KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Equity Residential

Engaged Employer

Equity Residential

Add a Review

Equity Residential Employee Reviews about "residents"

Updated Nov 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 915 reviews

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Equity Residential President and CEO Mark Parrell
Mark Parrell
249 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Equity Residential and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "residents"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Almost 5 years and still enjoying the ride!

    Apr 2, 2021 - Community Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Equity Residential has created a work culture that feels like home. From upper management the transparency of all aspects of the business being shared with all employees is always comforting. During the pandemic Equity Residential quickly adjusted and put protocols in place that supported the safety of us employees and our residents. Our company continuously shares different ways to save money on our benefits. The company always welcomes questions authority that’s creates growth and a feeling of inclusiveness from all.

    Cons

    Not many promotion opportunities due to low turnover.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your feedback and are so glad that you feel like Equity is a place that you can thrive - that is our company purpose - creating communities where people thrive! Transparency and communication is key when navigating change, especially during trying times, and we are glad to hear that you recognize the efforts being made. We value your contributions and thank you for being a part of the Equity Team!

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Culture...Poor Senior Management

    Aug 30, 2016 -  in Alexandria, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    EQR hires great people who fit the '10 way' culture. People are fun to work with and EQR encourages team work. EQR is great at hiring people who love what they do and want to make a difference to the residents. If you have a great manager - your life will be much easier and you will enjoy working there. Great apt discount.

    Cons

    Large disconnect between HQ in Chicago and regional offices. Seems HQ (2N) does not truly understand how the changes they consistently implement can reflect so much pressure on lower level employees. Like most large companies, money is giving to senior level employees while the leasing/service teams make little next to nothing even though they bring in the revenue. Pressure to promote too fast therefore unqualified managers in roles. Internal promotion system is not fair to all employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad that you connected with your coworkers and your direct manager, and that you felt and identified with our “10 Ways” culture. However, we are sorry to hear your thoughts on senior leadership and the larger corporate culture. We carefully review compensation packages every year to ensure that our ranges are competitive within the industry. We also opened up our transfer and promotion policy a couple of years ago, removing any barriers such as minimum time in position and opting to make promotion decisions solely based on performance and potential. We developed our Accelerate program this year to better prepare individuals for management positions. We hope that you took advantage of the opportunity to do an exit interview; if not, please feel free to contact Human Resources at 202-971-7088.

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Taking away all promotion opportunities

    Mar 31, 2022 - Leasing Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendliness and belonging with coworkers at the property, beautiful apartments can be a cool work environment, OK benefits. Company invests in technology and wants to be cutting edge.

