition is hard yet so worth it.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Poor Reviews are 99% Correct

      Jul 3, 2019 - Projects in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enviva is a growing company, and they seem to have little market competition for the space they're in. As long as political headwinds don't change, or significant technological advancements don't disrupt their market, they've set themselves up for the next 15-20 years or more. Plenty of free food and snacks. Company provided vehicle for high travel employees.

      Cons

      Whatever the Pros are, they are significantly outweighed by the Cons. The most serious downside is upper management, especially that over Operations. They have high turnover for a reason. The several mentions of long working hours and poor work / life balance are here for a reason. There are plenty of other, much larger, 24/7 industrial companies that don't struggle like this. Yes, they pay pretty well. Other companies pay just as well and better. Why does upper management perform poorly? They overwhelmingly come from industries dissimilar to Enviva's core business, and their logic and decision making strategies don't align with what the company actually does. The plant's are not assembly lines, but management wants them run that way. Everyone is learning on the fly what it means to run a processing company, but instead of acknowledging their failures and changing course, it's as though they dig their heels in deeper. Despite several fancy business degrees running around the company, they've not yet been able to correct what all these reviews over several years have repeatedly said. I don't think management is stupid. I think they're arrogant. I saw many dedicated, hard working individuals get openly and publicly maligned and defamed by management. There are still several good people working here, and I firmly believe that if the CEO and the board did a major shakeup with upper management, Enviva would see tremendous growth.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to be able to make valued contributions!

      Apr 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Enviva for about a year-and-a-half, and love it! Don’t get me wrong, we work hard, and sometimes that means some late nights or a weekend, but it’s so rewarding to be able to contribute to a fast-growing company that is also doing good for the environment. I enjoy my colleagues, and feel appreciated for my contributions and role. As with most fast-growing companies, there are plenty of processes to fix and areas we can improve, but to me, this means… I won’t get bored and I can help make things better, which are key aspects that keep me engaged in a job. I feel supported by upper management, all of whom are committed to growing the company and improving our operations at the same time. I look forward to continuing to helping the company grow and through that, contributing to the environment as well.

      Cons

      We work hard, but if you see an opportunity for change or improvement, speak up... questioning whether we're doing things the right way and providing suggestions for improvement are appreciated and valued.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Toxic Nasty Environment - Reflects Leaders Style

      May 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, benefits, co-workers,snacks and coffee

      Cons

      Leadership absolutely does NOT walk their talk. Excellent spin doctors. Salaries at top are over compensated for size of company. Unprofessional treatment of professionals. ALL decisions go through the CEO. Unable to delegate authority and manages through fear and intimidation. HR weak and led by inexperienced puppet of CEO. Arrogance pervades the senior staff and deaf to suggestions. Proof is extremely high turnover rate. Odd for a growing company that should be offering growth opportunities.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Dynamic Company

      May 30, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast-growing company. Hard work is valued and if you have the attention of management, opportunity for promotion and professional advancement.

      Cons

      C-suite executives are command-and-control micro managers. Make one mistake and you're done.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Quality Manager

      Feb 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing company so lot of options

      Cons

      Work Life balance is terrible

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

    Enviva logo
    or