Erlanger Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

Erlanger Health System Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Spiegel
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are a level 1 trauma center and a teaching hospital(in 7 reviews)

  • "Friendly co-workers, Progressive, positive work environment, accommodating management in terms of scheduling(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Short staffed the majority of the time(in 9 reviews)

  • "Hospital management tends to be disconnected from some aspects of patient care(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "patient care tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Erlanger Health System part-time

    Pros

    It was a good work environment.

    Cons

    It can get quite busy.

    Erlanger Health System2018-08-28
  2. "Steady work with minimal drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Precert Specialist 

      I have been working at Erlanger Health System full-time

      Pros

      Not micromanaged, questions easily answered by coworkers

      Cons

      Management not always available to assist, employees that are habitually late, absent, or not doing their work never properly dealt with. No recognition for going above and beyond.

      Erlanger Health System2019-06-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great teaching hospital"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great learning environment with the latest innovative technology. Great physicians.

      Cons

      Understaffed. It’s hard to provide “excellent” patient care when we are constantly understaffed. Reprimanded when being understaffed causes us to have to stay after our shift to complete our work. Nurses and PCTs are undervalued by upper management.

      Advice to Management

      Give us the tools and staffing ratios we need to provide the excellent care we wish to provide and our patients deserve. Take care of your employees, and they will take care of your business.

      Erlanger Health System2019-05-28
    • "Nurse tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Erlanger Health System full-time

        Pros

        It was a great learning experience

        Cons

        I felt oerworked and under-paid

        Erlanger Health System2019-05-24
      • "Work hard for pennies"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - X-Ray Technologist in Chattanooga, TN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Get to see so many unique cases, as every hospital in our region transfers any harder cases to us.

        Cons

        Work with the hardest cases but with less pay than hospitals around us. Market adjustments haven’t been done in years for full time employees with no opportunity to pick up overtime either. PRN’s recently got approx. $2+/hour more which is unfair to full time employees.

        Advice to Management

        Appreciate the hard work your employees put in, day in and day out. “Lead” techs should not take call pay because they will never actually come in on holidays, etc.

        Erlanger Health System2019-05-04
      • "Dedicated Employees"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          The employees at Erlanger Health System are compassionate and dedicated to providing excellent patient care.

          Cons

          The pay scale at Erlanger Health System is lower than other parts of Tennessee.

          Erlanger Health System2019-04-27
        • "No Advancement opportunities"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Product Manager 

            I worked at Erlanger Health System full-time

            Pros

            flexible work schedule; PTO vacation

            Cons

            no advancement opportunities or access to leadership

            Erlanger Health System2019-04-30
          • "Caring"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            The people are great to work with .

            Cons

            No bonuses . Very short staffed .

            Erlanger Health System2019-04-23
          • "Great place for growth"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Certified Surgical Technologist 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            I love the team I work with. They are very helpful in teaching new scrubs the ropes of the Operating Room.

            Cons

            Communication can be sometimes hazy.

            Erlanger Health System2019-03-30
          • "Positive Experience"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Registered Nurse 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Erlanger Health System full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Busy ICU with multiple learning opportunities

            Cons

            Short staffed. A lot of new nurses.

            Erlanger Health System2019-03-13
          Found 130 reviews