Cover image for Equity Residential
Logo
See All Photos

Equity Residential

Engaged Employer

Equity Residential

Add a Review

Equity Residential Employee Reviews about "training"

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 901 of over 924 reviews
3.8
70% Recommend to a Friend
Equity Residential President and CEO Mark Parrell
81% Approve of CEO

Found 166 of over 924 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Equity Residential President and CEO Mark Parrell
Mark Parrell
246 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on

Real Estate

959 Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/real-estate-5/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Equity Residential~3635
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Pay was ok but the benefits were great.(in 98 reviews)
  • "Competitive pay and lots of useful Resources and Leaders.(in 51 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with(in 42 reviews)
  • "Great Training and that's it(in 38 reviews)
  • "Equity promotes from within and has a great culture.(in 38 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Equity Residential and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years
    Featured Review

    Love it here at Eqr

    Sep 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is on the cutting edge in terms of tech, culture and how they treat employees and residents

    Cons

    None that I have found over my tenure here at EQR

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    5 stars, how kind of you! We appreciate you taking the time to visit our page and share your thoughts. Thank you!!

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Intern Review

    Nov 6, 2022 - Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community and great people

    Cons

    Unclear assignments at some times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your experiences as an Intern with us, and wish you the best of luck!

  3. Join the Equity Residential team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Advancement and development severely lacking

    Nov 28, 2022 - Assistant Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong company culture and some great people.

    Cons

    Upper management does little in the way of promoting advancement and development opportunities. The portfolio is restructuring staffing, centralizing operations etc. in a way that takes away responsibilities and earning potential, rendering certain full-time roles almost irrelevant. This restructuring also limits advancement opportunities as managerial roles are extremely difficult to come by and competitive to earn.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    A horrible company! This is where you literally run and don’t look back!

    Sep 23, 2022 - Leasing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely None at this company. The most political and awful leadership I’ve ever dealt with.

    Cons

    I have been doing this for almost 2 decades and I have had quite a few jobs but in all honesty, this one takes the cake on the worst jobs I have ever held. My supervisor was the most unethical, unprofessional, backstabbing, rude and horrible person I’ve ever dealt with and come in contact with in my 4 decades of being alive, and I don’t say this lightly. From slamming papers to talking behind your back and everything in between, is what I dealt with at this Seattle Hi-rise. Their HR to senior leadership is a complete joke. Their 1980 processes is a another issue that I can write a book about. If you are a creative out of the box thinker, this company is not for you. And if you aren’t, have at it!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    We’re sorry to hear you describe your experience in such a negative light. We hope that during your time with Equity you reached out to your local Human Resources representative to further discuss your concerns. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The Pay Does Not Equate to the Work Required

    Jul 24, 2022 - Leasing Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    hours- typically 10-6, however one weekend is usually required but higher chance for leases leasing- leasing in general is enjoyable rent discount of up to 35% small knit group of coworker good entry level job to learn about sales and admin responsibilities/customer service strong culture and values, passionate on diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    -low pay, starting was about 20ish when I started. They will not give you a raise, however will onboard new LC's at a higher rate than you are at -slowly have removed responsibilities of the roles and created new roles to complete these tasks, which creates a more mundane day-to-date and is less efficient. Some of these responsibilities include processing applications and negotiating rent renewals, which were central parts of the job before -Property management is a very draining field, especially when you work for a company that does not value residents or allocating budget to improve resident experience, only when something needs immediate fixing. Having to have these conversations with residents when you know nothing can be done is draining. And increasing someones rent hundreds of dollars to have no changes feel unethical -commission structure: you only make between 50-120/per lease, which is lower than other property management companies -difficult to advance: will take several years to become a property manager

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your perspectives. We would encourage you to speak directly with your manager, Regional Manager or Human Resources team to get a better understanding of our commission structure, compensation and benefits packages, as well as address any other individual concerns or questions specific to your experience with Equity.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    I like the company

    Nov 4, 2022 - Leasing Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone you meet is so kind and welcoming. The work events bring everyone together for a great time which I highly recommend attending.

    Cons

    Very business motivated and not people motivated.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate your sharing your thoughts. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoy the employee events, as we equally love hosting events to show our employees how much we appreciate them! We recognize that everyone has a unique, personal perspective on what motivates them and try to take on a prescriptive approach to individual needs. While some people are motivated by verbal recognition or financial rewards, family or employee events may motivate others. We love celebrating diverse perspectives and encourage you to reach out to your manager or to Human Resources, if you’d like to further explore different types of motivation.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    No loyalty to employees. Business is business I suppose.

    Oct 30, 2022 - Leasing Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Promotes diversity (although if you look at the top of the chain, it's all older white people). Might just be a marketing strategy to make them seem inclusive. Many of the properties are very nice. Events which acknowledge employees achievements. Training modules are good with ongoing training throughout your tenure.

