Equity Residential Reviews | Glassdoor

Equity Residential Reviews

Updated August 30, 2017
51 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Equity Residential President, CEO, and Trustee David J. Neithercut
David J. Neithercut
22 Ratings

51 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Most of upper management does not have an open door policy (in 33 reviews)

  • no work life balance as you have to work almost every weekend (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Corporate Office in Chicago / Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Close to trains, no overtime expected, gym in building,

    Cons

    Low compensation, limited career growth opportunities, promotions on a spoils system

    Advice to Management

    Please stop feeding everyone the same "high potential, high performance" spiel, and start giving out promotions where they're deserved. Certain executives made it clear they did not care about career growth and opportunities for employees.

    Equity Residential Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, although we sincerely regret that your 5 years with us did not end on a more positive note. We acknowledge that growth opportunities may feel... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, great shift rotations, good company.

    Cons

    Management, Hiring process, "Training Program".
    Accountability, OSHA violations.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who care and not just about lease up and budgets.

    Equity Residential Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    Hello, and thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are very sorry to hear your concerns, and are particularly concerned by your mention of OSHA violations. We would love an opportunity... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointment,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Employee rent discount 33%.
    OK benefits.

    Cons

    High employees turn over.
    Cannot entire vacation at once because of under staffing.
    Corporate cares only for the bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Transfer the company policy from the paper to the reality.

    Equity Residential Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    Although we regret that your lengthy tenure with us ended in disappointment, we appreciate the many years you spent with us and the time you took to share your feedback. We wish there was a way we... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Loyalty means nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent commissions if you coerce the new residents to move-in by the end of the month as the 1st two leases each month are free (since its your job) and then tiered after that... but only if they move in the same month.

    Company does good job at trying to get you to drink the kool-aid with Be Think Play Live and other nonsensical awards given at what can only be described as high school pep rallies.

    Vacation and sick time are pretty decent. You get a day off to do community work that they never let you take.

    Cons

    Managers and the higher ups in their Ivory Towers have their favorite employees. If you don't conform to their ideology then you are marked. Men don't get treated the same as women and are tasked with more... and they expect more from you.

    No promotion from within. New managers from outside the company. No assistant managers, only Sr. Leasing which isn't in the budget.

    Staffing used to be decent until they tried to get by cheap and require managers to be multistage which leaves on site leasing staff to do more than compensated for.

    Advice to Management

    Value employees who have given significant time and energy to benefit themselves and company.

    Equity Residential Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback. While we recognize that we will always have areas of opportunity as a company, we aim to deliver on the Be Think Play Live brand... More


  5. "Service manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Steady Job and good pay

    Cons

    Under staff, never complete team.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention

    Equity Residential Response

    Jun 23, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    We are very sorry to hear that your opinion of the company is a negative one, and we sincerely hope to have the chance to turn that around. We recognize how difficult it can be to feel productive... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, Great team, 1 hour lunch

    Cons

    Many residents in the upper west side apartments are rude, racist, and disrespectful. Management lets them walk all over the leasing office and wonders why so many people want to leave. Btw, its 2017, blatant racism, really?

    Advice to Management

    Help us make the difference and support the teams in need. Use your leadership for good, not just for a hefty salary. Instead of making excuses for the residents, why not find solutions for the overall issue. "Huddle" me that.

    Equity Residential Response

    May 17, 2017 – Operations Specialist

    We appreciate your positive comments about the people and benefits at Equity, yet we are very sorry to hear of the challenges that you experienced. We pride ourselves on being an employer committed... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Asst Community Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Co work are amazing to work with and work hard as a team

    Cons

    GM manipulates Employee engagement survey by hovering over employee to ensure a good result
    GM Micromanages to the max
    job titles are manipulated to pay employees less for more work

    Equity Residential Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we are happy to hear that you have such wonderful relationships with your coworkers, the behavior of your GM that you described is not... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Went downhill during my 10 years in New England"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - General Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -good work life/balance
    -fun culture and environment
    -job has been made simple
    -pay is good for the level of work you do

    Cons

    -you no longer make any decisions on impact anything. You basically are now just a robot.
    -hiring decisions have nothing to do with how good you are
    -recruiting team is not good
    -no more teamwork among sister properties
    -RMs went from being great to being awful my last year

    Advice to Management

    -hire better employees that you can then trust to make more decisions. For the first 6-8 years I worked here, I thought I would never leave but things went very downhill quickly. It could of just been in this particular market. From the top down there was no communication, no accountability, and no listening whatsoever. It is very sad as I really loved working here for a long time and it used to be a great company.

    I think that if the people in Sr. Management knew what really went on at the regional level they would be shocked.

    Equity Residential Response

    Nov 9, 2016 – Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your time at Equity, although we are disappointed to hear that your opinion of the company changed so much during your time with us. We will... More


  9. "Regret quitting my job to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are friendly, in a sort of we will smile at you then talk about you later kind of way.

    Cons

    From the outside looking in, it appears this a a great company to work for. In the several months that I've been here, the same company that claims to be diverse and and built on teamwork is anything but. Their motto of "One Team" is a bit of a joke. In the team I work with it's so divided, there is a lack of communication, and the manager clearly favors certain people over others. In addition to try to learn my role I feel like there is always unnecessary drama floating around that make it difficult not only to focus but to want to be engaged in my position. I left a good job, thinking I was coming to a better job and from what I've seen thus far I am hugely disappointed. I hope my opinion changes but I'm doubtful.

    Advice to Management

    Respect their employees. Treat everyone fairly.

    Equity Residential Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Operations Specialist

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience has not lived up to what you were expecting when you came to work with us. The environment you have described is contrary to everything we aspire to... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Field team members are great- I've met some great people. Lots of training and classes. Health insurance is decent and can be pretty low cost but only if you participate in their wellness program.

    Cons

    Upper management is distant and only recognizes poor performance. As an onsite team member, you rarely hear from upper management until something goes wrong. Pay is insanely low. Commission structure makes it difficult to make any real money. Company says that they promote from within but plays favorites and will often already know who they are promoting without interviewing other candidates within the company. Impossible to get time off as a leasing consultant because the property always needs to be staffed and management is unwilling to cover or find help. Hours are long and leasing team is always expected to be in office even when other team members are leaving early.

    Advice to Management

    Value your onsite staff more. There's very little loyalty to the company because you aren't investing in your young employees.

    Equity Residential Response

    Sep 26, 2016 – Operations Specialist

    Although we regret that your experience has not been more positive, we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. As you may have heard, we are piloting a new commission... More


Showing 51 of 402 reviews
Reset Filters