    Cons

    When I started at equity a few years ago I was excited about the opportunities for growth I saw at the company. As an LC who eventually wants to become a manager I looked at the few dozen properties in my area and saw room to grow and hopefully get promoted with hard work and the right training. If you work in property management you know some properties (bigger more challenging ones) are meant for experienced managers and other properties (usually smaller ones) are for beginners where someone new to the leadership role can learn the ropes before taking on a huge building where they would get overwhelmed and burn out way too fast. These small properties are important for workforce development for this reason. Well since I started, every time managers of a “beginner property” leave their job, instead of hiring a new one they just combine that property with another property. This has happened with 3 or 4 buildings in my market that I can think of just off the top of my head. A raise and title change will then go to the manager presumably for the added workload. The LCs who now have to work at not 1 but 2 properties do not get a raise…commission does not count, I could lease more in a full day at my home property than I can split between two properties). LCs see no base pay raise for now having to manage 2 books of business instead of 1, and having to memorize the ins and outs of 2 buildings instead of 1. It is seriously additional work for the leasing staff to now be responsible for 2 buildings yet only the person at the top gets a raise... Equity saves massively on payroll and benefits by doing this. And at the same time they’re removing the chance for an assistant manager or an LC to take the next step in their career. I used to be able to name 8 or 9 beginner properties. Now I can name maybe 4? With 2 of them being merged right now as we speak. There is no place for us anymore. The small properties are being combined, and the big properties we will never get hired for because we are not ready and have no CM experience…you see the problem here. Again this has happened three or four times in just a few years….Every time is a punch to the gut for all of us who want to move up. Based on conversations I’ve had, this is their strategy now. The way of the future. I don’t know what their long term strategy is training their existing workforce…especially because they are now automating and centralizing so many parts of the leasing job, it’s obvious they want to get rid of us LCs. Which is fine because I don’t want to be an LC forever… but how exactly am I supposed to become a manager now? Equity avoids layoffs (they know the optics…) but they will lose people via attrition and not rehire, forcing the remaining staff to take on a higher workload. It is a sneaky way of reducing payroll and they think we don’t all notice or discuss it. We do. Everyone is afraid to speak up publicly including myself. Plus we know nothing will come of it….am I supposed to call the action hotline and report management for doing exactly what corporate wants them to do…? They know what they’re doing. HR knows the drill too. There’s no one to go to other than Glassdoor… The residents of these merged buildings also suffer. Now there is one manager and half the property presence the residents are used to. Fewer staff means things get missed and screwed up and the residents get a reduced level of service. And guess who has to deal with them when they're angry...not upper management, that's for sure. I get it from a money lens but as an employee in what is basically an “up or out” situation, there’s no ladder up anymore…so I guess you are forcing me out.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    They Really Need To Watch Who They're Highering & Promoting For Management Or Leadership Material

    Mar 29, 2013 - Residential Concierge in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the atmosphere of the beauty of my building and the bond that you develop with your residents. They really make you feel like you are making a difference in their dailly life.

    Cons

    There is a lot of childish behavior being displayed amongst management and their inner clicks! If your not clicked in - you better tread very lightly, because they will turn on you fast. When coming into the company you negotiate a decent pay rate, but it's hard to get a decent raise on your quarterly review if your'e not a favorite. And same thing goes for the bonuses. This place is just like high school and the property manager is like the big kid on campus; with a group of minions watching their backs and causing havoc whenever they feel it's promitable!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid at all Costs

    Dec 2, 2013 - Snr Leasing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary is commensurate to work Good health insurance programme Largest owner/operator of apartment homes in the U.S. Properties located in prime locations

    Cons

    Salary: Salary is average for the industry 14-16 per hour. If you are considering working here you need to know the first 2-5 sales are non commissionable each month! The goalposts are changed monthly so do really well and the target is higher next month. They got rid of Assistant Manager Positions, there are Senior Leasing Consultant roles instead - which have all the duties of an Assistant Manager with much lower pay. Resident Relations: No budget for resident events. No move in gifts for Residents - even if you want to pay out of your own pocket they won't allow it. No coffee, There are nationwide competitions for Residents with no actual prize - winners just get mentioned on website. I'm lucky to work with an awesome team onsite and we make the best of what we have to work with to make residents happy. Shady Promotion Procedures: Internal recruitment does not follow best practice HR. You've got to learn how to play the game to get promoted. There is extreme favoritism and Regional Managers and Community Managers act like a gang - a prior review accurately said its like high school. Promotions are granted on a shoe-in basis, word-of-mouth, some positions are not even advertised. Training/Development: To cut costs, training courses are completed online on company computers. This means if you work at a busy property you must say back and complete this in your own time, unpaid, or leave the course running on your PC whilst you do other tasks. An ineffective and cheap method of training. No Decision-Making Authority on-site: There is no autonomy given to Property Managers, day to day resident relation decisions and account decisions must be approved at HQ, Regional and VP level, making decision making embarrasingly slow and held up with red tape. (for example adding a simple parking charge) There is a huge level of distrust between Snr. Management and properties resulting in an archaic style of micromanagement and resentment amongst property staff. Bad Reputation in the Industry: Recruitment Agents have told me working for Equity is a bad mark on your resume because of how they operate. Renowned for being a cheap company, terrible customer service, focused on cutting costs, and imposing hidden costs on Residents. As a publically traded company Equity makes no attempt to hide the fact that its prime focus is on the shareholders and chairman of Equity. Just google 'Forbes interview Sam Zell Grave Dancer' - where our Chairman boasts about dancing on other peoples mistakes and profiting from it - this article was internally promoted and applauded and is a true reflection of the company culture and management style.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst job I've ever had

