Epic Games Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Epic Games CEO Tim Sweeney
Tim Sweeney
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and great people(in 15 reviews)

  • "You work with a cool team, you get free food, you love the work happening(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I have had to crunch occasionally, but nothing compared to other games companies I've worked for(in 12 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance was at times difficult to manage(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent place to work at

      Apr 30, 2021 - Programmer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Unlimited vacation time Good leadership Interesting work

      Cons

      Work hours near deadlines can be sporadically bad.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great teammates, ineffective management

      Mar 30, 2021 - Associate Producer I in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Epic has some of the greatest developer minds in the industry and it's an absolute joy to work with them. Benefits and bonuses are nice, but not worth the cost to your health.

      Cons

      Crunch hours are ridiculous and consistent if you're working on any big, public-facing project. You are always on call. Epic advertises that you have unlimited vacation time (with approval), but good luck getting it approved if you're on a big project. Management moves people around to different teams/projects without asking the employee in question if they want to move. Burnout is rampant. I had a team member who had been working non-stop without a vacation (and on call on the weekends & holidays) through the launch of Fortnite Battle Royale up through the first anniversary of launch. He was so burned out by the end of it that HR dinged him for poor performance and put him on a personal improvement plan -- that did not include a break from all the work. Epic will take everything you have to give and more... and when you're spent and need a break, there's a whole line of people eager to work here and ready to replace you.

      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Onboarding process

      Apr 22, 2021 - Analyst in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is awesome, Colleagues are smart, driven and ambitious. Onboarding process was amongst the best I have ever seen Lot of scope for creative freedom

      Cons

      Normal issues that comes with rapid growth Lack of clear direction (Got to be ridiculously self motivated to finish projects) Conflicting priorities leading to some crunch

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      helpful and people are really nice

      Cons

      get confused easily and hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Software Developer in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome people, amazing games, great compensation.

      Cons

      No cons so far. Love this place.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great engineers, terrible managers

      Apr 23, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really cool products and impact Good perks, great healthcare

      Cons

      Management in cloud services is awful. Disingenuous and predatory practices. Key teams are severely underfunded and pay is way below market so there isn't really an excuse. D&I is ignored as much as possible in engineering You will get burned out and abused until you give up and quit

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Happiest I have ever been working for a company

      Mar 12, 2021 - Senior Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respect, individuality, ownership, support, compensation, culture, work-life-balance

      Cons

      maybe a stronger mentorship and guidance effort for new hires would be of benefit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      developers drive sport cars while It staff could only afford a hundi.

      Apr 20, 2021 - Desktop Support Technician in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you get to play with some neat cool technology

      Cons

      they work you to death I was working 60 hours getting paid for 40

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A meat grinder with a bully culture

      Jan 12, 2021 - Release Manager in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are okay, and there are some genuinely amazing people who work there

      Cons

      Epic Games is the sort of company that looks great if you listen to upper management - they are proponents of rewarding employees and offering good benefits - but underneath it's a meat grinder that enables bullying and abusive behavior. I once worked 30 days straight on crunch and, when I requested time off, I was told it would have to wait because there was too much work to do. The same manager once yelled in my face - the only time I've felt physically threatened in a professional environment. This same manage was allowed to consistently bully me even after I asked HR to intervene. There are a lot of great people who work at Epic, but unfortunately there's an unchecked culture of bullying and exploitation which can make working there a traumatizing experience. I'm not being hyperbolic when I say I have sleight PTSD from working there.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Mar 15, 2021 - Developer Support Engineer in Cary, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair pay, wonderful benefits, great culture

      Cons

      Occasional crunch time, usually voluntary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Epic Games Job Seekers

    Senior Programmer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Epic Games? Share Your Experiences

    Epic Games logo
    or