Erie County Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Erie County Medical Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Erie County Medical Center CEO Thomas Quatroche
Thomas Quatroche
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and rewarding experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Hospital Public Safety Assistant in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Erie County Medical Center for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You work among other professionals who also support the best plan of operations.

    Cons

    Not everyone is cut from the same cloth. Other shifts work more efficiently and better than most.

    Advice to Management

    We use good judgement of character for hiring. Although, we also need to have a physical fitness test. Subordinates in the HPSA have to be goal oriented with a high level of fitness.

    Erie County Medical Center2018-08-11
  2. "Good environment - immature management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, friendly people, easy workload and workday

      Cons

      Management talks behind your back and is petty

      Erie County Medical Center2018-06-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - R N in Buffalo, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Coworkers, pension- truly all I can think of. Twenty word minimum is hard to meet. I’ll say it again , coworkers and pension .

      Cons

      There are more middle managers than nurses to take care of patients. Administration always expects more with less. Patient satisfaction is a priority but how can the nursing staff provide all the needs for the patient when they’re aren’t enough of us to take care of even the minimum let alone go above and beyond. Staff satisfaction is at an all time low throughout the hospital, but no one is irreplaceable and we all can...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      More staff nurses , not more team leaders. Help the people who help he patients. If everyone in management didn’t come to work tomorrow the hospital would still run. If all of the staff nurses didn’t come to work tomorrow the place would have to shut down. Treat nurses like they matter.

      Erie County Medical Center2018-03-28
    • "Terraceview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Buffalo, NY
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      The only pro I have is that there is a pension.

      Cons

      This employer doesn't care about it's patients or employees. I work at Terraceview and can't wait to move to the hospital. Staffing always pressuring you to work extra shifts then they leave you to be responsible for an entire unit alone. It's not safe and employess are constantly worried about something happening and losing license because they don't staff properly.

      Advice to Management

      Take better care of your employees. Stop asking us to stay for overtime and leaving us understaffed then write people up for clerical errors. One hand washes the other. You want us to work and stay extra for you but then are quick to say no if we need a day off. This place is awful!!! Then they block you from moving to the hospital because they know they will have a hard time keeping or finding someone to work there.

      Erie County Medical Center2017-09-17
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center full-time

      Pros

      Offer a good Pension Health plan

      Cons

      Always short staffed. Lopsided patient loads with NO Ancillary staff! Who ever heard of RN's also doing the job of HA all shift, every shift?? Patient care and safety always compromised.

      Advice to Management

      Read your mission statement once in a while. It's not healthcare is true care here it's healthcare is unsafe care.

      Erie County Medical Center2017-09-19
    • "Maintenance Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance Worker in Buffalo, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are not many. It's not much more than a job.

      Cons

      Not at all what you would expect for a County job.

      Advice to Management

      Please stop micro managing and pay a fair salary that reflect the responsibility of the jobs that are held in Plant Operations.

      Erie County Medical Center2017-04-02
    • "lpn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center part-time

      Pros

      I like to work here

      Cons

      there are no cons to working here

      Advice to Management

      continue to to what you are doing

      Erie County Medical Center2017-03-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "Harassing, oppressive work environment."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Erie County Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Patient care and the benefits package are pretty good.

      Cons

      Staff are treated very poorly by mid-upper management. Generally, management tactics that are heavily utilized include thinly veiled threats, intimidation, and bullying. CSEA union does not truly stand with it's members and leaving most of us voiceless and defenseless against unfair practices by "the corporation" as they willfully violate union contracts and then again engages in the above mentioned management tactics....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Cut the fat out of the mid-upper management. Stop descending upon us from your golden towers only when some lodges a complaint and make the time to actually see what it is we do in this hospital and how we are rewarded. You can pat yourselves on your backs right now for the incredible year-end revenue mark the hospital had just achieved, but don't lose yourselves in your grandiose delusions that this is a sign of an...

      Show More
      Erie County Medical Center2017-01-20
    • "None"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY

        I worked at Erie County Medical Center for more than a year

        Pros

        None. Nothing good I can say about this institute.

        Cons

        Don't encourage Employees to grow. Managers do not possess a degree.

        Advice to Management

        Hire new Human Resource and Department Managers (with degrees not hand give a position). Encourage employee growth. Offer pay on par to other hospitals.

        Erie County Medical Center2016-12-08
      • "Outpatient Coder"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Outpatient Coding Specialist II in Coconut Creek, FL
          Recommends

          I worked at Erie County Medical Center part-time (Less than a year)

          Pros

          Easy to use EMR and encoder

          Cons

          Work could be more reliable

          Erie County Medical Center2016-08-29
        Found 38 reviews