Equinix Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Equinix President and CEO Charles Meyers
Charles Meyers
361 Ratings
Pros
  • "Healthy work/life balance is encouraged(in 47 reviews)

  • "An innovative company with a truly supportive work environment(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work Life balance can be challenging(in 39 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced work environment(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Equinix and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Magical company

      Jul 24, 2020 - Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In a varied career this is the best place I have ever worked. Genuinely care about customers, employees and communities. We don't always get it right but we try really hard to do our best and make it better. A real family feeling from a large corporate business is a magical thing. I am proud to say I work for Equinix. You might never have heard of us but if you're connected to the internet in anyway then we almost certainly power some of your day through the customers who use our data centres and the interconnection we provide.

      Cons

      With strong growth comes inevitable change. If you want a steady job that won't change then this is not for you. If you aren't passionate about your community, inside and outside of work, this probably isn't the place for you.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      World's Leading Digital Infrastructure Company

      May 13, 2021 - Manager, Business Analysis in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High Growth, Global Market Leader, Competitive teams, Generous ESPP and RSU programs

      Cons

      Some teams can loose focus at times, to gain/retain credit

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An Exceptional Company to Work for

      Apr 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I consider myself very fortunate to work for such a great organization. To start, upper management and the C-Level truly care about their employees well being. They instituted “Better Way Day Wednesdays” as a day to avoid internal Zoom calls when possible so employees can get a bit of a breather on “Zoom fatigue” and catch up on other work tasks like training that they’ve been meaning to do. One of the best things I love about Equinix is their continuing efforts to innovate and make smart investments in the platform. They are truly a technology driven organization and have a positive impact on their customers, employees, stakeholders and frankly the world. Another differentiator is everyone’s positive attitude. At other places I’ve worked, their was always negativity and disgruntled workers. Here everyone is happy about working for a such a great organization and it’s rare, if at all to come across an unhappy employee. Everyone is also so willing to lend their support at a moments notice. As far as I’m concerned I want to complete my career out at Equinix.

      Cons

      Hard to think of any, but maybe they can soon relax some of COVID rules currently in effect like allowing more people in the office and conference rooms.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Lack of leadership in Marketing

      Apr 11, 2021 - Marketing Executive in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good, and the line workers are nice. The business is solid.

      Cons

      Good people are quitting every week. There are big departures across Marketing due to lack of leadership. People are not recognized for their work or value. Perhaps most unsettling for me was that there was zero interest in diversifying the leadership team. Perhaps emboldened by the CEO who posts Biblical verse on LinkedIn and promoted his political allies after winning the CEO job, there was zero indication anything was ever going to change. There are lots of calls and pretty messages about diversity, but the reality was truly ugly. Also concerning was the fact that there was zero vision in Marketing. Nothing that excited me, and no view what so ever of where marketing was going, why and what we were going to do about it. So I left and am much happier.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Frustrating

      Mar 15, 2021 - Web Developer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good, benefits are good, and the company is very tolerant of where and when you work.

      Cons

      In this company it is 100% top down, anyone who is a functional lead or not a director is relegated doing the grunt work, fixing process, and getting no credit for it in return. Marketing’s management struggle to understand what user experience means, even thinking that a new CMS system would remove the need for a design team. Often, Management undermines project scope, direction, and feedback from the design, content, and development functional experts. Management is notorious for responding to teams and functional leads with “let me look into that and I’ll get back to you” only to never get back to them. It’s common to see teams produce less than professional work only to have their manager receive promotions, this further alienates anyone with a lower title. Cross-functional work is super frustrating with management often creating toxic working relationships for functional teams. Lastly, management hires other management without including the teams they will work with, simply “here is your new manager”. There are two directions at Equinix, move up by stepping on others or exiting the company after being frustrated and ignored.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Would love to say the positives, but there are none sadly

      Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary/stock, aligned with the market rate.

      Cons

      The rest of the compensation package is below mediocre at best. A health plan that doesn't cover much, and a rather laughable company match on your 401(k). Upper management keeps getting promoted while associates, devs, and middle management get stuck in their current roles. It is not uncommon to see an associate have the same position for 4-5 years but to see a director reach VP/SVP in the same timeframe. High performers are constantly punished with more work and no rewards. The biggest disadvantage you can have in this company is to be a high-performing middle-level employee. You will never move up, but only burn out.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing company; I'm blessed to work and grow here!

      Oct 1, 2020 - Senior Director, Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I *LOVE* working at Equinix. We have an outstanding culture. Our leaders truly care about employees. Colleagues here are hugely supportive of each other "Put We Before Me" (one of our Magic of Equinix values). We get to do really cool work that matters and has an impact. I can tangibly tie what I'm doing to our companies objectives, it's very satisfying. I get to try lots of new things in marketing, we're *always* innovating. AND, our CEO's "I'm safe, I belong, I matter" value system means I can really be myself here. I can be a senior leader *and* a mother. I don't have to separate those 2 parts of me. Especially during COVID with 2 kids in a house while I'm on zooms, we are all encouraged to do whatever is needed to be ok. Our CEO/CHRO put in a "Wireless Wednesdays" plan to help us all deal with COVID burnout. It has enabled me to get back to critical thinking about my area of the business - when was the last time you got to carve out time every week to do that (or whatever else you need to do in order to cope with the workload/COVID stressors)?!? There's a huge propensity to promote from within - far beyond any other company that I have worked at. My manager is amazing, she values all aspects of me. I love recruiting and telling people just how amazing Equinix is and when they join here they come back and say you really were right about it.

      Cons

      There are no cons. My kids love Equinix too ;-)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The Magic of Equinix: it sounds impossible but is absolutely true

      Oct 13, 2020 - Senior Marketing Manager in Redwood City, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Equinix is a place where I can say, "I'm safe, I belong, I matter," and that sentiment is important and led from the CEO. Executive leadership and everyone on down is encouraged to be open, honest, and communicative. Most places say they have a great culture, but Equinix lives it every day. My co-workers are fantastic, and really know how to come together to support each other. Leadership listens and addresses even the tough parts. They know how to pivot to make life and work better for us all, and aren't afraid to lead. It used to be unusual to get promoted or transferred internally but after complaints, it's now common. I feel like we really do matter, even if we aren't in important meetings or have big titles.

      Cons

      The general feeling at Equinix isn't shared in all departments. Some still have toxic, sabotaging groups like the digital team. I work at headquarters, and it felt like the Facilities team pushed through its longing for an open workspace, even to where they would rig questionnaires worded in a way to make it look like we all loved the idea. Now that going back to the office is even more dangerous, I do worry, but we will probably get the option to stay home more in this virus-laden world.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good Company

      May 8, 2021 - Vice President of Sales in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture for early career hires

      Cons

      Slow to respond to mistakes in decisions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company - awesome leadership team

      Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture - The magic of Equinix values are the at the center of every interaction. Growth - Continuous rollout of new products services, Many Megawatts of new capacity being built every year, Equinx Metal , ECX fabric, Equinix Time, etc...

      Cons

      Regional silos makes scaling the Equinix platform difficult; however, the company is taking actions to address this.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 860 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Equinix Job Seekers

    IBX Network Technician
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Equinix? Share Your Experiences

    or