Erlanger Health System Employee Reviews about "1 trauma center"

Updated Sep 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 247 reviews

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Erlanger Health System CEO William Jackson
William Jackson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Life at a level 1 trauma center is rough no matter what you do there(in 9 reviews)

  • "Erlanger is the premier level 1 trauma center in downtown Chattanooga(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "HR doesn’t want to help employees, pay isn’t very good for the job you do, not enough quality help and always short staffed(in 12 reviews)

  • "High turnover with patient care techs(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Erlanger Health System and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "1 trauma center"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      High pressure but good people

      Aug 14, 2013 - Resident in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Life at a level 1 trauma center is rough no matter what you do there. However it also attracts some of the best professionals there are.

      Cons

      Stress levels run high and there aren't many outlets to get it out.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good intent, poor execution

      Sep 22, 2020 - Clinical Staff Leader RN in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      level 1 trauma center, keeps you on your toes

      Cons

      No pay raise for non benefited positions even if performance continuesly improves. Not always keep their promises.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Struggling to maintain staff

      Sep 5, 2020 - Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Level 1 trauma center that provides experience deal with a massive variety of patients

      Cons

      Low pay Difficulty keeping staff Unsafe patient ratios

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best hospital in Chattanooga!

      Oct 6, 2014 - Surgery in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We are a level 1 trauma center and a teaching hospital. We have the number one stroke center in the Southeast. I love the fact that we are constantly striving to improve patient care and surgical procedures. Our current CEO has turned this hospital around from serious challenges. Our atmosphere is one of "it is okay to ask questions, we rather you ask than make a mistake". I love that. Great health benefits, some of the most affordable I know of. Employee benefits like insurance, retirement accounts etc are really good.

      Cons

      the culture is still in transformation with our new leadership. There is a lingering mistrust of the upper management but I believe that in time it will lessen. certain departments of hospital seem less organized than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Low salary, few perks

      Jan 7, 2015 - RN in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The coworkers are generally great to work with, as are the doctors. Challenging level 1 trauma. Making a difference to some of the poorest people in the region.

      Cons

      Management, no doubt. Low salaries, despite challenging environment at a level one trauma center. Zero paid holidays, you're forced to use PTO anytime you take off, even during holidays when your department is closed. Management makes ridiculous salaries and bonuses while RNs have lowest salaries in the region. They act like they're doing you a huge favor giving 1-2% raise every few years. The only perks come from other companies in the area which offer discounts to erlanger employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Unfortunate treatment of employees

      Nov 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and wonderful resources. Erlanger is the premier level 1 trauma center in downtown Chattanooga. If you want to learn and see new and exciting things each day, its the place to work.

      Cons

      Erlanger is first to cut benefits, pay, and overtime opportunities. While I was employed there they froze PTO accrual, stopped overtime opportunities and defaulted on raises. Erlanger continues to cut employee benefits on grounds of financial difficulty while launching numerous multimillion dollar expansion and building projects.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not great for nursing

      Feb 14, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Level 1 trauma nursing experience

      Cons

      High Nurse to patient ratio with high acuity patients, Management doesn’t step in to help, Always short staffed, they expect you to come in on the day of a funeral(literally they didn’t understand why I couldnt), parking is awful and unsafe at that ……………… not to mention their security guards are not even armed! So, that doesn’t help with any of the safety issues/concerns. I could go on and on,but you get the point......

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not what I thought it would be

      May 26, 2015 - Patient Care Technician in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ~ Level 1 trauma center. ~ Lots of different areas to work in

      Cons

      ~ Way underpaid. Almost insulting. ~ They are so understaffed that there is no quality patient care. Nurses and tech have to many patients to fulfill each one's needs.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Erlanger Health System Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Erlanger Health System? Share Your Experiences

    or