    Cons

    Management plays favorites. Promotions happen based on if your friends rather than work ethic/accomplishments/experience. They encourage you to get involved with all the extra curricular activities (volunteering, councils, etc). Some people have families and don't have time for all of that. A promotion should be based on the ability to do the job at hand, not if you have volunteered or signed up for something. Reminds me of highschool. Although they promote diversity, racism is rampit within the company from all sides. I have seen many good employees leave as they were accused of unfounded racism, then, to no surprised, replaced by someone who fit into the office better. HR will always be on the side of the accuser, never the accused and many play off of this. Equity has a motto to "question authority". Don't do it. Your manager will write you up. Once you start questioning anything, upper management starts whispering about you and soon you will find yourself without a job. Unqualified employees are hired. Equity really needs to do a better job with vetting new employees. Causes a lot of issues. New/unqualified employees are often kept over a more seasoned, experience employee who has been there for years. If you're a manager and have trouble handling a situation and ask for help, there won't be any. Then if you make a mistake, you will be the one leaving. Raises are not giving. If anything, the max you will receive annually will be 3%. This equals 30-60 cents a year. It's insulting. I addition, new hires will be hired in at a much higher rate than you. Equity does not believe in fair pay. Comission- the commission structure is awful. Many other companies will offer higher commission. For renewals, they recently took them off site to a centralized renewals team. This caused many employees to lose income. They have no concern for this and no plan in place to compensate for lost income. Management is very quick to point out any mistake you've made, small or big, and almost never acknowledges hard work. Equity truly does not care about residents. I realize it is a business, however, often times many residents will come together with requests, opinions, advice, etc. Much of which is very valid. However management just brushes it off. The way they see it, the residents can move out and we will re-rent the apartment. I've even seen it where a leasing consultant will go out of their way to assist a resident, just to be scolded by management. Lastly, no matter how well you perform your job, how dedicated you have been, and how much revenue you have brought the company, in the end you are just being a 'seat filler'. They will do nothing to try and keep you if you decide to leave. HR and upper management are intertwined. What one wants the other wants. Always remember, HR is not the friend of the employee. They are paid by the company and out in place to protect the company. I saw many things happen where HR did not take something seriously or just brushed it under the rug.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you for voicing your perspectives. Please know that at Equity Residential we are committed to creating an ethical and inclusive workplace. We do not tolerate discrimination or racism of any kind. We take allegations like what you’ve described very seriously, as such behavior is unacceptable. Equity Residential is committed to supporting our employees. If any of our employees experience or witness inappropriate behavior, we encourage them to report it to their manager, or if they would prefer an anonymous platform, we also offer the Call to Action Hotline (by phone 800-231-5699 or online CallToActionHotline.com) as a resource. Our Human Resources department represents a variety of teams: Organization Talent & Development, Employee Relations, Talent Acquisitions, Compensation and Benefits are just a few. A recurring theme for each of the HR sub-departments is focusing on our people. We encourage you to reach out to us directly to have a conversation about how you’re feeling, and want to thank you in advance for allowing us an opportunity to further discuss any questions you may have regarding general concerns, compensation and commissions, or perhaps even brainstorm ideas on how to utilize your Community Service Day (if you elect to do so, of course). Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Community Manager

    Nov 23, 2022 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work with great people good atmosphere

    Cons

    Poorly compensated compared to others in industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Deteriorating business processes and leadership

    Sep 27, 2022 - Individual Contributor in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Equity owns and manages beautiful communities across the nation. They focus on building a remarkable experience for their customers.

    Cons

    I worked in the IT Department and don't recommend it if you are a serious IT professional. Equity is NOT an IT company and it is felt heavily everyday. I once worked for an experienced IT professional at Equity, who was replaced by a community manager with zero experience. This led to a multitude of issues, including constant turnover, failed launches and countless unprofessional occurrences. I felt like my career track melted away slowly. All the while senior leadership did nothing, just as they did with the previous manager's shortcomings. They just continued to make misguided hiring decisions that led to more turmoil.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    While we are disappointed to hear about your experience, we appreciate you taking the time to share your perspectives. Equity Residential recognizes how critical our IT department is, and is always looking for ways to both enhance the processes and programs IT supports, as well as enhance and diversify the team dynamic. We assure you that we take feedback like yours seriously, and hope that during your time with Equity Residential, you shared your feedback with your manager or Human Resources team, or by utilizing one of the many platforms we provide to our employees to ask questions, discuss concerns and respectively “Question Authority”.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Amazing company

    Sep 27, 2022 - Leasing Consultant in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    amazing company that truly cares about their employees. Great place to work, the teams are all amazing and always there to help each other. Company listens to employees ideas and really tries to make everyone feel involved .

    Cons

    rent increases are too much even though we are grateful for the discount I feel that employees should have more of a benefit when renewals come up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Equity Residential Response

    Operations Specialist

    Thank you not only for your 5 star review, but for your 5+ years of commitment to our communities and residents! We appreciate you acknowledging that at Equity Residential, our employees are heard, and encouraged to share their thoughts and ideas. Thank you again for visiting our page!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 166 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Equity Residential Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Equity Residential? Share Your Experiences

Equity Residential logo
or

Equity Residential Careers

Cover image for Equity Residential

Our Story In the early 1960s, two guys at the University of Michigan – Sam Zell and Bob Lurie – started managing student apartment...More

  • Work With Us
  • Ten Ways
  • Benefits Overview
  • Equity Values
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Equity Residential

54 days ago

Culture
October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month — an annual event to educate and increase awareness. Equity teams wear pink to support and raise awareness!
Shared image
Logo

Equity Residential

69 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
Happy Rosh Hashanah from Equity Residential! Rosh Hashanah marks the beginning of the Jewish New Year — may the sweetness of Rosh Hashanah carry through the entire year.
Shared image
See all

Equity Residential Photos

+ Add Photo
Equity Residential photo of: Our employees pride themselves on providing a remarkable leasing and living experience to our residents.
Equity Residential photo of: October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month — an annual event to educate and increase awareness. Equity teams wear pink to support and raise awareness.
Equity Residential photo of: The Equity team in Chicago had a blast visiting Chicago Animal Care and Control with Safe Humane.
Equity Residential photo of: The Chicago teams led interactive presentations to showcase all the different facets of technology at Equity!
Equity Residential photo of: Flora Apartments
Equity Residential photo of: Indie Deep Ellum Apartments
Equity Residential photo of: Kilby Apartments
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Equity Residential Job Seekers Also Viewed

UDR Logo
UDR

4.1

438 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 924 Equity Residential reviews submitted anonymously by Equity Residential employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Equity Residential is right for you.