Ercot Reviews | Glassdoor

Ercot Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Ercot President and Chief Executive Officer Bill Magness  (no image)
Bill Magness
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "And location is Taylor TX which sux(in 7 reviews)

  • "Has a number of downsides of being a non-profit(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer 

    I have been working at Ercot full-time

    Pros

    Great culture. Great time off. Great people.

    Cons

    Not the modern type company.

    Ercot2019-11-20
  2. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ercot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Decent pay. Nice people. Some areas are in cutting edge technologies, other are not. Overall had a wonderful experience.

    Cons

    Company is domain specific in electric. So depending upon the work that you do, it may not be transferable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the great work that you are doing.

    Ercot2019-08-31
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ercot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with.

    Cons

    Not everyone should be a manager.

    Advice to Management

    Increase options for technical career path.

    Ercot2019-06-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I worked at Ercot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employee Culture, Great People

    Cons

    Upper Management misses the mark...

    Ercot2019-02-26
  5. "Not so bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in Taylor, TX

    I worked at Ercot for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good life-work balance.

    Cons

    Not much training. Location is far away from city center.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more direction to your team members

    Ercot2019-01-20
  6. "No innovation, no problem!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ercot

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, good mission, smart folks there.

    Cons

    Employees incentivized to not improve or change process, creativity is highly discouraged.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the organization to change to meet modern demands.

    Ercot2018-11-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ercot full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance as well as many healthcare initiatives going on. Relatively stable job.

    Cons

    Too slow. Since it is non-profit , the working environment can be very laid back, depending on where you work.

    Ercot2018-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Taylor, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ercot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The environment at ERCOT is one of the best I've ever worked in. The people are great, always helpful and friendly. ERCOT has a great overall culture and excellent benefits. ERCOT offers a great work/life balance. I would recommend to any of my friends or family. Management is fair and cares about their employees. The pay is good and the stability the job offers is one of a kind.

    Cons

    Honestly, I do not have any negative experiences working at ERCOT. I really only have good things to say.

    Ercot2018-06-25
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ercot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, morale and support from top down. Very talented people who respect your opinions and perspectives. Most everyone is willing to help each other out and succeed at the overall mission of the company.

    Cons

    None to mention at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Ercot2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ercot full-time

    Pros

    Good retirement plan Walking trail and gym Good work-life balance They value growing and developing employees Company events and team building activities

    Cons

    Location - although Taylor is growing Old buildings...mice problem a few years back Upper management is a little...interesting/weird The superstars of the company are all on the operations side (read: foreigners). If you’re just a normal person doing a non-engineering type job it is unlikely you’ll be recognized for your work or viewed as valuable to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more telecommuting. Be nicer to your staff and give more spot bonuses to employees that are not engineers. Drain the swamp - get a new CFO

    Ercot2018-04-27
Found 80 reviews