Epic "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Epic Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Epic Founder and  CEO Judith R. Faulkner
Judith R. Faulkner
1,504 Ratings
Pros
  • "Madison is an awesome place to live(in 180 reviews)

  • "Good pay (compared to other entry-level IT work)(in 140 reviews)

Cons
  • "I'm giving us a 3/5 work life balance not because there's tons of pressure to work crazy hours(in 368 reviews)

  • "Long hours and high expectations for employees(in 205 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I'll ever work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Verona, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been at Epic for 6 years, working on several teams. Throughout the experience, I've worked with smart, driven people, working together to do something important: make health systems safer and more effective. The campus is full of whimsy and delight, and everyday the cafeterias have a new selection of delicious - and inexpensive! - food. One of the most underrated things about working at Epic is the broad... choice of career path - there are so many projects and initiatives in progress, and I've typically been able to find ways to get involved in that ones I'm most interested in.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's easy to end up working extra hours. Occasionally there's a true escalation or deadline coming up where putting in extra time is truly important. But other times it comes from poor planning or unrealistic expectations. Epic doesn't mind if you work long hours, so it's up to you to advocate for your needs, and tell your manager when their expectations are too high.

    Epic2019-11-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good training opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Epic full-time

    Pros

    Perks, People, food, madison, training

    Cons

    lots of travel, long hours

    Epic2019-11-26
  3. "Long Hours, High Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Epic full-time

    Pros

    You get a lot of responsibility and make an impact at organizations nationwide.

    Cons

    You're expected to work extremely long hours with no options for relief.

    Epic2019-11-06
  4. "Good Benefits, interesting culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Epic full-time

    Pros

    Good health insurance and pay

    Cons

    Expect a lot from employees, long hours.

    Epic2019-10-30
  5. "Epic is not epic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The cafeterias has good food, and the building design is cool. Relaxed dress code.

    Cons

    1. They overwork employees. Many people, including myself, were overworked, and as a result 8-9 hr days were extremely rare. It seemed like the higher position you had the less likely you were to be working long hours. 2. Not many experienced developers. Many of the people at Epic are young (0-3 years experience) and do not have good experience planning out projects step by step. As a first time developer I had... no experience in planning a project. I had very little instruction on creation of the tickets and no one who pointed this out. 3. You will need to be able to stand up for all of "your" decisions. Even if you did not make them. 4. Epic uses old languages. Some languages that they use are MUMPs and VB. 5. They expect the developer to be the UI designer. On the project I worked on, my front end went through more than three large ui changes after it had already been approved and created. 6. They say they are open about the internal changes of the company, but when I was there they changed some of the rules and only told us about the ones people would like at the all Epic meeting. Looking back now I can remember multiple times this kind of thing happened. 7. You will need to be able to estimate the amount of time a project will take. Without experience this is very difficult. 8. You must move to Wisconsin. This may not be a problem for some people, but as someone from the south, the winters felt really long and the days were short.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask why you have a moving bonus contract for developers. How do you actually fix the problem that this moving contract "solved". Try and find experienced developers, don't expect people who are new to have the same skills as a developer who has worked for more than 5 years.

    Epic2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work with good benefits and a lot of variety and autonomy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Verona, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked in retail, hospital, and home infusion pharmacy. Working at a software company was a change, but I love it. My work effects patients around the world and I get to collaborate with some of the industries greatest minds and clinicians. The atmosphere at Epic is collaborative and friendly. It is a great place to work and to grow professionally. I have a lot of autonomy to complete the work that I... need to do, as long as the quality is good and it is done in a timely fashion. Epic hires smart people and trusts that they will do the right thing, but makes sure you have the guidance you need to learn your role.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working at Epic is not an "easy" job. We are expected to work hard and be available when needed. That does not always mean long hours, but it does mean a commitment of your time and a work ethic to be there when needed. That is sometimes balanced by being able to take time when you need it. As Epic has gotten bigger the amount of guidelines have also increased, although they are still less than most other... companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whenever possible point out specific issues that need to be fixed instead of making more general policies to fix issues. This was done better when Epic was smaller, but has become harder as we have grown.

    Epic2019-07-30
  7. "Great coworkers but no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Quality Assurance Tester in Verona, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Epic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for learning/growth Surrounded by bright people Ability to get involved with events/responsibilities outside of your role People are usually very helpful - "open-door policy" Fast-paced environment Set your own schedule Cool campus Amazing food at a discounted price Healthcare benefits

    Cons

    Absolutely no work/life balance - never-ending pile of work, and your reward for working long hours to get caught up is to be given work your coworkers don't have time for QA doesn't get paid/respected like the other professional roles (IS/TS/R&D) Too many processes lead to more time spent documenting/justifying what you did than actually doing your testing Stats-driven culture - quantity is monitored more... than quality/non-quantifiable contributions

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Burn-out is a real problem and the people who know what they're doing also know they can get better opportunities elsewhere. Cut back on promises to customers and amount of work expected in a given release and I can guarantee all the teams will put out better work - across roles.

    Epic2019-07-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Tough but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good base pay -Excellent job experience -Enhances both abstract and technical problem solving skills

    Cons

    -Pretty long hours -Variety of tasks/projects can make it hard to focus on a single path

    Epic2019-06-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good company doing some cool stuff, stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at epic you quickly are given a lot of responsibility and opportunity, with very good pay for most positions. There are some really smart people working at epic. The company tries to teach ethical culture, and to put the patient first. Some nice perks are the relaxed dressed code, single or double offices, great food. Health insurance is pretty good. The campus is pretty neat, though you spend most of your... time in offices or meeting rooms. Also they mostly hire straight out of college, so if you are young there will be lots of people your age.

