KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Enviva

Engaged Employer

Enviva

Add a Review

Enviva Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jun 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 162 reviews

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Enviva Chairman and  CEO John Keppler
John Keppler
94 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent Company!!

    Jun 30, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, but flexible for family.

    Cons

    The turnover in upper management Can be frustrating.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    There is no soul

    Jun 15, 2021 - Manager in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product Co-workers (except most are now leaving) New office building with nice perks (work space leaves a lot to be desired)

    Cons

    It has been said before: No work/life balance. You are expected to be available 24/7 Toxic culture Upper management cares only about themselves No recognition for projects successfully completed

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Chaotic managenent

    Aug 27, 2019 - Administrative Assistant in Bethesda, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, snacks, free lunches.

    Cons

    Management is a disaster. No respect from upper management

    10 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Past potential going downhill

    May 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth Competitive pay

    Cons

    Company is growing quickly without strengthening infrastructure. Roles are gaining responsibility without additional compensation or support. If growing within the company, expect to be offered pay that is much lower than what would be offered to an external candidate. Company is more focused on employee recruitment than retention. Additionally, supervisors were instructed to assign low annual reviews in order to reduce bonus payouts. The turnover is very high. Upper management has told employees that they expect workers who will prioritize work and make sacrifices in their personal lives for the job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company to work for

    Jul 26, 2018 - Millwright in Franklin, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good planning of outage days, pm’s are scheduled to where you don’t have to many in 1 day to complete, people are friendly. All around good environment.

    Cons

    Some upper management has a problem of micro managing

    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to be able to make valued contributions!

    Apr 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Enviva for about a year-and-a-half, and love it! Don’t get me wrong, we work hard, and sometimes that means some late nights or a weekend, but it’s so rewarding to be able to contribute to a fast-growing company that is also doing good for the environment. I enjoy my colleagues, and feel appreciated for my contributions and role. As with most fast-growing companies, there are plenty of processes to fix and areas we can improve, but to me, this means… I won’t get bored and I can help make things better, which are key aspects that keep me engaged in a job. I feel supported by upper management, all of whom are committed to growing the company and improving our operations at the same time. I look forward to continuing to helping the company grow and through that, contributing to the environment as well.

    Cons

    We work hard, but if you see an opportunity for change or improvement, speak up... questioning whether we're doing things the right way and providing suggestions for improvement are appreciated and valued.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Poor Reviews are 99% Correct

    Jul 3, 2019 - Projects in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Enviva is a growing company, and they seem to have little market competition for the space they're in. As long as political headwinds don't change, or significant technological advancements don't disrupt their market, they've set themselves up for the next 15-20 years or more. Plenty of free food and snacks. Company provided vehicle for high travel employees.

    Cons

    Whatever the Pros are, they are significantly outweighed by the Cons. The most serious downside is upper management, especially that over Operations. They have high turnover for a reason. The several mentions of long working hours and poor work / life balance are here for a reason. There are plenty of other, much larger, 24/7 industrial companies that don't struggle like this. Yes, they pay pretty well. Other companies pay just as well and better. Why does upper management perform poorly? They overwhelmingly come from industries dissimilar to Enviva's core business, and their logic and decision making strategies don't align with what the company actually does. The plant's are not assembly lines, but management wants them run that way. Everyone is learning on the fly what it means to run a processing company, but instead of acknowledging their failures and changing course, it's as though they dig their heels in deeper. Despite several fancy business degrees running around the company, they've not yet been able to correct what all these reviews over several years have repeatedly said. I don't think management is stupid. I think they're arrogant. I saw many dedicated, hard working individuals get openly and publicly maligned and defamed by management. There are still several good people working here, and I firmly believe that if the CEO and the board did a major shakeup with upper management, Enviva would see tremendous growth.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay far away from Enviva!

    Dec 11, 2019 - Senior Accountant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good sales potential Free Snacks Good rank and file colleagues

    Cons

    Very unprofessional upper management. Witnessed peers being cursed, threatened, intimidated, and work/life balance is non-existant. I have never worked at such a place or even heard of anyone else who worked at such a horrible place. It is an embarrassment for an American company to treat it's employees so poorly. It is a TOXIC environment and this is proven out by the very high employee turnover rate. Also, for accounting, there is a very insufficient and poor ERP system which means you are asked to maintain hundreds of Excel spreadsheets and for them to be perfect. If you accept a job with them you WILL regret it. No one is happy there.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Another Company Failure

    Oct 31, 2019 - Project Manager in Panama City, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at the project and plant level are great

    Cons

    This is a classic example of the modern failure of companies. Management has empowered a bunch of inexperienced MBA finance people to run their projects in upper management Because they have been empowered by title and position, they are being told they know more than the people at the project level They don’t

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good place to work, but things need improving upon at the plant level.

    Jun 16, 2021 - Area Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice place to work at, at the plant level. Team work is awesome, and if you land a job within a plant you will be quickly accepted as part of the team.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't trust the plant enough to let it make decisions. Work life balance for managers is non existent, I'm attached to my phone on nights, weekends, and holidays even after putting in 55+ hours a week. Hard to move up it seems like. I've been in the same management roll for quite a number of years now, and have felt stuck.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Enviva Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Enviva? Share Your Experiences

Enviva logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Enviva Photos

+ Add Photo
Enviva photo of: Enviva Cottondale
Enviva photo of: Associates at our Cottondale facility
Enviva photo of: Associates at our corporate headquarters
Enviva photo of: At Enviva, our people are our most valuable asset
Enviva photo of: Associates at our Hamlet facility
Enviva photo of: Enviva Hamlet
Enviva photo of: Enviva Headquarters
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Enviva Job Seekers Also Viewed

FM SYSTEMS Logo
FM SYSTEMS

2.0

6 Reviews
Compare