Equity Residential "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Equity Residential Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Equity Residential CEO Mark Parrell
Mark Parrell
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also upper management in Chicago is super all boys club with very little diversity with women or people of color(in 40 reviews)

  • "Although they talk about a work life balance they will work you to the bone(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "#TeamEquity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Equity Residential creates an amazing company culture that truly values its employees as people first. Management is extremely helpful and you really feel like your teammates are there to support you and want to see you succeed. I’ve only been with Equity for a little over half a year and have felt welcomed and appreciated from day one. I’ve worked in property management before and this is the first company where... upper management is not some invisible entity, but actual people who are visible and present to support and help you along the way regardless of your job title or how early you are in your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Equity Residential2019-08-15
  2. "Great benefits, but watch your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is an amazing sense of comraderie among the property teams with people always willing to go above and beyond to help you. The benefits are bomb with a 4% 401K match, ESPP options, adoption money up to $20k and fertility treatment up to $20k too! Plus they have an awesome education and training program that will teach you all about property management.

    Cons

    Although they talk about a work life balance they will work you to the bone. The company is proud to boast of its skeletal staffing and your constantly fighting to get money for the property. They will also low ball you on offers so make sure to negotiate negotiate negotiate!! They also suck you in with the apartment discount but they don’t tell you that you the money that you get taxed doesn’t make it worth it.... Also upper management in Chicago is super all boys club with very little diversity with women or people of color. So beware of that glass ceiling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I bled sweat and tears Equity for over ten years, and was dumped in a heartbeat due to a liability issue. So keep that in mind that the company will have zero loyalty to you as a person. It breaks my heart to say that, but unfortunately it’s all to true.

    Equity Residential2019-10-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Used to love it but now..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent. They have created a forum for the company to communicate nationwide and enter suggestions on improvements so you feel like your voice is heard.

    Cons

    If you've been with the company for more than 4 years then you know how it used to be. Everyone felt like family and you could ask for support without worrying about your capabilities to do your job being questioned. They've taken away resident events that the residents actually enjoyed and started charging them to attend, they've cut back on employee events so we don't get to meet as much with our peers that... support each other. Leadership is unhelpful. They tell you to think like an owner but treat you like you are incapable of making a sound business decision if it doesn't make the investors money. They say do the right thing but that doesn't mean what you think it means. They call us field workers and that's exactly how we are treated. Disposable. Any employee that works in the "field" is spread way too thin. They promote work life balance but you spend your evenings, weekends, and vacations trying to catch up or ensure your community doesn't go up in flames. And if it does, no one from upper management helps. They let you drown and tell you to figure it out on your own. Good luck trying to get promoted if you are not favored.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Value your employees just like you value your investors.

    Equity Residential2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great structure but needs more power to onsite managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mentors and training for new employees looking to get into property management. Equity's structure is unbeatable and their support/response to escalated issues is excellent.

    Cons

    Sometimes what upper management says does not match what they tell their sales teams in regards to renewals and sales. It creates a lot of extra work if leasing consultants could be more straight-forward and provide more transparency to residents. Compensation and bonus/commission structure could be higher to compete with other companies. A lot of private companies steal away great employees.

    Advice to Management

    Support your leasing consultants to prevent residents from bypassing the community management team to contact upper management. The support is great but if the yes came from the LC, it prevents residents from going directly to upper management every time something happens. It creates a bad habit and feels unprofessional.

    Equity Residential2019-03-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great housing discount and fair paid rate

    Cons

    Recent change in upper management change the whole company culture of Equity. Micro management and very corporate culture. There are gap now between on site team and Corporate management. We are no longer one team and separation of power. Too much favoritism going on and power house. Equity used to be a great culture but now it is very different. A lot of people feel the same way. Good employees has no future... and the quiet one begins leaving company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is important to keep the culture and understand why people stay or leave. Create opportunities for good employees feel belong and appreciated.

    Equity Residential2019-03-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Current Community Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Equity truly is the best of the best. The training, employees and support your receive is amazing. Pay is good-not great but we operate in cities where the cost of living is high so it's relative. BUT we do get a housing discount, which really helps and a lot of people take advantage of. Other benefits like PTO, health insurance, 401K are pretty good. Health insurance can be really affordable if you participate in... the wellness program and you should (can't complain about Amazon gift cards and cheaper premiums!) Career advancement is probably where Equity shines- they have great training programs for new employees and they've developed programs for their leasing consultants and service techs to gain the skills to be promoted. Upper management is also supportive and understanding. Leadership does take the time to listen to the concerns of the onsite team and will respond to concerns that are frequently brought up.

    Show More

    Cons

    Properties tend to be staffed thin. Like I mentioned above too, Equity operates in cities with a high cost of living, the pay is good but unless you live far from the buildings they manage, it's pretty expensive to live. Work/life balance can be difficult especially in the busy season.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work & keep listening to your onsite teams.

    Equity Residential2018-12-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Forever a stockholder, but it would be hard to come back as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good medical insurance, maternity/paternity leave, great place to climb the ranks if you don't have a college degree

    Cons

    First and foremost priority is the shareholder - it's all about the bottom line. Direct manager's aren't given the ability to properly reward and recognize top employees. A top employee may not rent the most apartments, but put in the extra work and work outside their job description. Lastly, the things upper management makes you do to residents can be crazy at times. In my opinion, sometimes if the lease... says something there is still room for forgiveness. When bad news has to be delivered, it is usually delivered from community/service managers, leasing consultants, or technicians (rarely at a higher level than that). In order to stick to community guidelines and avoid using trade secrets or confidential information, I won't elaborate on some of the border line unethical practices I've witnessed. Although, there are standard practices that would make it so I would never put my family or myself in an Equity Apartment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take another course in corporate responsibility that focuses on stakeholders. Meaning anyone that could be effected by the way you do business.

    Equity Residential2018-12-28
  8. "Wonderful Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Union City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Equity Residential for a little over 5 years. I started as a Customer Support Assistant, and have been promoted twice since. For the last 2 years, I have been managing my own property, and love my what I do! Equity Residential truly cares about the well being of their employees! I am never without support from my upper management, and always feel that I am appreciated. The company provides a very... generous rent discount, and a comprehensive benefits package. If you are looking for a company with an amazing culture that values their employees, look no further!

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you do!

    Equity Residential2018-04-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Equity Residential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equity Residential full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Medical, health, vision and dental insurance

    Cons

    Poor management, upper management do not fallow company policies and rules.

    Advice to Management

    The Management is all about money and not the residents. They do not work with the prospects at all, they make so much money but do not want to change the things on the property that can look much more appealing to our prospects. They show favoritism towards certain employees and they are not held accountable, and they are promoted in higher position without fallowing the company standards rules and policies.... Opportunity for advancement was completely based on an almost nepotistic basis. Upper management is focused on the bottom line and the employees and tenants are most affected by their policies

    Show More
    Equity Residential2018-05-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Equity lives up to the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equity Residential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture and atmosphere. Competitive pay. Amazing support and coworkers. It's a big company but you feel in touch with upper management.

    Cons

    Could use a better commission structure.

    Equity Residential2018-04-04
Found 60 reviews