    Feb 5, 2020 - Service Tech 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is on the low level of acceptable but benefits and company discounts were pretty good

    Cons

    Equity will push incentives to have current employees leave positive reviews that they would not do otherwise. I had multiple female leasing agents confide in me about harassment they received from managers. Human resources has clearly never heard of the NLRB, and absolutely do not follow the law when it comes to treating and paying employees properly. At least 2 other people that I know have pursued legal action against Equity for things like unpaid wages, and I would have also but I just wanted to be done with the nightmare and never think about that place ever again. Management sleeping with other managers/vendors/residents is common. Service staff (maintenance/leasing) is held to a lower standard than management, as Equity has a 'do as I say not as I do' policy. 2017 Class action lawsuit against Equity for violating state laws, and I doubt it'll be their last. They contract out labor to subs who hire/take advantage of undocumented immigrants to save costs especially in busy season. The amount of unnecessary landfill waste this company produces is staggering, we'd throw away any appliance that worked fine but had minor cracks right into the dumpster every single day.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Please be advised that Equity takes allegations of this kind very seriously and is committed to investigating and addressing them promptly. To initiate a thorough review of your concerns, we would appreciate receiving additional details. We encourage you to utilize the following channel to share specific information about your allegations: Call to Action Hotline (800) 231-5699. You may elect to remain anonymous or not. Either way, this channel provides a mechanism for you to provide the kinds of details needed to initiate a proper investigation.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Resident Concierge

    Jul 10, 2015 - Resident Concierge in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, pay is well, HR , Company events, and a good number of residents are very kind individuals.

    Cons

    Some managers are micromanagers, that is not a good manager. I only recieved one raise. I disagree wholeheartedly with how the company give raises. They give raises only if the residents of the community give the community an high score. And if the residents do no take the survey or give negative feedback, management feels that it is the entire staff fault. The manager does not trust employees know their job responsiblities.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing this review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoy your work experience. We also believe in creating healthy and effective teams where employees feel valued and appreciated.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Always changing for the better

    Nov 6, 2019 - Maintenance Supervisor in Bothell, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good and effort is rewarded.

    Cons

    You will sometimes see people at their worst when responding to emergencies. This is not meant at a knock on residents, its more that while its routine to respond to emergencies for maintenance its not routine for residents. It can require a bit of people skills to deal with some residents at their most frazzled.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    NY's new motto: Out with the old, in with the new

    Jul 22, 2015 - Community Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great coworkers. Large stable company who own and manage their own properties. Systems are up to date with new technology making it easier to manage your property. Training is a focus. Outings are fun.

    Cons

    The company has shifted in a direction that only cares about the bottom line. Employees are not valued nor are our residents! It's all about the money. It is understood that Equity is a REIT and we must do our best to make money for our shareholders. However, where is the balance? Extreme micro managing from corp level who only harps on what you can do better. Never focusing on what you have done well. There is a sense of a pompous tone from corp. Make money!! Even it means low annual increases for employees. And don't move on property because your increases will be just as high as residents! It seems the newly hired employees benefit the most with regards to compensation. Just wondering how many people need to leave for someone to see what's going on. Even new employees feel blindsided in comparison to what they were told and the reality of the way it is.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your teammates and company functions. However, we are sorry that you felt micromanaged and for your feelings that the company only cares about the bottom line. While it is true that senior leaders are passionate about the company, its success, delivering great customer service and creating a culture of accountability, no one likes to feel micromanaged. We like to think there can be a balance and are sorry you don't feel that it was true for you.