Equity LifeStyle Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

Equity LifeStyle Properties Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 240 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Equity LifeStyle Properties CEO Marguerite Nader
Marguerite Nader
130 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "upper management could use a refresher course in teaching(in 20 reviews)

  • "The hourly employees can barely afford it on the low pay they give you(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "If everyone is moving forward together, then success takes care of itself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Highly collaborative culture with a true open-door policy. This is a company that is taking the time to listen to their employees and to use what they learn to improve and change.

    Cons

    With a company this size, change takes time. It can also be a challenge to get the word out about programs and opportunities to all members of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication lines open and continue to listen and care about what your employees think.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2018-07-14

    Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

    July 23, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review ELS. We appreciate the feedback!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stable Company, Entrepreneurial Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, focus on innovation, heavy investment in talent, access to senior leadership who listen to new ideas and lots of opportunities to make a difference!

    Cons

    The Company runs lean and is going through a period of evolution. This means there's a lot of work to be done and many competing priorities. The upside to this is the ability to make an impact and learn and develop. Only a downside if you aren't looking for a challenge!

    Advice to Management

    Continue the support and encouragement of your teams as they make ELS and even better place to work.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-13

    Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

    March 19, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    I don't think I could have described ELS better myself! Thank you for the feedback!

  3. "Impressive combination of consistency and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My personal time is valued by my superiors, peers, and direct reports. Team building and customer satisfaction are high priorities and leadership fully comprehends potential impact of success and failure. Everyone strives to consistently improve upon both, with honest dedication to excellence.

    Cons

    A history of quick and poorly made hires/ promotions has created hardship for team members with ability or high potential. Waiting periods are imposed despite occasions where management level team members are identified but were hired at property level rather than recruited through corporate talent acquisition. This may lead quality employees to seek opportunities elsewhere- a great disadvantage and time drain to all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Note- all of my advice was solicited and well received by HR and senior leaders of ELS, with plans to begin implementing sensible and improved policies, procedures, and advanced operating resources. Leaderships takes a unique round table approach to isolating and prioritizing objectives that repeatedly emerge, indicating significant importance to all roles for employee satisfaction. ELS is aware of aforementioned challenges...

    Show More
    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-05-22
  4. "Collaborative Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Wonderful Company with amazing opportunity for growth . Collaborative team environment with amazing support, all ideas are welcomed at any level of the operations team.

    Cons

    I don’t have any at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what your doing .

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-05-18

    Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

    May 20, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree that our collaborative culture is one of our biggest strengths!

  5. "Good company with potential to be great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

    Pros

    Great new talent has been added throughout the organization, in the senior leadership roles, property level management and property level support members.

    Cons

    There are a few legacy employees that are resisting the change which causes change to be slow and at times painful. Historically, the HR department is slow to support moving employees out that don't fit the future. While, the stability is great, it really is not the ideal situation for the employee that really needs to go or the person that is trying to impact change or believes in the new direction.

    Advice to Management

    The vision that the COO has laid out and continues to advocate is being blocked by legacy behaviors. In order to move this company from good to great, the employees that are resisting change need to be moved out faster. As well, there are many practices that occur, because that's how it's always been vs. evaluating what is really necessary vs. what has always occurred.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-05-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Recreation Director 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You get to have fun with the guests through play, carnivals, weekends, parties and events.

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons about this position.

      Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-27

      Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

      March 28, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      We are so glad to hear you are enjoying your position here at ELS!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Ehh."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      -RV parks usually in naturally gorgeous areas and /or near national parks. -Free uniforms

      Cons

      -low pay -rundown facilities -constant policy changes

      Advice to Management

      Less moving the goalposts, more coaching employees how to run the ball.

      Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-04-03

      Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

      April 3, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. In additional to our in-person Management Essentials, Compass and Leadership Summits, we have a large library of online resources for employee learning and development. We will be sure to continue to educate our employees on where ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Trailer Park"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Time off accrues fairly quickly.

      Cons

      The pay is very low and they cut corners. They rig up golf carts to take customers out on that are rusted out and made up of cart parts that they keep in a cart part graveyard. The rats are horrible in the walls of the clubhouses. Management steals sales deals from sales reps. And the big kicker is that they tell you that you will be eligible for 401k and then rip the carpet out from under you by saying "yeah we know...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay better. Don't lie to employees about benefits. Don't steal sales from your sales reps.

      Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-31

      Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

      April 3, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

      At ELS we have a strong safety culture and have implemented many standards to ensure our work environments are secure. We encourage you to reach out to your HR Representative with your concerns.

    • Helpful (1)

      "The campground is a fun & beautiful environment."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Resort Manager in Seaside, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Being part of a new wave of leadership within the company who are driven to improve processes as well as product.

      Cons

      The systems are very antiquated.

      Advice to Management

      Upon hire there are several immediate online training courses as well as Compass, however I think it would be beneficial to offer training &/or overview videos on systems. Instead of just issuing credentials & expecting that the user will just figure it out.

      Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-15

      Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

      March 19, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for writing a review. We are continuously evolving our training programs and currently offer a robust library of video tutorials. Please reach out to our L&D team if you are unsure of where to find them!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Large company with a home feel!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

      Pros

      The People. ELS is the best in their industry and their people make the difference.

      Cons

      When I find one, I'll share with my leader. ELS has open communication and responsive to suggestions that foster a better environment.

      Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-11

      Equity LifeStyle Properties Response

      March 12, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

      Thank you for the feedback! We are so happy to have you on the team. Communication is one of our core values, so we are happy that you consider ELS a workplace with open communication!

    Found 240 reviews