Epic Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Epic Founder and  CEO Judith R. Faulkner
Judith R. Faulkner
1,489 Ratings
Pros
  • "Madison is a nice mix of big/small and has seasons(in 185 reviews)

  • "Smart people, good pay, cool campus(in 155 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salaries folks have it harder with work/life balance(in 388 reviews)

  • "Upward mobility somewhat limited, long hours(in 219 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, smart co-workers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Epic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The benefits and the collaborative effort to get things done amongst teams.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Epic2020-03-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, but expect long hours"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Technical Solutions Engineer in Verona, WI

    I worked at Epic full-time

    Pros

    Epic has great benefits and amenities like food and your own office.

    Cons

    In order to do well, you need to work at least 50 hour weeks. The work can start to feel very tedious, and working with customers can be very frustrating.

    Epic2020-06-02
  3. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Verona, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, great work, would recommend

    Cons

    No competitive contract for year after leaving company

    Epic2020-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good All-Around Entry-Level Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Services in Verona, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, great salary, comprehensive benefits, some flexibility in work hours. A chance to travel the country on the company dime and learn a lot about the healthcare industry. Overall I had a great time working at Epic and I always tell people about it.

    Cons

    Often like running on a treadmill, very busy dealing with client issues and site visits. You're essentially on call all the time.

    Epic2020-05-29
  5. "Great Post-College Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Developer in Madison, WI
    Recommends

    I worked at Epic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best things about Epic is that literally everyone there is smart and knows how to work hard. That is certainly not the case everywhere, and its one of the things I miss the most. Also, the people that work there tend to have a lot of interests outside Epic, so its easy to find a community.

    Cons

    Many of the managers also have a ton of other commitments, so it can sometimes feel like you're on your own to face difficult problems.

    Continue reading
    Epic2020-06-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company overall"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Madison, WI

    I have been working at Epic full-time

    Pros

    Money, campus, food, healthcare, sometimes good tech/prestigious health organization

    Cons

    Weird overlord feeling culture, high demand hours, cool benefits are only there because of the crazy demands for hours etc.

    Epic2020-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good first post-grad job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Madison, WI
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good salary, incredible co-workers

    Cons

    Stunted growth potential within the role if you don't want to become a manager/team leader.

    Epic2020-05-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard, make money"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get paid well, get a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    You have to work very hard and there’s now limit on hours

    Epic2020-05-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, great beneifts"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Technical Solutions Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company genuinely is working for the greater good. They also care about their employees, giving us great benefits. The work is hard and there's a lot of it, but the hours are somewhat flexible (midday dentist appointment = no sweat).

    Cons

    There seems to be a pretty high burnout and turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Epic2020-05-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Demanding but Rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Verona, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Epic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is very rewarding and you're able to build unique and lasting relationships with customer counterparts.

    Cons

    Epic demands a great deal of its employees. In the project management role, you must be flexible and willing to devote the majority of your time to the job. It's very difficult to find a work-life balance.

    Epic2020-05-21
Found 2361 reviews
</>Embed