Equity LifeStyle Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

Equity LifeStyle Properties Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Equity LifeStyle Properties President and CEO Marguerite Nader
Marguerite Nader
140 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The campground is a fun & beautiful environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resort Manager in Seaside, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being part of a new wave of leadership within the company who are driven to improve processes as well as product.

    Cons

    The systems are very antiquated.

    Advice to Management

    Upon hire there are several immediate online training courses as well as Compass, however I think it would be beneficial to offer training &/or overview videos on systems. Instead of just issuing credentials & expecting that the user will just figure it out.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Large company with a home feel!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

    Pros

    The People. ELS is the best in their industry and their people make the difference.

    Cons

    When I find one, I'll share with my leader. ELS has open communication and responsive to suggestions that foster a better environment.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Reputable, stable company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large, growing, nationwide company with many opportunities. Be passionate, put in the effort and add value to yourself and the company. Awesome organizational culture that focuses on the customer experience.

    Cons

    Large corporation with many layers. It can be frustrating but if you accept the challenge, you'll learn how to play the game. Be persistent, build relationships, and be likeable. Many demands that are pushing and pulling you all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Negotiate a better healthcare rate!

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "This is my career not my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lease Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have felt welcomed since the moment I walked through the door in the Tampa office. The work environment is fast paced but there is always someone that is willing to help! The company invests in their employees and provides you with the tools you need to succeed. ELS is continuing to grow and I plan on growing with them! If you want a career where you feel appreciated and where you can grow within the company ELS is the company for you. I suggest making it known where your goals are and they will help you reach them. I have had all levels of employees introduce themselves which makes you feel that there is no one too busy to reach out to if you need assistance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since the company is continuing to grow in all aspects there are things that could use a second look. I do feel confident that within the next 2 to 5 years ELS will be light-years farther than they are now.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Risk Management in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have recently started and I feel the culture is very welcoming and positive.

    Cons

    Work from home is not really offered

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Managing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Cape May Ch, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Firm identifies as a people oriented company.

    Cons

    If that were the case they would not have millennial VP’s with no people skills only the ability to count the beans.

    Advice to Management

    Extend some of your extensive training budget to upper management.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-06
  7. "Trying to get there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

    Pros

    I met some really nice people during my time with ELS. Pretty stable company with great stock options. Good 401k. Great CEO.

    Cons

    Too much going on. Turnover is high, medical benefits expensive and not much room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people more and don't be so cheap. Invest in the office space as well. It's depressing.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-02-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time

    Pros

    Tons of opportunities for those seeking growth.

    Cons

    Medical premiums could be more competitive

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst six months of my professional career..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *District office location *Yeti travel mug

    Cons

    *Aggressive senior leadership *Micro-management *Training program *Employee retention *Work/life balance - no boundaries

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-03-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "OK Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity LifeStyle Properties full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture. Lots of changes happening which is good to see and it would only make the company better. Continue to push more collaboration between departments and field employee. Feedback is key for company moral and feel supported. Company is trying and making effort to make it a better place to work and make everyone feel like a team.

    Cons

    Their health plans are a major disappointment. They provide dismal coverage for mental health, dental, or medical. I paid over $200 month for insurance and still had a huge deductible and barely any coverage. They don't help offsite the cost with no HSA contributions. The company is about 500 to 1 billion in profit and would think there medical plans would be somewhat better and competitive

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to feedback from all sides of the business. Feedback and Collaboration vital in making any company succeed. Happy employees equals better results, productivity and passionate. Invest those profits into employee medical benefits look out for your employees.

    Equity LifeStyle Properties2019-01-30
Found 253 reviews