    Show More

    Cons

    With lots of responsibility can be lots of stress and long hours. It seemed to be pretty standard practice to assign everyone more work then they could handle, so you have to do a lot of prioritization. Some management is younger and not as experienced.

    Epic2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (8)

    "The Job You Thought Didn't Exist Anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Verona, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Epic hired me with no experience, bachelor's degree in psychology, and trained me from the ground up. I didn't even know how to make my way through an airport solo. (Not that there is a lot of travel with QA; I tend to stick to 2-3 times per year but you can do more.) Immediately I got to see how a place with a lot of resources and solid principles can get things done, and well. I got to work on important software... right away and have always felt my work was important. I have the freedom to concentrate on doing my job well instead of dealing with processes that make no sense or trying to find the resources I need. I work with interesting and intelligent people from all around the world. I get excellent pay and benefits, a raise every year, sabbaticals, stock options, the works. When I go to a meeting across campus I can ride a cow-patterned bike to get there, through beautiful gardens. We are powered almost completely by geothermal and wind power. I make more than triple what I made when I started 14 years ago. I've had all excellent team leaders who care about me (and I've been through something like 8 by now). I only had one bad experience with a team lead in 14 years and even that person taught me valuable skills I continue to use. I've been able to save up and take off a lot of time after each of my two kids (12 weeks full time, 12 additional weeks of working half time), and I've been able to manage my workload since then to support a healthy work/life balance and spend plenty of time with them. Not to mention I've been able to support my family, including a spouse who is mostly at home with them, and buy a house. In a nutshell, I have the stability that many in my generation dream of and I can pursue family life, community life and other interests without stress of paying the bills of planing for my financial future. Through staff meetings and customer conferences I get plenty of insight into the big picture that I'm a part of. I've built skills in project management, time management, coaching, automated testing, coding, and more. I've found QA to be a good job for someone like me who is outgoing and likes some interaction with others during the day, but doesn't want people to be the crux of her work- I like having time to close my door and work on something that has no emotions :), and I also love getting to work together with my awesome coworkers. I met my husband here and many friends. When I had my first baby I had something like 10 coworkers on parental leave at the same time that basically made up our own mommy group. You can find a lot of community here. If you're interested in eventually being a software developer you can take courses through the UW while working here and move up to R&D if you want. I also know QA who have transitioned to technical support roles. Every year you get to pick charities to send money to. There are lots of volunteer groups, interest groups, opportunities to travel with your coworkers. Probably more pros that I'm not thinking of.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a big place. It feels smaller than it is, but it's still big. That means I sometimes feel more anonymous than I want to. Epic has a very distinctive culture and while this is what allows for our success and makes my day to day better, sometimes it can feel kool-aid-ish, or not transparent enough, for example I do think it cuts down on the drama considerably that we don't share salaries with each other, but that... means we just have to trust that it's all fair and without bias which is a lot to ask, and if you suspect you're not being compensated fairly (as has happened to one coworker I know) it is hard to get any changes to happen since your boss doesn't know what you make. I've also never been able to get anyone else hired here so there's a feeling of "what are they doing wrong? I should have some idea since I work here but I don't." From what I know of HR we usually are using very good processes for avoiding bias but this is not well known and hard to find out. We do not have enough female developers or black employees in general although this is slooooowly changing. Most employees are in their 20s, so it can feel a little lonely to be in your 30's+ like me; I do have a lot of other parents here and plenty of coworkers who I started with, but since we are always growing there's always lots of coworkers right out of college. This is a plus in many ways as they are smart and teach me new things and also I learn the latest slang and fashion :) and they bring new ideas so that we are always improving instead of being stuck in "this is the way it's done" land, but there are times I'm jealous of people who work with people of a wider variety of ages so I could get advice from parents of older kids, learn from people who've done my job for a long time, etc. I also am always jealous of workplaces that have office parties with alcohol; although it is a good thing for many reasons, we don't ever have any alcohol at any functions here. Other cons: It can be a very high pressure atmosphere at times and when I was newer I felt the need to work long hours and felt a lot of stress. It took awhile to realize I could say no and wouldn't get fired, and I'm not sure that everybody has the same experience with that; I think it varies by role since those closer to customers will have to respond quickly to events as they unfold, and in QA we know an escalation is coming before the work hits us (developers have to code it first.). Epic hires people who care and people who care will work themselves like a dog for things that are important, and almost all the work here is important and it's continuous. So you have to figure out how to set reasonable limits for yourself and what strategies to use to defer or delegate work when you have too much. Luckily Epic has lots of resources for learning these techniques. I have always had good team leads but not everyone I know has had a totally positive experience with that, and the quality of your team lead can have a big effect on your experience at work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on improving transparency of operations. Progress has been made but there's still room to grow. Find a way to increase confidence in our compensation model like having an independent third party do regular reviews and having a way that a person can compare what they are making to people of similar tenure and position so that if they are way below average they can find out and figure out what they can do... about that. Keep beefing up resources for employees of color and let's get some programs to support our female developers as well.

    Show More
    Epic2019-05-07
Found 205 reviews
</>Embed